We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, getaway location”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Nathan's Place

Nathan's Place: Spacious and beautifully presented, self-contained guesthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nathan's Place: Spacious and beautifully presented, self-contained guesthouse
Nathan's Place: Dining area Nathan's Place: Comfortable, spacious lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Nathan's Place: Spacious and beautifully presented, self-contained guesthouse
Nathan's Place: Dining area
Nathan's Place: Comfortable, spacious lounge room
Nathan's Place: Main bedroom
Nathan's Place: Front verandah
Nathan's Place: Beautiful, tranquil backyard
Nathan's Place: Beautiful front yard
Close by to Nathan's Place: The view from Power's Lookout
Close by to Nathan's Place: Paradise Falls
Close by to Nathan's Place: William Hovell Dam
Close by to Nathans Place: Food platters available from local cellar doors
Close by to Nathan's Place: Relaxing views from local cellar doors
Nathan's Place: Winter sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
King Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
946suzep
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, getaway location”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Nathan's Place has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The location of Nathan's Place is in close walking distance to the Mountain View Hotel, which I highly recommend for a meal. The local Cafe has any last minute essentials you need and sells coffee/snacks. There are many wineries in the area worth exploring. The Gracebrook Winery has animals roaming around, which the kids enjoyed. We took our bikes and enjoyed riding around the surrounds. An oval to one side of the property with a playground was a good space for the kids. The nearby Primary School (closed at the time due to holidays) has cows over the back fence which were also a hit with the kids. 
The property itself has everything you need, with comfortable beds, good water pressure in the shower, a decent sized bath and a well stocked kitchen area. It was relaxing sitting out on the balcony, taking in the scenery and stillness of the area. The rear yard is not fenced off but has room to move, have a picnic in or store your bikes (1 or 2 bikes could also go in the shed located at the rear of the property). The laundry had an effective washing machine and dryer. There were spare towels in the linen cupboard and extra blankets for the cool nights. There is a selection of portable heaters to use where you need them. The heater in the living room was put to use in the mornings to warm up the main living area. Nathan was prompt and courteous to deal with in relation to answering our queries and recommending local attractions in the area.

Nathan's Place is a great little retreat to go to, to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and recharge your batteries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alesbrex
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Highway robbery”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This property is in need of better cleaning and care. The photos are misleading and the price is far too expensive given the quality of the accommodation. When we entered, the whole house was musky and generally smelled unclean. The kitchen was not well equipped and the bathroom made us both cringe. There was a used towel hanging behind the door and multiple used mini soaps on top of the shower. The final cherry on the cake was the architrave of the main room surrounded by a trail of ants. The top sheet had pilling on it. the second double room was not a better option as the fitted sheet had a large stain on it.
Definitely a very disappointing choice of accommodation worth half of the price of what we had paid.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: The whole experience was terrible
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Hi Alesbrex,

Thank you for your feedback.

We genuinely take great pride in presenting a clean and comfortable home away from home for every guest that stays. Clearly we’ve let you, and ourselves, down on this occasion so my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that may have caused. We have reviewed our cleaning process to ensure this regretful situation does not occur again.

I’m hopeful you were still able to enjoy your time in the King Valley despite these issues.

Best wishes,

Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane V
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“This is a clean, warm, welcoming cottage to spend a glorious Spring weekend.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My daughter & I found Nathan's Place an ideal cottage to stay whilst we explored the gourmet delights & wine of this beautiful region. It's very well equipped, comfortable and warm.
As I've recently had foot surgery - I found it very easy to get around on crutches - all one level, with a ramp to the front door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Hi Jane and thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the King Valley (without the crutches) again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchcook...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Quiet. peaceful, in underrated part of Victoria”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The house is in the sleepy little town of Whitfield. Next door to the local football ground and opposite a paddock.

Imaaculately clean. Well stocked and plenty of heaters for those freezing nights in the valley.

Was a great away for us. And I think king valley would be a great weekend any time of year (1.5 hours to my buffalo) close to beech hundreds of great wineries, etc

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izabela K
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Clean and comfortable...”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

I stayed at Nathan's Place with my partner and some friends (another couple and a single). The house accommodated us all with ease.

The house was clean and comfortable and importantly for that time of the year was warm with bedding of the highest quality and excellent hot water. The house was well equipped and the porch was great for enjoying the morning sun and mountain views.

A clean and comfortable place to stay while visiting the king valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing