We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready for a total overhaul and restaffing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnson City
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ready for a total overhaul and restaffing.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I overlook lots of stuff, but don't tolerate poor service. This property is worn and ready for a complete overhaul - but still has nice features. If you get a deep discount on the room, it is worth it, but otherwise I'd stay somewhere else.

The reception at the front desk was cool - bordering on rude. I observed the front desk staff on a number of occasions and soon realized I was not the only person greeted that way. Most all of the front desk staff seemed irritated to be there and apathetic to guests needs.

The rooms are small and tired. Decor is bland, my lamp was broken, the drains in the bathroom were slow to empty and the carpet and wall coverings are in need of replacement. The curtains did not close all the way and were off the curtain rod. The air conditioner is antiquated and blew the curtains out into the room despite my attempts to keep them from doing so.

On a positive note, the room was relatively clean and the bedding was nice and comfy. I slept well.

Breakfast was tasty but the service was as rude as I have ever experienced. We obviously inconvenienced them by eating breakfast.

We hosted two days of business meetings and used the meeting & banquet facilities. The banquet staff was receptive to our needs, but the chairs and tables for our guests for dinner were broken and needed to be replaced as originally set up. It was obvious they were broken. Whoever set the room just did not care and put them out anyway.

There is a bar in the lobby that gets some locals in for nightly drinks creating an interesting crowd. I never had any problems, but it is well used and busy if you want to have a drink in the evening.

It is a shame really that the owners have let this property deteriorate as they have. It could be nice again with a total redecoration and refurbishment. They need to restaff too with someone who understands why it is called the 'hospitality industry'.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandidOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
CandidOpinions,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    62
    40
    37
    20
See reviews for
49
41
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I'm surprised this property has held it's rating, it's not much better than 2.5, no way is it 3 or above. The room doors are warped and don't shut properly without either yanking on 'em or slamming them. The front desk staff seems indifferent at best. I've got to give them the beds, they are comfortable. They were supposed to get new tv's by this year, not in this room at least. Drops channels, poor picture tube tv. Room key kept loosing it's code, had to run to front desk every other time we used it for a re-scan. Pain in the behind especially if you need to use the restroom.
One big thing is the heater/ac. It won't stop running so you have to listen to the fan 24/7 which is really annoying especially when trying to sleep or watch the tv.
Time to update this property.

Room Tip: Try to find one where the door closes and the heater fan cycles off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johnson City hotels

Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed one night for a rest during a road trip. The lobby was stunning, and my daughter enjoyed the large space and comfy sofas while we waited for the rest of our party. I was surprised the room was as small as it was. Clean and comfortable. I especially loved the comforter.. Some hotels give such a thin blanket, but this kept me warm all night through my husband's AC! The bathroom was a little small for our taste as well, and my husband complained the TV was outdated. The staff at the front desk was great, and informative. Attentive as well whenever we came down to the lobby.

Room Tip: Go for a suite! It's worth the higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This was our third stay since May, booked by accepting a great rate through Hotwire and this was the hotel offered. I would not want to pay full price. The room was decent, mostly clean, good bed and bedding and although the bathroom appeared surface clean, a closer look showed it needed some detail cleaning. There was a refrigerator in the room which was good. As with other reviews, the TV was inadequate in that it would not go lower then a certain level of volume and many of the channels had terrible reception. It's time for a total upgade of the television system. On this visit the elevators were in working order where previously they were not. The heating/cooling worked fine but was noisy; the ice machine on the 3rd floor did not work; seems like this would be easy--either fix it or get a new one. The room housing the ice machine needed a good cleaning. While the rooms/bathrooms have certainly been upgraded from years past, it will be interesting to see if the Holiday Inn decides to invest the money needed to bring the rooms to the standards of newer properties. Staff at the desk seemed aloof and bored--it would just be so easy to say something pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blewis_11, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Johnson City, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for any issues you experienced while at our facility in Johnson City,Tn. We will have new T.V's in place by the end of the year. As for the other cleaning issues you had I have spoken with the Exceutive Housekeeper, she will make sure any issues that you had will not be repeated. Please call or e-mail me if I can assist you with any future stays

Betty Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was a disappointment. It is an older property that was probably the nicest in the area 20 years ago, but it isn't as nice now. One of the two elevators was out of order and the remaining one was very slow. Our room was musty smelling as though the carpet had been wet or there was mold somewhere, although we didn't see any mold. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The lobby was very pretty and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neckbonepieces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 19 in Johnson City
241 reviews
5.0 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
560 reviews
1.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Johnson City
0.2 km away
Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn Johnson City
Hampton Inn Johnson City
#4 of 19 in Johnson City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnson City

Property: Holiday Inn Johnson City
Address: 101 W Springbrook Dr, Johnson City, TN 37604-1715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,249 - ₹ 9,148
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnson City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Conference Center:·Located just minutes from Science Hill High school, ETSU,and Milligan ·College, Wing Deer Park·Nearby Cinemas, Shopping & Dining·Full Service with Restaurant, Lounge & Room Service·Interior Corridor Rooms with free WiFi·Pet Friendly. Please contact us to see about our special room rates for your group, convention or business. We look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnson City Hotel Johnson City
Johnson City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing