We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Family Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Kick back in your spacious living area .. and prepare to sit down to a nice leisure meal ..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kick back in your spacious living area .. and prepare to sit down to a nice leisure meal ..
Stay totally connected with the 'cook' in the kitchen but don'e miss tonights game. Open feeling. River and Mountain Views, walk out to decking, nature,  just steps from you seat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Kick back in your spacious living area .. and prepare to sit down to a nice leisure meal ..
Stay totally connected with the 'cook' in the kitchen but don'e miss tonights game. Open feeling.
River and Mountain Views, walk out to decking, nature,  just steps from you seat.
Beautiful open kitchen, all the amenities & conveniences from home. Dishes, pots, pans, provided.
Beautiful wood work through the home, open floor plan makes moving about easy and carefree.
More than the dinning room table can hold? Extra seats for extra guests.
Wake up to the morning on memory foam 'top of the line' mattress.  3 bedroom (King, King, Queen)
Shoot a game of pool and reconnect with your kids, friends and family.
You can still play a game and not miss the Game.
Tired of the teenagers? Send them down stairs to the game room while the parents enjoy some peace.
Relax down stairs in the game room on comfy sofa in front of fire place and TV
Get away, watch a movie and cuddle with some one you love.
Get a good nights rest here ... where the only sound are of owls.
You'll have plenty of room here to get ready.
Double headed steam room shower ..  get the master suite.
Jacuzzi bath used to sooth the soul. Get the master bedroom suite!
Materbath/Jacuzzie tub/Double headed shower/stream room
Large, Spacious and Plenty of room for all your stuff.
Two stone fire places with gas logs and flat screen tv's, satillite service.
Front of the Elk River cabin towers over the water and mountain side.
View from your deck of Cherokee Forest mountain range
View thru the forest
Out door fire pit, built in seating - just steps from your back door
Large back yard area with fire pit and seating.
River side fishing just a short walk down or a minutes drive
Elk River is one of America's cleanest water ways
Back of home, parking driveway.
Gas Grill, hired wired in so you never run out of gas
full size washer/ dryer in separate laundry room with extra fridge
The Elk River feeds into Near by Watauga Lake
Rent boats at the local marina - 10 min drive
Watch out for area wildlife
Baby doe. Drive safely especially at dusk and dawn.
lots of families live here
Two picnic tables on the property for larger groups/families to enjoy.
Sign showing you the way at the bottom of the driveway.
Birds of prey as seen frequently from this property.
Nearest Neighbors
Bald Eagle nesting
Are frequently seen.
Owls of all colors, sizes and shapes live here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Butler, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ron J
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a great stay at this property. Clean, well stocked, nice furnishing and yes, a gorgeous view. We really enjoyed the view off the deck the most. The mountains and the river are all gorgeous, really pretty and you can hear the water. Its got a nice current, one that you can easily swim in and of course we did a lot of fishing. We have four daughters who love the out doors. Love to hike, fish, swim, hunt everything that boys like to do. My wife enjoyed the steam room and the jacuzzi bathtub the most. She’s not as outdoorsey as the rest of us so was able to chill while we explored the surrounding woods. Fire pit and picnic table perfect for nighttime smores and family time.

We went into town a couple of evenings and enjoyed many of the places recommended in our welcome package. They weren’t chain restaurants but unique places. We were able to hit the Blue Ridge Parkway en route to Grandfather Mountain and drove over the Linn Cove Viaduct (very cool). The Appalachian Trail goes over the Watauga Dam but we went the other direction toward Shady Valley in search of wild cranberry bogs. This area is really unspoiled and beautiful.

The cabin was fantastic, beautiful wood everywhere, nice pool table and very comfortable mattresses (this is usually our biggest beef when traveling). We've already booked the cabin for a week next summer and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: listening to the rushing river
Liked least: could use a better wine opener
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Dr. Ron, thank you so much for your compliments, they are so much appreciated. Glad too that your wife (who's not really outdoorsy) could enjoy her stay there too. With jacuzzi bathtub, steam room and of course wifi even those that aren't interested in hiking and fishing can still enjoy. Glad too that your daughters loved the place. Its so important for families to vacation together and create bonds that last a life time. This is a great property that offers so much right there without having to drive anywhere else. 40 acres to hike, over 2000 feet of river frontage to fish and swim and yes, if you must venture out we provide all guests with an extensive welcome package so that there's no guess work and you'll know right where to go for whatever you are looking for.
Know you folks are alway welcome back, thank you too for taking care of the place, it is most appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melody W
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views and cabin!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family had a wonderful stay at this place. Views were amazing. Lots and lots of decking for kids to play, sunbath or just sit and read. The river below, you can see and hear. It has a very gentle current and runs through this property, its absolutely gorgeous. The waters about knee high, great for kids and family’s looking to splash around. We had good luck too fishing. The home sits on several acres so you have lots of room to roam and hike. Theres a great backyard area that features a firepit and a kids climbing play gym.
Loved many evening out there spent roasting marshmallows and telling stories This property is in Tennessee but really close to the N.C. state line and communities like Beech Mtn Ski resort, Boone/Blowing Rock NC. Your about 30 mins to Boone where you have lots of restaurants and shopping. To the west we visited historic Jonesboro Tn, and enjoyed one of their many local festivals. The area is full of nice surprises, we even found a winery not 10 mins from the cabin. As guests we were given a welcome package that lead us in lots of directions with suggestions like white water rafting trips to dinning. The home itself is just lovely, its clean and comes with a wonderful cleaning lady named Shelia. She’s your housekeeper and contact during your stay. She’s also your neighbor and is very caring and helpful. She actually baby sat for us one night while we went out to dinner. The beds are very comfortable, memory foam mattresses that slept very well. Everything went as planned on our vacation. We really enjoyed this property, all was in good working order too. We’ll certainly tell others about this place. and I know we’ll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The slow moving river and cabin
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Betty, thank you so much for such nice compliments. So glad you enjoyed the Cabin as well as the river. It is a great location for families looking to hike, splash around in the water and have fun. Glad you enjoyed all the decking and space the home has to offer. Good to hear too that you used your welcome package. It is a wealth of information for guests to use and get the most bang out of their vacation. Thank you too for taking good care of the cabin. We really appreciate guests that take care of our home, know that you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldcritte...
1 review
“Broken a during my daughters Wedding & reception”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booked this rental for wedding for daughter. They are very nice, until we had no ac during our stay. It wrecked havic on our event and pictures. The fire pit was trashed and the grass shoulder high. The floors lb second floor. The main rooms, are in terrible shaperson and in departed need of repair. Bwing on a cliff, you would think they would repair area that looks hazardous on deck. It is clear to that they were very aware of issues with ac,it was not in proper working order, the house was hot when we arrived
The cordless phone does not work. Corded phone rings on 1st floor. The cabin and property are in need of maintance.We informed them of the ac acute problem, we wI
Waited almost all day for a repairman that they said was on the way. They did refund us for the 3rd night due to extreme heat we were unable to sTay. But did try to say we were at fault for ac not working. Integrity. Is everything, the realator stated she was going to return our cleaning deposit, due to conditona and did not. The maid state there were crumbs in toaster We never used. They let us wait for maid to come do walk for an hour+, when we called she told us she wasnt coming. They did nothing to compensive us for the area. We could not use, the temp a tire in the house was 85 to 87 degrees. The wedding cake was melting. We cleaned house and all decks and chsirs on arrival, the decks, chairs, and out door mats were dirty. The BBQ grill, well you would really have to do a lot of cleaning to use. The house is poorly stocked. If you chance it and get the rental agreement, you will see they list of broken items you can not use, additionalally you will get further info on what you can't use, they clearly have ac, fireplace, issues, also the large fanumber in the cathedreal area did not work. They light came on, but it was clear it was broken
The maid stated a guest stole the remote control to it. HUH. Overall it had a wonderful natural beauty. However, beware this cabin has many, issues. Some large, some small.However, they all add up to problems that will potentially take away from your vacation. The price is way too much for a property that is not properly Maintained. The worst part for us was the finger pointing at us. They are well versed in excuses. In 33 reviews on homeaway, there were 6 bad. Do yourself a favor and rent property in better condition. How sad for them.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Note to any one reading this review
1) We do NOT allow wedding, parties or events in our home. It is a large house but it is not a venue of any kind. Do not bring more people to the property than that allowed. This cabin only allows up to 8 guests. Maybe one of two more with special permission but not a party or event group.
2)Please do not turn the thermostat way way down and fireplaces on. Heat and air conditioning are two opposing forces and when used at the same time you disrupt the system which causes damage.
3)In addition to refundable security deposit there is a cleaning fee/charge for housekeeping. Housekeepers do much more than just sweeping and mopping. Housekeeping fees are not refundable and are advertised as a fee not a deposit. This way guests just walk out the door and don't have to do anything and our housekeepers get paid a fair price.
Please respect our rules during your stay and enjoy your vacation, spend time with your loved ones and hopefully you'll enjoy it as much as our family has.
Nothing is universally loved, and sometimes bad reviews are just a reflection of the person you did business with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Banjo Ridge cabin on alakecabin4u It is adorable and the housekeeper does an excellent job of keeping the place really clean. She was very thankful for the nice gratuity that you left her and sends a big thank you back. Its a really private place, so you feel like your a million miles away but town is just 25 minutes down the road with grocery stores, shops etc .. Loved the pictures you emailed of the deer and turkeys those woods are just full of them. Heard too that you caught a lot of trout in that river. They stock right there at the bridge making this an excellent fishing spot.
Thank you again for your kind words. Know you are welcome back anytime. Bookmark and reference alakecabin4u
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richmond
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Know you are always welcome back. Look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready for another trip back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 255
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing