We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the drive from I-40 exit”

Lisa's Country Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive from I-40 exit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Went for breakfast on advice from hotel desk staff. Seated for over 5 minutes before anyone came to greet us. Food came very quickly after ordering. My wife said french toast was good with a nice cinnamon taste. I had eggs, bacon, and pancakes. The pancakes were tasteless and gritty. The eggs were fine even though they were chopped to pieces and not just scrambled. The bacon was possibly the best I have had. Price came to just over $10 which was a good value for the amount of food we had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank volsandshoesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    32
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good home cooking at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Frankly, there aren't many very good restaurants in Jefferson City, TN. Of course, my wife and I are a bit spoiled, as we are natives of New Orleans and lived most of our life in the Big Easy. The food there is simply the best in the world. Also, we enjoy eating a wide variety of foods from around the world. In Jefferson City, your choices are home cooking, Mexican and Italian.

For home cooking (or "comfort food", as my wife calls it!), Lisa's Country Kitchen is quite good. While not quite on par with Cracker Barrell, it is still tasty, with abundant servings and extremely reasonable prices. The atmosphere is also much like Cracker Barrell, with old farm and home implements adorning the walls. The service has always been timely and friendly, with the owner frequently visiting the tables to check on her guests.

I have never experienced the price discrepencies or poor service mentioned by two other reviewers.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gschloesser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Price Jabbing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Lisa's Country Kitchen used to be the place to go to eat breakfest, lunch and dinner. A nice family place. It has went to the dogs. You can eat the same food every morning and it will be a different price everytime. Who wants to eat at a place that argues with the customers everytime. The price is always a bit higher for example. Scramble eggs, toast, diet drink and another order is gravy & biscut, scrambled eggs and coffee and hash browns. This order on 12/28/2010 total price was $8.74. Went back on 12/29/2010, same order different person ringing up, $11.56. When asking them about the price jump, they argue and make a scene. I had both receipts in my hand and they still argued. They must not need customers. Because this one is not going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Unhappyinjefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“got to be kidding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

been there many times...and every time i got sick from the food....bad servicewith an attitude an bad food does not egual a 4 star rating been there a least 20 times or should i say draged there by my father...he no longer eats there..try fat daddays you wont be disapointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank scubadave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jefferson city Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“there is only one place to eat in Jeff City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

the only place to always leave satisfied and content especially on fish night friday! It never matters what you order you can be assured it will be excellent! From breakfast that grandma used to make to the best salad for lunch and don't make me start about dinner! The sauces are homemade the service is down home and the atmosphere is priceless!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trishgoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lisa's Country Kitchen also viewed

Jefferson City, TN
Jefferson City, TN
 

Been to Lisa's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing