We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It was rustic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was rustic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in a cabin with our two kids. Our cabin looked like it was constructed from whatever was on clearance at the local store. The door hinges were gate hinges that were held on with 2 screws. The doors were site constructed with 1/2" gaps all around that they filled with big foam. Because it was uninsulated, the temperature swung with the day. Very warm in the evening after baking in the sun and very cold in the morning. I was never comfortable in the bed. Our location was quiet and the campground was convenient to Lookout Mountain and downtown. The price seemed high for staying in what felt like a shed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darylreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    54
    29
    21
    20
See reviews for
87
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Beautiful place. Easy on/off the road. Nice tent sites. Staff friendly. Now for the bad: No escort to site. Very small and tite In standard area. No maintenance!!! Grass not cut. Bath house dirty at 3 pm, Old soap laying in showers along with wrappers and other garbage on floor. Not cheap at $30 a nite. Sites very small and close in standard rv area. Sewage dump next to other sites picknick table. Will not be back........

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trailerrvcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I was in the office and staff was great and location is awesome. My kid loves the place and we will be back next week from Orlando. Cabins are great and RV sites seem very good size,great tour of cave and kids love the go karts

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Campergolferhunter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Moved to this park due to work in Chattanooga long term. I told them that I would need a spot for 6 mos. to a year. I went to pay my second months rent, and was told I would have to move because the site I'm in has a long term reservation for Thanksgiving that was made last year. They must have known this when they rented the spot to me. I'm told that they cannot move the incoming reservation. I told them that if I had to move, that I would move to another park to insure that I would not be treated like this again. They said, "Sorry". So move I will.

Over all, the park is OK, but the laundry is bad and forget the fitness room. The sites are reasonable size and maintained satisfactorily. The office looks like nobody really cares what you think about the place. The utilities,(elect., water, septic, cable) all seem to be well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great location! Everything was clean had a nice fire pit, stayed in a cabin which was nice and had everything we needed. Had a great time and will go back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Inn
BEST WESTERN Royal Inn
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
2.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga I-24/Lookout Mountain
9.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground

Property: Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground
Address: 319 W Hills Rd, exit #174 off I-24, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Chattanooga
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Raccoon Mountain Rv Park And Campground Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing