We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Cookeville
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Cookeville
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RUN!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I am a regular traveler and have NEVER before left a hotel after checking in, but after a couple hours at the Alpine Lodge, I ran--and ate the $$. Holy Cow. This place is FILTHY. The sheets were clean and the bathroom was relatively clean, but everything else was absolutely untouchable. I mean, the TV remote control was even disgusting. Everything--the floor, walls, furniture (including the chair) was visibly filthy, filthy, filthy. I have never, ever seen anything like it at a hotel. The worst thing, though, was that I felt very unsafe--the door didn't lock properly, and the other guests in the hotel were...well, frankly, I was actually scared for my safety. The woman working the desk was nice enough, but honestly, if I could give this hotel zero stars I would. I absolutely cannot believe ANY of the positive reviews this hotel has gotten--makes me wonder who on earth wrote them. I do not know where on earth the pictures on the site come from--they do not at all look like the room I got (maybe they are from the "suite" side??). I am not picky about hotels and I have never have been compelled to write a review. Some places are better than others, and I roll with the punches. But this place????? NO WAY. RUN RUN RUN RUN.
If you're heading west, drive the extra 30 minutes and stay at the Quality Inn in Lebanon, TN, where the service is great, the rooms are spotless, and the fee is only $10 more.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Get a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcp274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpine21, Owner at Travelodge Cookeville, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write a review. We are an independent, family-owned hotel and spend very little on advertising. We rely heavily on word of mouth and reviews from sites such as this one. As long-time business owners, we know it is impossible to satisfy everyone. However, WE ARE HONEST. If a guest is unsatisfied with their room, we would refund their money. I think that is the most important point I should stress concerning this guest’s review. Besides the facts that the guest’s room was clean and the door did lock properly, WE REFUNDED THE GUEST ALL OF HER MONEY. Concerning the guest’s statement about the pictures of our rooms not being legitimate, the pictures on our website are pictures of our hotel taken at our hotel. They were not modified in any way. Lastly, when the guest checked out, she told us she had a family emergency, and that was the reason she needed to leave. If she would have said she didn’t know how to lock her door, we would have told her the door locks automatically when closed, and she has a deadbolt and latch lock for added security.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    60
    32
    12
    13
See reviews for
58
64
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was looking for a place to stay for 3 nights during the Christmas holiday weekend. All of the hotels around all of the restaurants were at least $80 a night. My mother told me about this place because it is only a mile from where she lives. When I called to check prices, I was told that a regular room with two queen beds is $48 a night, but that I could upgrade to a suite with a king bed for just $54 a night. I went for the suite, but was weary about the low cost. The room has cable, wifi, a little fridge, a microwave, a breakfast table/chairs, a jaccuzzi tub, a sleeper sofa, and a recliner. I have to say that I am very satisfied with, not only the huge, clean room, but the staff's hospitality. Everyone was extremely nice. I will definitely stay here again. All of the restaurants and shops are only 2 exits away...which is only a 5 minute drive. It's definitely worth the cost!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We came in late after a long day of travel. They were courteous & quickly helped us settle in for the night. The next morning, the view on our balcony was spectacular & started our day off well. The waffles are always a pleasant breakfast & we were glad to see they were serving them. The staff spoke with us & made us feel right at home, trying to answer all our questions. Last but not least, the value was great! Next time we are through there, we'll have to plan to stay there, where we know we will be taken good care of!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison WI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I have family in the area but choose to stay here because of the extreme care and attention to detail the owners give to this place and they always welcome our small dog 'Harley". Don't get up-tight about pets because they're cleaner and more respectful than most adults and their kids! The location is perfect for us and it's usually quiet. Also, the updates to the doors and windows is outstanding. Hats off to great owners and their caring attitudes. We'll see you again so "leave the lights on" ...!

Room Tip: I personally like the mountain view ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We saw the sign off the interstate and came upon this clean, pleasant property. Yes, some of the furnishings are a little dated but the facility was clean. The desk clerk was very cordial and friendly. We ate a light supper at the little bar/grille next door and was able to walk back to our room after supper. I also want to add that many other facilities in the area received nasty reviews and we came upon this without looking at trip advisor first.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysgone_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
4.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
4.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cookeville
4.8 km away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Best Western Thunderbird Motel
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
4.5 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#14 of 18 in Cookeville
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cookeville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cookeville

Property: Travelodge Cookeville
Address: 2021 E Spring St, Cookeville, TN 38506-4326 (Formerly Alpine Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cookeville
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,274 - ₹ 4,622
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cookeville 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Cumberland Mountains in Cookeville, Tennessee, we offer a quiet, scenic retreat for all our guests. At Alpine Lodge & Suites, we believe that we are able to offer our business travelers a "home away from home." Situated halfway between Nashville and Knoxville, and with easy access from Interstate 40 (exit 290), it's the perfect place to stop on those long business trips. Alpine Lodge is a quiet, peaceful, motel with easy access to I-40 and the Cookeville region, including Tennessee Tech University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Cookeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Cookeville
Alpine Lodge Suites Cookeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing