We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Georgia”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I sincerely don't want to write about this property because I'd love to keep it to myself! The secret is already out so here goes. Firstly, go to Chattanooga. It's quaint, affordable and full of surprises. When you do, stay here. The staff is over the moon friendly and very informative. Your comfort is their only concern. The decor is edgy and fun, and the architectural details of the 100+ year old building have been preserved with function. Each room has a different them and decor. The bar is cozy with a great vibe, and the restaurant is divine. I only had breakfast there, but I wanted everything on the menu! Our rooms was spacious and finely appointed. The bathroom was super clean and featured a large bath and separate shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor room on the back side of the hotel. It was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigJohnMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

15 - 19 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

I cannot describe how rude these people are. I booked through an agent and told the agent I had a child (and 7-month pregnant wife). I had to speak at a seminar, so my wife had to check us in. When my wife (without the assistance of a bellman) had gotten all our bags out of the car and her an my child were on the sidewalk, the lady ran out and said she and the child could not stay there because they did not allow kids. She said the website says this everywhere. It is not on the website anywhere, which says "great for family reunions." The only place it can be found is when you actually book, which does not pop up if you book through an agency. They made no exception and left my crying child and wife sitting on the sidewalk to gather all their items (without a bellman). There solution was not to make an exception, but to call a hotel out of the city and book it. No, they were not going to arrange a discount for the new hotel, and it took them an hour to call another hotel. Eventually I took the family to stay at a much nicer Courtyard Marriott with very friendly people. The no-child policy in Chattanooga is one thing, but a preference that I understand. However, how they handled the situation was really beyond me. I would never stay here - kids or no kids.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgegr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Erin C, Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Mr. Rhodes,
I am terribly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with how the situation was handled. First let me say that we have valet and bellhops on site to assist all of our guests upon arrival. Due to the nature of the hotel and it's vintage furnishings we have a no children under 12 policy. When there are any issues with a reservation, it is our policy first to try and make the guests more comfortable and then try and find other near by accommodations. We are an independent hotel but have partnered with Starwood for a reward program. When booking Free Night stays with other agencies it can be difficult sometimes and I apologize if our policies were not properly explained by the third party agent. I have reached out to Starwood to alert them of this instance so that they may follow up with their agents. I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you enjoyed your time in Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I chose this place because I love boutique hotels and this definitely fits in the category. The old boarding house has been beautifully redone and every painting and pillow and plant is in the exact place. Great taste for decor. The day I went in the reception and valet parking boy were friendly and very helpful. Small details such as the chocolate cookies and welcoming drink were a nice touch.
There was a smell to the place which is not appealing to me. The night I was there, I stayed in room 36 and there was a screaching loud sound every 30min that woke me up throughout the night, so I spent a horrible night. When I mentioned it in the morning, a young blond guy agreed and had heard the sound. However, it was still happening at 11am when I was glad to checkout because I needed a good night sleep.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Wow! I can not say enough about how fabulous this hotel is! Upon arrival we were greeted by the valet who welcomed us and helped with our bags. Next the front desk welcomed us by name with a welcome cocktail. We were immediately taken to our room where he processed to go over all the amenities and make sure we were settled. If we needed anything, they were right on it! Did I mention this place is gorgeous!?! It's like your on the set of mad men. You have everything you need. The restaurant (Terra Mae) and bar (Matilda's) are both awesome and are just downstairs. You could go and never leave! We will back for sure!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

From the moment we pulled up to the curb to the last sip of expresso with the complimentary, tasty breakfast on the second day, we could not have been happier with our stay at the Dwell. Everyone was graciously attentive, and friendly. The room was well appointed, artfully decorated and the bed comfortable. I hope to find another excuse to visit Chattanooga and stay at the Dwell Hotel.

Room Tip: look at online, there are photos of each room. We were on the street side but didn't notice any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,443 reviews
0.6 km away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#10 of 96 in Chattanooga
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: ₹ 15,390 - ₹ 22,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dwell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, will make a stay at The Dwell Hotel the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing