We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty hotel !!!!! :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
“Nasty hotel !!!!! :(”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went here for my brothers college orientation in July 2011 and i will have to say would never recommend . When you walk in it was not very inviting and the front desk person looked like earl from my name is earl !!!!!! The elevators are so scary it makes a squeaking sound and is very uncomfterble to ride . The rooms did not even have a flat screen television and the beds had ants in them i even got one in my hair :( They did not have any bathroom stuff they just had bar of soap about the size of a toy boat And there was barley any water in the shower !!!!!!! And there was no free breakfast we hated driving all the way to mcdonalds :( Oh and one more thing since it was summer i brought my bathing suit the pool was very green and mercury you could not even see the water :( So unless you are very poor and can not afford a hampton inn stay in it anyway NOT HERE !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    13
    14
    24
See reviews for
22
21
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
240 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Outside of the place looks very nice, the inside ... not so much.
- Bathroom is so tiny you can barely shut the door from the inside
- No shampoo in the shower
- Towels that barely qualify as towels (threadcount of ~10)
- Many of the floor tiles are cracked
- The elevator had no working lights
- Rugs were frayed at the seems
- Table in the room had loose legs
- Burn holes in the bedspread
- Stains on the carpet
- Edges of the dresser are scarred

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johnson City hotels

Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My brother and I stayed here as part of a race packageto attend the Bristol Nascar 2011. We booked the accomodation when it was a Quality Inn and we were advised between the time we booked and departed it had changed to a Motel 6. I had reservations about this but thought how bad could it be in the matter of a couple months.

Older building and the exterior is deplorable. I don't think they have heard of a pressure washer and exterior halls were filthy. One of the vents had been vandalised and was bent outwards and remained that way during our stay. Even saw a bit of graffiti. Needs paint very badly and gives you the creeps even walking down the hall at night. Small pool that had cloudy water the whole time we were there and a tipped over hibachi barbeque that was beside the pool deck. I understand that guests can be picked but it stayed there for 3 days.

If it was any consolation the room was pretty clean other than a stray sock in the corner left from previous guest!! When we checked we realized this is definitely now a Mortel 6. They have removed the iron, ironing board and even the tissue box that is built in to the bathroom vanity!!!!! and the standard old school soap left... No mini fridge and old TV. It was pretty clean though.

The first morning we went for the breakfast. Very standard usual free breakfast stuff. Returned to room and room was already cleaned! However looked a bit closer and found the beds had only been made as we had not used any towels as we checked in late the previous day.

Went to the race on Saturday and ;eft hotel at noon. When we returned the room had not been touched. Phoned down to front desk and the clerk replied, "I'll see what I can do about getting you some towels." I asked him if he was going to see about getting us some towels or were we gonig to get some. We received the towels in 10 minutes.

All in all very very basic. No amenities and this stage of my life I like nicer places. This would have been fine when I was in my early 20's gonig on guys trips but not in my 50's celebrating retirement. but there was no excuse for the exterior....was gross

After the first night

Room Tip: Bring iron if needed and tissues because there are none here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosto0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Even the operator from Dallas told me over the phone that this hotel was a Quality Inn, but it is NOT A QUALITY INN ANYMORE and hasn't been for a long time now. It is a Motel 6, but very nice - my room was on the third floor and safe, clean, and comfortable. I was super surprised. I was deceived in the end, because I would NEVER rent a room at a Motel 6 (sorry Motel 6-ers) but it ended up being a pleasant stay. I recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
256 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I normally stay in slightly hire "class" hotels. But, to save money, while traveling, we gave this a try. We used a coupon from a Rest Stop guide. Most other hotel coupons were not valid on Saturday nights, but this one did not say it wasn't. Sure enough, they accepted it with no problems.

The room is small, but did include a refrigerator and microwave. It was nice to empty the cooler and refreeze the ice block overnight.

Bed was comfortable, A/C worked well -- in fact we had to adjust it because the room was too cold initially.

Breakfast was adequate.

I probably wouldn't want an extended stay, but for a place to sleep it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModerationForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johnson City hotels
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
Red Roof Inn Johnson City
#8 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
5.9 km away
Value Place Johnson City
Value Place Johnson City
#10 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 19 in Johnson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Johnson City
4.2 km away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 19 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Johnson City Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 207 E Mountcastle Dr, Johnson City, TN 37601-2525 (Formerly Motel 6 Johnson City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Johnson City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,685 - ₹ 6,852
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Johnson City, Tennessee operating as Econolodge Inn & Suites. Our hotel recently changed brands under new ownership and have partnered with Choice Hotels. Here at Econolodge Inn & Suites we strive to meet guest expectations by providing a clean, quality stay to every guest. With our newly renovated rooms, we hope to continue building a positive reputation based on guest satisfacion. Although we cannot control the unexpected, our entire staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guests are satisfied with thier stay. We offer a full breakfast daily from 6:00 a.m. until 9:00 a.m. Additionally we offer free wifi and HBO channels for all of our guest. Other amentities include an outdoor seasonal swimming pool, fitness center, and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Johnson City
Johnson City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing