We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Public House

Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 922 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Dedicated stop on the free electric shuttle.
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Dropped in to have a Saturday afternoon cocktail after Lookout Mtn. excursion. To our Delight the server was so nice and suggested a red wine for me, turns out great, My husband had a beer. We ordered appetizer cheese and meat, It was fantastic, had spiced pecans, a spread with toasted points along with the 2 meats and cheese. Was delicious. Later server and I talked and she suggested a different wine that was her favorite red. Tried it and loved it. Overall experience Great, would like to go back and have Dinner. Would recommend for all.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Amy, thank you for trying Public House. We're glad your server's suggestions were enjoyed. Thank you for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2018

This is one of my go to staple restaurants in Chattanooga. If you're looking for gourmet comfort food in a nice upscale setting, this is your place. I'm partial to the fried pickles with pimento cheese. My husband loves the burger. Many people rave over the fried chicken. Stop in for lunch when the weather is nice and eat on the deck outside above the Chattanooga streets in a great area.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank heather8032018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Heather, thanks for the recommendation. You've described a lot of the things that people tell us make Public House special. Thanks for giving TripAdvisor users an idea of what to expect and how to get the best experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This was our first visit, but it certainly will not be the last. We were in town on a mini-vacation and had seen the reviews and decided to give it a try. WOW WHAT AN AWESOME lunch is how we felt at the end of our meal. Great service. The staff was so very nice and friendly. They made us feel right at home. The food portions were fantastic and the taste of the food was awesome. We will be back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank musicmaker659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you, musicmaker659. We love to hear this. And we hope you do visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Wonderful restaurant and staff. Freshly prepared and nice size portions. Finished our meal with a wonderful peanut butter pie.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ssp1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for the feedback. We're glad the peanut butter pie hit the spot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Public House as we attended a life coaching weekend with Richard Flint. Our first evening we had dinner at Public House. I had the fried chicken which was very good. It is soaked in “Sweet Tea” according to our server. Whatever they did, it was very good. My wife had a crab cake and salad. It was outstanding. We wrapped up our meal with desert. I had the banana pudding and my wife had the peanut butter pie. Both were very good. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank TheDoodleBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrico01, Public Relations Manager at Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks for your recommendation! We hope your weekend was awesome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Public House also viewed

 

Been to Public House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing