We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Typical non-chain Mexican resturant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Altena

La Altena
Ranked #184 of 817 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical non-chain Mexican resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stoped by tonight while staying in town. The food was typical Mecican fare with no lasting memories either good or bad. Service was below average.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tnvolfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    42
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LaFayette
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We are NEVER let down by La altena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I have ate at this restuarant for many years. Yes, it is a hole in the wall, and aren't they always the best eateries. I always get the Mexican city tacos (steak with cilantro and lime) oh my gosh they are the best, and my husband always get the Mojo Burrito. We never leave dis-satisfied. Always pleased and always ready for the next trip there. Other than they need to expand, I never have any complaints about this place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kimcwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“GREAT MEXICAN FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I had lunch at La Altena and it was great. I had a chili relleno, taco, and beans. THe chili relleno was prepared quite differently to those I am accustomed. Rather than a stuffed chili pepper it came in a bowl. The chili was chopped up with the cheese and meat. Different but very good. Prices for lunch items is reasonable.
THis restaurant may be little hard to find. It is in the Publix Super Market mall.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I love La Altena! I eat here often, and I have a great meal everytime. They have a rice milk drink called Horchata, and it's the best I've had outside of Mexico. The food is delicious too! The place is not the most eye-pleasing, but the food makes up for it many times over. Everything on the menu is a great value as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poet417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great mexican food, great service too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We all enjoyed the food, although portions were too huge for us! Enchilladas a little less spicy than what we are used to, but loved them anyway. Chille Relenos were excellent as were the margaritas. The waiter was singing in spanish, so adorable!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowfall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Altena also viewed

 

Been to La Altena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing