We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$ 150
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/04/21
Booking.com
US$ 273
US$ 141
View deal
SAVE US$ 132
Free cancellation until 17/04/21
Priceline
US$ 150
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/04/21
Hotels.comUS$ 150
Official WebsiteUS$ 141
Prestigia.comUS$ 273
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
522
145
37
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
522
145
37
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel sleigh bed double sinks separate tub the lower level old world room service rooms are large love this hotel in town staff was friendly spa etsu bathroom lobby furniture reminiscent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here a couple of times before, and it is always a clean, quiet experience. The rooms are quite large with a big bathroom. You really cant go wrong here.

The restaurant and bar are pretty good. The food is a bit old fashioned for our taste, but they make a great Long Island IceTea.

Room tip: Top floor is floor 6 and is the most quiet.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlexAndNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felisha Bryant, Guest Services / Front Office at Carnegie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

AlexAndNell, We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share some thoughts regarding your recent stay at Carnegie Hotel! It was a pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020 via mobile

We have wanted to stay in Johnson City every time we stop ( which today is the 3rd time ) we LoVe the hee haw brewing company. The downtown area seems so inviting!
Yes it’s Evil virus time so things are not as inviting and fun but we decided to go with the number one rated hotel.
Don’t get me wrong it is A very clean nice place... but........ just for my own notes I would not pay extra for the view ( there isn’t one ) you are on a bizzzzy street with traffic noises and ummmmm no view. Really..... it’s a building across the way and traffic below.
I would rather be on the other side with no view and the second bed for less money ( and save my pennies.... )
not to be mean~
The rooms are nice and clean - roomy - bathroom is big with a shower separate from the tub which is great Cuz I LoVe a bath ~ don’t expect the claw tub that is seen somewhere ~ we did not go to restaurant or bar~ it’s a quality nice place for sure but.....

Date of stay: December 2020
Thank kathhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020

Fifth floor overlooking back of hotel because it was more quiet. Spacious room with two queen beds. We chose this hotel because of the opportunity to order food from room service during the pandemic. Overall we had a very good time and the infrastructure of the hotel helped us to have a stable home base for our 7 night stay. There were a few minor glitches but the staff and manager were helpful. Food delivered was tasty. If you like a hotel with a restaurant and room service then this hotel would be a good choice. Their rates are competitive for what they have to offer.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking back or quieter. Front overlooks a busy road.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2020

Check in was easy, got a little lost trying to find our room but that’s it. Great staff and quiet room. Loved the late checkout they gave us, and directions on how to get to Asheville was super handy. God bless.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KandC1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2020

First, the name is misleading. Not actually the original historic Carnegie Hotel. It burned in a fire.
Second, while a very nicely decorated and comfortable lobby, there is nothing special about the rooms. All rooms on front of building have a view of ETSU and a peekaboo view of Buffalo Mountain, but there is a lot of road noise so bring a noise machine. The rooms are large and comfortable at 400sqft, but the furniture is quite beaten up. Rooms on the top floor on the front have larger windows which are really nice. There is a mini refrigerator, but no microwave which was unfortunate because we did not want to use the in-room coffee maker because one can never tell if it is cleaned between guests (who could use their used cup to refill with water). Very convenient to everything in and around Johnson City. Free parking. Free local daily newspaper at the front desk. Restaurants within walking distance. We can not see what justifies the higher price versus other hotels in the area.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews