We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
145
54
16
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
54
16
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking brazilian steakhouse within walking distance great location rooftop deck ihg member front desk valet guys moon pie valet area few minutes walk valet service room service was great fourth floor great hotel and staff pool and gym the living room area
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Well-located; easy to find. Parking easy to access (valet) and quick to retrieve. Room was in great shape: very clean and up-to-date. Lobby was pretty hip. Did not eat at the on-site Brazilian steakhouse restaurant, but did sit at the bar both nights - bartenders were top-notch and responsive (can any place turn the sports screens off anymore?). A very good experience all around. Criticism: this location has a huge problem - why is the staffed check-in desk acting as the hotel switchboard practically? It doesn't make sense at all and results in even the most dexterous and attentive staff (Matthew is a star) having things fall through the cracks while they try to check you in or address a concern and the phone is going off the hook. He was doing an unbelievable job of juggling two phones and trying to be as connected to guests right there at the front desk checking in. It was to his credit that he was sort of pulling it off - but this is ridiculous. This shows especially when the mindless young woman with dark hair was on in the day - in the middle of a question, without any sign, she'd turn from the guest at the counter and start the phone juggling. She couldn't multi-task and just dealt with the phone while leaving the guest at the desk standing there waiting for the momentary gap between phone calls when she would hang up, look back up from the desk and start the conversation over - stopping again immediately at the first ring of the phone. Three guests deep were stacked up behind me waiting their turn at this brainless and unnecessary process. If there's only ONE PERSON at the check-in desk, priority 1 should be the guest physically in front of the desk.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank extrapulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie D, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Good Morning extrapulp,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback about your most recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location as well as the clean rooms and the hip lobby. We would like to sincerely apologize that the phones kept ringing off the hook while guest were at the front desk. We have addressed this issue and we now have an automated system so that our guest service agents can focus more on the guest that are at the desk. We completely agree with you, that the guest at the desk are the most important and they should become first priority. Thank you for your patience and we hope that we can welcome you back to see us soon as we have resolved these issues.

Thank you,
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

ROCK STARS absolutely sums up the experience we had with the staff at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites on Chestnut Street downtown Chattanooga. Every single staff member from the front desk, to the house cleaning and facility services support absolutely went over and beyond to be helpful, friendly and professional. Extra KUDOS to BRYAN!!!! His genuine attitude and knowledge level was impeccable. We will return and bring friends and family back to this stage of ROCK STARS!!!

Room Tip: The primary amenities including the pool, fitness center and roof top lounge area are located on the 4th floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fpillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie D, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Good Morning Fpillow,
We would like to thank you for leaving us feedback about your most recent stay with us here at the Holiday inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our team of ROCK STARS and that every staff member form the front desk to housekeeping was friendly and professional. We hope that we get to welcome you and your friends back soon.

Thank you,
Cassie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Made a reservation over a month ago with Matthew over the phone. We came to check in today and oops, he put it in for last night instead of tonight. So now we don't have a room for tonight. They didn't offer to make amends in any way.

While we were there attempting to check in as luck would have it Matthew was the clerk at the desk and he also insisted he and Tyler called every guest who had not yet checked in last night. He seemed puzzled when I presented my cell phone history and showed no such call.

He also apparently keyed my email address in wrong when I made the reservation, but we verified my phone number was correct. So I should have gotten that theoretical phone call.

End result is crap service. Do not trust these bozos to take your reservation over the phone if it is at all important that you have a place to sleep. Do it online where you can make sure the date is right, or just stay elsewhere. Yes, best to just stay elsewhere.

If you have made a reservation at this place, best call to confirm repeatedly to make sure they don't lose your room.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aspen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi aspen0,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our hotel. It is disheartening to learn about the reservation issue you had to endure including the level of service you have experienced during your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in detail so we have sent you a private message in order to obtain additional information regarding your concerns.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to hear back from you soon and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Alvin M.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Very clean! Bed was very comfortable which is a big deal for me!! Very convenient to downtown! Walking distance to most or short Uber ride if necessary. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Chattanooga!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerBilyeu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for staying with at the Holiday Inn - Chattanooga Downtown! We're glad you enjoyed the location of our property and that you were able to sleep well in our beds! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and really liked this hotel. It is in a great location. Within walking distance to the aquarium and lots of restaurants. The rooms were very nice and spacious. Breakfast is not included, but that's typical for a Holiday Inn. The rooftop deck is really nice with seating and fire pits.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank CLW1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerBilyeu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for staying with at the Holiday Inn - Chattanooga Downtown! We also want to thank you for your excellent review! Our sundeck is one of our personal favorite things here! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews