We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific Family Villa with a Wonderful Host!”

Review of Verekinthos-villas

Verekinthos Villas
 Master bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Verekinthos Villas
 Master bedroom.
Verekinthos villas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Verekinthos Villas
 Master bedroom.
Verekinthos villas
White mountains view.
Verekinthos Villas
verekinthos Villas
Verekinthos Villas  Night lights.
Verekinthos Villas  Pool.
Verekinthos Villas
 Master bedroom.
Verekinthos Villas
 Master bedroom.
Verekinthos Villas
 Master bedroom.
Verekinthos Villas  Pool.
Verekinthos Villas
 bedroom.
Verekinthos Villas 
Outdoor dining.
Verekinthos Villas 
Outdoor dining.
Verekinthos Villas.
LivingRoom
Verekinthos Villas.
LivingRoom
Verekinthos Villas .
Outdoor living room.
Verekinthos Villas
White mountains view.
Verekinthos Villas.
Outdoor living room.
White mountains view.
Verekinthos Villas.
White mountains view.
Verekinthos Villas.
Verekinthos Villas  Pool
View on the way to Verekinthos Villas
Playground Area.
Verekinthos Villas 
Dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chania, Magnesia Region, Thessaly

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Smeadie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Family Villa with a Wonderful Host!”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Nikos was a wonderful host and made my family feel most welcome in his lovely villa. Nikos’ attentive hospitality extended over and beyond by helping with suggestions for day trips, restaurants recommendations, meeting us from the airport and escorting us to the villa. He treated us with delicious samples of local food prepared for our dinner lovingly by his mum. Yummy! Thank you Niko’s mum!

Villa Verekinthos was tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean, comfortable and in a very peaceful part of the countryside. Located 15/20mins away from the hustle and bustle of Chania. The outside space was perfect to chill out day or night with my family.

Western Crete is a good location to explore some of the fabulous beaches including the unmissable Elafonisi, Balos and Falassarna. The location is well located giving opportunities for stunning gorge walking.

Thank you for your generosity my friend and we wish you well with everything you do in the future. Hope to revisit and stay again sometime soon.

All the family send kind wishes to you and your family.

The Meade Family from Essex UK
Stayed ten days in June 2018

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2018
What more could someone ask than meeting people and families like yours.
Thank you very much for your kind and beautiful thoughts for me my family and my property ..
Wish to see you all again soon
All my best
Nikos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris F
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Real Cretan hospitality and a fabulous private villa.”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just enjoyed a fabulous 2 week family holiday staying at Verekinthos Villas, we hired the whole place for ourselves (myself, my wife, a 4 yr old and a 3 month old) and we had a very memorable stay and would definitely return. I should start by saying that we booked because of the excellent trip advisor reviews and I can definitely say that the Villa does not disappoint at all. The positive reviews and the photos shown here mirror our own experiences completely.

This place has bags of authenticity and character and you will never get tired of what you see around you, whether it is the mountain views, the beautiful stone house lit up of an evening or the stars and moon rising over the clear sky at night. The pool was incredibly inviting and we spent many blissful hours there relaxing and playing with the kids.

We really wanted some quiet, quality family time, unwinding by the pool and firing up the BBQ in the evening. For this type of holiday Verekinthos was a perfect choice. The way the villa is split into two separate apartments and the size of it, actually makes it an ideal place for two small families holidaying together, or perhaps a bigger family with teenagers staying in the other apartment.

Nikos is a very warm, friendly and helpful host who knows how to deliver the perfect blend of generous hospitality and good advice, whilst also ensuring that we had all the privacy and space that we were hoping for. We couldn’t have asked for a better host, including his lovely wife and kids, whom we were delighted to spend an occasional fun evening with. I must also thank Nikos’ mother who prepared some delightful home cooked meals including traditional gemista and dolmades, an organic rooster casserole pot fresh from the farm, beautiful moist orange cake, sweet wine and more, just waiting for us in the kitchen when we came home from a day out. Nikos’ passion for the land, his produce, the local family history and the care he has put into restoring the house make you feel really special to be a guest and the experience was incredibly real and inclusive.

What makes this place special is the feeling of experiencing Crete and the people of Crete in an authentic way, away from all the hustle and bustle of the big tourist resorts. Not only do you get the tranquility of the mountain region but we also started to appreciate the smells and tastes through simple pleasures like mealtimes made up of basic, yet delicious local ingredients. We regularly made salads using just one or two of the the fruits and vegetables from Nikos’ garden perhaps with a little feta cheese, his self produced olive oil or basil from the garden. The climate seems to deliver fruit with flavour that puts the supermarkets back home to shame! In fact, fruit such as figs, which are largely ignored back home, had a rich caramel sweetness and were becoming a fine daily staple treat for us during our stay. We also enjoyed sweet organic tomatoes, peppers and chilli’s, naturally green lemons, olive oil and more, which were discreetly left at the front door as a pleasant surprise.

The location does require a car and a journey into the town involves a 15-20 min slow and careful drive to two supermarket options (one well stocked Lidl with plenty of fresh meat veg and dairy, which all the locals seemed to love and a more upmarket supermarket with familiar brands and a decent butchers counter opposite, which was a little more pricey but very good products and usually empty). A journey into the old town and the ‘city’ beaches will take half an hour but once there, there are no issues with parking and there is lots to see and do. We had a nice day combining lunch in the old town harbour and a short hop to Chrissi Akti public beach, which has good facilities (showers, a small bar/restaurant, beach shop etc), perfect golden sand and warm clear shallow sea and we were able to park the car for free, a few yards from our loungers.

We also liked the villa for its proximity to Crete’s most famous beaches and we managed various day trips by car including Falassarna and Elafonissi beaches, which were both well worth the effort of the 45 min and 1.5 hour drive respectively. We could have gone to Balos beach in 50 mins but it wasn’t right for us with a newborn baby, as it is only accessible by boat. There are countless other beaches you could access from the Villa within a much shorter drive.

Being in the mountain area does mean a bit of forward planning regarding food and drink but the villa has a fridge freezer in each apartment so you can stock up for a few days at a time. What you get in return for that effort is a truly private and peaceful location with stunning views. After one or two attempts, I actually really enjoyed the drive along the winding roads, which included spectacular mountain views over the whole of Chania, picturesque olive groves, deep valleys and plenty of goats! There are also a couple of basic convenience store options within a km or two of the Villa, where you can grab basic fruit and vegetables, beer, wine, coffee, ice creams etc. Once there, you may get kidnapped into a Raki session with the locals but that’s all part of the fun! There is also a little cafe within 5 mins walking distance of the villa run by the girls who clean the villa, They are ever so sweet and can knock up a simple coffee, eggs, cereal or toast at their coffee shop/convenience store for next to nothing. If you want to eat out at a proper restaurant, this would also require a drive into town but Nikos recommended a great taverna higher in the mountains in the next village which offered authentic locally sourced Cretan home cooked food and an incredible mountain view, this was only 5-10 mins drive away. We had a meal with a good selection of appetisers, lamb, chicken and pasta main courses, some beers, complimentary deserts and a little bottle of Raki and it came in under 40 Euros! Note: this is home style cooking without frills, extremely generous portions, locally sourced ingredients and dishes with real flavour. The wonderful lady owner even insisted on pushing our crying son around in the pram so that we could relax and enjoy our food! Needless to say we tipped well!

Nikos and his team do a great job of maintaining the property during our stay with regular and well executed cleaning inside and outside, fresh sheets and towels, pool cleaning and more being carried out at convenient times. The fridge was even stocked with breakfast essentials etc on arrival. The Wifi quality was extremely important to us for business reasons and, lets face it, we were in the mountains of Crete, but it was good enough for us to stay connected with our business, surf and make calls etc. We had wifi signal poolside, which allowed us to stream music and You Tube most of the time. There was also 4G in most areas of the villa.

We stayed for two weeks in the first half of September 17 and the weather was a cloudless 30+ degrees every day bar one. You can’t argue with that!

Thanks for a great stay Nikos and we wish you all the success that you deserve in the future and we hope to return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful Villa - Amazing Hospitality”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family (husband and 2 teenage kids) and I stayed in this beautiful villa in late June/early July 2017. We fell in love with the beautiful photos we saw online. Honestly, the place was 10x more lovely than what you see in the photos. The beauty of the home and the gorgeous views of surrounding mountains, combined with the owner "Nikos" hospitality, really created one of the best vacations my family has ever had. Nikos brought us home cooked meals, made by his mother, several times during our 2 week stay and he advised us on places to visit and even gave us personal contact numbers of people to call when making reservations like jet skiing. The villa is located on a hill so you should be ready to drive some winding roads up and down when going back-and-forth to the beaches and old town Chania. But the 15 minute drive up and down is worth it and the views are absolutely stunning. I highly recommend this villa. My family and I will certainly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertcan...
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday gorgeous views, beautiful villa and true hospitality”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Verekinthos villa is a great holiday base, whether you want a truly relaxing, peaceful escape or some where to explore Crete from. The villa is a great size we were 3 couples one with 2 young children and we had plenty of space. The pool is not huge, but it is a great size for dips as you laze by the pool. Nikos the owner is great he'll leave you to it, but if you need help with anything he is just a phonecall away. He gave us great recommendations of beaches to visit, boat trips and cretan restaurants. We would definitely recommend friends and family. We would really recommend the restaurants in the villages close by really authentic and extremely well priced. Overall a fantastic holiday made all the better by staying at Verekinthos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall layout of the villa, views and pool.
Liked least: wifi was a bit intermittent but not a deal breaker
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VFM2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting, lovely people, very good value”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This villa has been beautifully restored and is a perfect distance from Chania so that it is accessible but also far enough from the crowds. Drive up the winding Oleander lined road from Chania, through a cut in the mountaintop and there is a hidden valley brimming with vines, olive groves, and vegetables surrounding the small villages. Beyond are the dramatic White Mountains. From the villa you can do so many things, but above all it is a peaceful place to live life at a slow pace and sample the delights of the local produce in mountain village tavernas. The owner, Nikos, is knowledgeable, passionate about the country and hospitality, and very helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing