We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy and FULL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
ft. oglethorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“happy and FULL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I attended one of the brunches this past weekend with my son. IT WAS AMAZING. I have never had such good food in my life! My favorite was this amazing egg souffle it was so good. Brian is an amazing chef. Turns out that Brian's sisters help serve there. I loved meeting Lacy she was so very sweet, my son loved her! Overall my experience was awesome and i will be back! great food great atmosphere...thanks Stone Fort!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lerin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    96
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
331
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrior, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I truly hope that when people read negative reviews on a property they dig a little deeper and read up on the REVIEWER. Some people can not be made happy. A recent review on The Stonefort could not be further from the truth, in my honest opinion.

The post (1/8/2012) was pure garbage! And, when you research the reviewer you find that their review(s) of other properties was also scored low, so, one may assume that this is a trend for them. I have stayed at The Stonefort on several occasions and found the Inn and staff to be nothing less than warm, professional, inviting and accommidating. The rooms clean and everything you need for a pleasant stay available to you. The food and hospitality outstanding.

So, yes, by all means research before you book a stay anywhere, but DO NOT HESITATE to book a stay at this unique B&B, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susieqok76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calera, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I totally recommend staying here. People a plus, room a plus, price a plus... couldn't be better... Wendy Ivins Cicio

Room Tip: i enjoyed myself and will be back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyc4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

After looking at the reviews and the Stone Fort Inn website my husband and I booked a two night stay over the holidays on our way home from a shopping trip in Atlanta. The website portrays the inn as a quaint luxury B&B. There is no luxury here. The bottom line is that the inn is seriously in need of upgrades and more staff. It might have been nice when it opened but now it is just yucky and poorly maintained. Don't bother. First off there was no one at the front desk when we arrived. The front door has a lock that can only be opened with a code because the inn is located in a pretty sketchy part of town. That would have been fine except we had to stand on the sidewalk until someone came to let us in. The woman who runs the front desk had taken a smoking break out back and we later figured out that they leave the back door open while smoking causing the main rooms of the inn to smell like smoke; pretty unprofessional. After we finally got our room key, we were still hopeful, we got to our room and it was a mess. The linens on the bed were old, dusty, and not very clean. The bed frame was not stable and the mattress, I believe, has never been replaced. It had a pretty significant dip. It was an unpleasant sleeping experience and for a luxury B&B you expect a nice bed. There was dust on every surface and the bathroom was simply not clean. The rug on the floor in the bathroom is NOT washed between guests and was covered in dirt and hair, gross! Also, the shower did not have hot water only luke warm. The website says that you can have a made to order breakfast. Not true. The only thing you can have are eggs, either scrambled or over medium and the rest of the breakfast was subpar. Cheap bacon, a weird casserole, hard cold (by the time we got there) biscuits. Honestly, as far as we are concerned the website is simply fraudulent. The whole stay was a disaster. We could have stayed at the Marriott downtown for less money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravlrJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greathouse46, Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Wow. It’s difficult to know where to start after a review like this. I'm really sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our Inn. As you read our many wonderful reviews, most guests find our accommodations, staff and breakfast a great experience. Clearly your expectations are somewhat different from our typical guest.
Starting from the top…we do have a lock on our front door and guests are given the code to use once they arrive. We are a small, quaint, 15 room Inn and do not have a large staff available at all times. That is not the experience most guests are expecting or seeking when they stay at our Inn. Therefore, a lock and code makes good sense. We have a door bell that summons staff when they are not at reception, so I do not believe your wait would have been long. We also mention on our website that if you will call the Inn shortly before arrival we can insure that someone can greet you the instant you arrive.
We do not consider our location sketchy. We are a centrally located downtown hotel and have a typical downtown environment. If anything, we are a little quieter than most locations since we are 2 streets over from Market Street, one of the main downtown roads. I have been walking the streets surrounding the Inn for many years and have never experienced a problem or felt nervous.
We have not had experience with guests complaining about the smell of smoke in the Inn. We do have an area outside where we permit smoking by guests and staff. We have informed our staff about this issue and reviewed procedures to insure that it does not become a problem.

We clean all of our rooms thoroughly between guests as well as all linens and bathroom rugs. At this point, there is no way for us to know if we experienced a break down in service on this occasion. We do not claim to be perfect but housekeeping complaints are a very infrequent occurrence at our Inn. If your room was not cleaned properly, I’m surprised that you accepted this condition and didn’t alert us to the problem. We would have moved you to a different room of your choice immediately, with our sincere apologies and some token of our regret.

Bedding is a very personal preference and we have had comments about mattresses being too hard and too soft in the same room. We regularly inspect and turn our mattresses and replace those that require it. Most guest comment about how much they enjoy our beds. We’re sorry you did not.

Finally, and this is very puzzling, you were dissatisfied with our breakfast. Our breakfast is one of the most commonly applauded portions of our guest experience. A quick review of additional TA reviews will confirm this. We often host people from the community for breakfast. We include locally roasted coffee, fresh fruit, cereals, an assortment of fresh quiches or breakfast casseroles, croissants, assorted pastries and eggs cooked to order.

Clearly, we are not your cup of tea. However, I hope that other readers will see that we do meet the expectations of the vast majority of our guests and strive diligently to provide a great experience for all those who choose to stay at our Inn.

James Greathouse, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmers Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Spent two nights at the Inn as part of a wedding in December. The Inn was in a great location, and easy to get to from the airport. Check in was very fast and we were in our room within a few minutes of arriving. The room (#36) was clean and spacious; very open, with lots of light from the windows. The sitting area outside the room was frequently utilized by the wedding party. The inn keeper, James, was very helpful, he is a valuable asset for the Inn. The breakfasts were outstanding, with plenty of variety (fresh fruits, french toast, eggs, quiches, juices, coffee). The first floor was great for lounging, reading, shooting billiards and catching up with old friends. We can't wait for our next excuse to visit Chattanooga (fun city), and we will certainly stay at the Stone Fort Inn (creaky floors and all!).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the balconies and the corner suites. I recommend the third floor, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 km away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.3 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 km away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#12 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,162 - ₹ 22,992
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing