We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The world's best hamburger ever.”
Review of Main Street Meats

Main Street Meats
Ranked #10 of 922 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Main Street Meats is Chattanooga's neighborhood butcher. Working with local farms that are deeply committed to animal quality and care, we are changing the way that Chattanoogans know, experience, and enjoy meat. We also serve lunch that features selections from our butcher case. Selections range from our delicious, cast-iron-skillet-fried House Burger to pork shoulder sandwiches served every Friday.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Folks are nice, there's a selection of very high quality meats, a full cocktail bar with daily specials, a fair craft beer selection, very limited wine list...and the absolute best hamburger on the planet. Other meats are more costly, but the hamburger was affordable and absolutely fantastic. There's only one: the Local Beef Burger. It's simple, too, focusing on the meat, with carmelized onions, pickles, gruyere, mustard, and bacon. It is tasty, tender, juicy, and cooked to perfection. The sides were excellent, also. I had the Fried French Beans, which were good. My vegetarian companion enjoyed a couple of vegetables.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Visited here with a couple friends for a girls trip. We ordered the charcuterie (excellent), burgers (SO good) and my friend had the trout which she really liked. FYI— the sides are large enough to share... plenty for two people! Wish we had known that. Overall, 5star experience! The waitress was very friendly and location was neat!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Aliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Oddly enough when in my own city I avoid hip, chic, foodie places, but seek them out on trips. Maybe because they have to try a little harder than they do in my boomtown. We had the strawberry-frisee-"brebis"-fresh pea salad - it was wonderful! And even though we were just planning to share it, they kindly brought us each a full serving. The burger was maybe the best I've ever had. But I must mention the Brussels sprouts, which were coming to their seasonal end. A lot of times I've noticed roasted Brussels sprouts don't get tender all the way through, but theirs were both crispy and tender - like candy - which the waiter said was because they finish them by frying in tallow. Be sure to order them when they come around again. I loved everything about this place. And there was no implied sniffiness that we didn't order drinks. The servers were so friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arborescentyucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We walked along Main Street looking at all the new and interesting dining options and decided to try this one on the recommendation of a friend. The decor is neo-forties office and industrial, and the menu has the offerings required of a current hit in the south side dining world. The drinks can be a bit pretentious, but we enjoyed the peanuts and local whiskey in a Mexican Coke and the Manhattan. Fried Brussels sprouts with mustard were a pleasant surprise, and the burger was perfect.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daleccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Had several people mention that this was the place to go. And it was great. Good wines, Good drinks. Bacon chocolate chip cookies! A bit noisy with nothing to reduce the volume. But great sense of intimate and fun. We both had steaks based on recommendation of server. Yum. REALLY good. Just a delightful evening.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Meats also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Meats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing