We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed and thoroughly satisfied!”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazed and thoroughly satisfied!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

A friend and I booked a two night stay at the SpringHill Suites, but we decided to take a chance on Priceline to see if we could save a few bucks. The Chattanoogan accepted our bid, and from that point on we were suprised and amazed at pretty much everything about our stay. The staff was extremely helpful and they volunteered a wealth of extra information when asked a question. The facility was decorated very well, and the rooms were spotless. I am allergic to down and when I noticed there were down pillows I was ready to call down to the front desk to ask for a down alternative pillow, but then I found two down alternative pillows already in the closet! The best surprise came when we visited hotel restarant, the Broad Street Grille. We did the lunch buffet one day and the breakfast buffet the next day, and I can say it was the best hotel restaurant I have ever been to. Not only was the food delicious, but everything tasted extremely fresh and was obviously made from scratch. I made a point to give my compliments to the chef.

All in all, it was a fantastic stay for the right price. The next time we visit Chattanooga, we will stay at The Chattanoogan!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank brown_boiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your positive and comprehensive feedback. I have shared your comments with our hotel staff and they were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We are glad you decided to stay with us and look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    317
    143
    57
    47
See reviews for
304
394
35
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

A bit over priced but still nice. The pool isn't as it appears on the website. It's only 3 feet deep, so very kid friendly. I wouldn't eat dinner at the Broad st grille for dinner again, it was slow and over priced. On the other hand the breakfast buffet was good. Over all we had a nice time. Next time I may try the marriott closer to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mkjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. I am sorry to hear your dinner experience in the Broad Street Grille wasn’t up to your standard or ours.
We do hope you will consider staying here again.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Unloaded our own car because bell hop was unavailable. Cold and uninviting lobby. Room was typical- a little small but fine. Service at hotel was poor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susansci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it as it helps us become a better property

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Parts of this hotel we Loved, others we liked, a few things not so much. Plus side: There was some staff that were truly awesome and seemed to enjoy helping out, such as our breakfast service which was awesome. The valet staff were helpful, even though we didn't use the valet service. We loved the rooms which were clean and comfortable and the beds were nice and soft. The common areas of the hotel were quite well decorated and aesthetically pleasing. Our rate was awesome and overall it was a good deal.

Negatives: The staff was not knowledgeable about any surrounding areas and were no help in locating any local parks or attractions. We Hated the pool which was 3ft deep from end to end, there were no stairs or entrance or safe place for younger kids to enter and no place for the older ones to really swim. We didn't love the parking fee, but the parking was atleast easy to use once you Found it. There was no sign directing where to park, so its tricky figuring it out the first time. Some lovely person pulled the fire alarm in the middle of the night, and that wasn't so much fun. However, the staff responded well informing people with updates and got us all back in pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay by the ice machines. I wasn't near them, but I felt So bad getting ice in the early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Linnaya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the hotel from your recent stay. I am sorry you did not get the assistance you wanted to best experiencing the city, we have on going training and will be sure to make sure the entire team is knowledgeable on the wonderful things the city has to over. Chattanooga is a great city and we hope that you will come back and see us.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I just spent the night for our 10 year anniversary and it was wonderful! The valets were so great when we arrived, it costs $12/day, but well worth it. The checkin went smooth. Our room was on the third floor and was beautiful. The bed and pillows are to die for! They are so comfortable. There were lots of channels on the TV and the Wi-Fi worked wonderfully. We did call down to room service for some ketchup, but we never recieved it and didn't call back to check. The shower has great water pressure, but as someone stated earlier there is a problem with it draining. I was standing in ankle deep water while showering. We had dinner at the Broad Street Grill and it was tasty and a great price. Having a gourmet made to order meal is not intended to be quick so if you want fast food, this is not the place. I will do a seperate review for them. We also visited The Foundry, a cool jazz bar in the hotel. It has pool tables on one side and they had a good jazz band on the other and the drinks were cold. However, they have really slow service. So, if you're looking for a quick drink you will not get it there. It didn't seem too busy but our waitress couldn't handle the few tables she had. She was friendly and we were patient. The free trolley does run close to the hotel so you do not have to walk or drive downtown. We did not eat the breakfast or bunch but heard that both were great. We looked at the food for brunch and were salivating but had to get back home. The 12 o'clock check out was great as well. I will be visiting this hotel again and I would totally recommend it to my friends looking for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank holmes153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Our staff is committed to providing the highest level of customer service possible to our guests, with our goal being the absolute satisfaction of each guest that we host and your comments include things we can celebrate and learn from.
Your kind words about our facilities and restaurant restaurants are thoroughly appreciated. Our Champagne Sunday Brunch is a favorite in town so I encourage you to take some extra time on the next visit to enjoy it.
Not only does the free trolley pick up near the hotel, our city is adding a Chattanooga Bikes program so rental bikes will be located in front of our hotel by the first of August. It will be another great way to explore the city.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you’ll return to The Chattanoogan Hotel in the near future.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.6 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,688 reviews
0.4 km away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
957 reviews
1.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,115 - ₹ 18,361
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing