We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was an amazing get away.”
other travellers have booked this property
Your View from your private hot tub!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your View from your private hot tub!
Front of Bass Bungalow facing Watauga Lake just steps from the water. Watauga Lake Front Bass Bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
Your View from your private hot tub!
Front of Bass Bungalow facing Watauga Lake just steps from the water.
Watauga Lake Front Bass Bungalow
Boat slip, where you are welcome to keep your boat or rent one thru the local Marina.
Great evening campfires, roasting marshmallows and telling stories.
View, Deck and Large gas Grill.
Comfy Queen in the Master Bedroom. Linens provided. Full Bath.
Living Room with Sleeper sofa for any extra guests that may be joining you.
Table with four chairs to dine inside.
Kitchen with all the appliances from home.
Beautiful Watauga Lake, 80% of the Lake is Cherokee National Forest.
Complimentary Canoe, life jackets and paddles provided.  Canoe into the Cherokee Nation Forest.
Beautiful Hiking Trails.
The Appalachian Trail crosses Watauga lake.
Lake and river access. Where the river and Lake intersect so you have the best of both worlds.
Bring your boat and dock it in the front yard.
Decking
Bass Bungalow sits on the shore line. Offers lots of amenities; WIFI, Hot tub, boat slip & Canoe.
Firepit right beside the water
Great Area Restaurants.
Casual to Classic dining experiences from $5 to $50 an entree.
Kitchen Area. Pots, Pan, Paper products provided.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Butler, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Julie S
Camden, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try another place first.”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The scenery is beautiful as promised, but the cabin not so much. The cabin advertised a pull-out couch/bed but it the springs were broken or missing and the mattress was falling apart. An ant problem was beginning - they were under the windows, on the counters, floors and in the sink. Fully furnished kitchen? Not so much :( We found a cookie sheet that was blacker than a freshly paved road and a cast iron skillet that looked as if it had never been seasoned. That was it. We ended up going to town to buy cookware. The grill? Um, no again. There was so much grease in the bottom of the grill that I was not about to cook food for my child using that grill. I called the housekeeper the day before we left to make sure of some little things and I asked her if there was specifically anything I needed to do clean-up wise as that I had brought my dogs. I was planning on sweeping, but then she asked me if I would mind throwing the sheets in the washer. Of course I mind! I paid a $95 fee for cleaning and the cabin was cleaner when I left than when I got there. While I hope to visit the lake again one day, I will only do so if there is another place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the scenery.
Liked least: The cabin.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Yes, the scenery from this property is absolutely beautiful. Mountains and water views in every direction. The area is mostly Cherokee National Forest so your views are of woods and wilderness. Once the weather warms up a bit ants start to come out. Know we have our place sprayed monthly with regular pest control & guests can find 'hot shot' ant spray under the sink. The kitchen does offer a stove, fridge, micro, coffee maker and has pots and pans. This guest requested a double boiler and no we don't have one of those - We're not even too sure what that is. But guests can rest assure that regular 'to be expected' cook ware can be found there. The cookie sheet has been replaced too as it had seen better days. Yes, there was a tremendous amount of dog hair left after your stay. Housekeeping came prepared since they knew dogs had stayed and got the mess cleaned up. There was even a bit of damage to a chair with some chew marks but we didn't charge you for it as we understand things happen. Our housekeeper went out of her way several times during your stay to help you. Guests are asked to start a load of laundry before departure. Beside having to haul off and burn all trash (no city trash service out here), mop, swept etc ... housekeepers have a pretty big job to do. This place is great for those searching for lake frontage just steps from the water, moderately priced & priced for those on a tight budget. Complimentary canoe, wifi, and a nice new hot tub. You can't go wrong staying here as long as your expectations are in order with what you paid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krystal P
1 review
“This was an amazing get away.”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked this for our 3yr anniversary and it held up to everything I expected. The first two days were kind of rainy and cold but waking up to looking outside over a beautiful lake made up for the weather. The hot tub was perfect with such an amazing view! And the amount of wild life we got a experience was amazing as well! Can't wait to stay again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Yes, the view is amazing from that property, especially from the hot tub! Thanks so much for your kind words. Know you all area always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron J
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Right on the water with great views”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is not the Taj Mahal, but it was a very nice, clean cabin right on the lake. Definitely a great value for the price. You can fish three steps from the front door surrounded by some of the nicest scenery east of the Rockies. Quiet, relaxing, enjoyed the hot tub with a bottle of wine. We made friends with a goose who came by the dock daily for some bread crumbs. Also caught a monster 25 - 30 lbs carp night fishing but threw him back to live another day. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: size of cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. Yes, this little place is right on the water, with a boat slip, complimentary canoe, hot tub and gas grill. Just a little piece of heaven for those looking to enjoy both lake and mountains. Rent boats from the local marina's or bring yours. One of the best views and fishing around. Look forward to hearing from you again, one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzanneFH
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabin was not what was represented in description.”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The scenery was absolutely beautiful, mountains and lake!! The cabin, however, wasn't as great. The mattress was sunken in the middle which made for restless nights. CD player had broken buttons so unable to play CDs. Minimally appointed kitchen. In bad need of renovation and sprucing up.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Yes, this place has awesome views and as it is advertised is a modest, inexpensive bungalow. Great for any couple or small family looking to get a way on a budget. As we explained to you and every potential guest we talk with we offer 11 properties in our rental program ranging from the largest, five star cabin with new amenities to smaller, less elaborate accommodations that are clean but not as fancy. If you are on a budget, want clean accommodations with great views, a hot tub, wifi, complimentary canoe, boat slip then you have found the right place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad S
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small space, but with a nice view.”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Not much goes on around here in November. Cell service is next to nothing so bring a calling card if you want to communicate. Internet was one of the reasons I chose this location, but between the owner not knowing the password to the Wi-Fi and the Internet going out for a total of three days it was disappointing. It was nice being able to fish right in front of the cabin, but don't go expecting to catch trout, it's pretty much catfish, bass and bluegill. There's not much space inside, it's pretty much a dressed up mobile home. The hot tub was nice, but because the water is well water and there is no filter, sand gets in and makes the water appear murky.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Being out in the Cherokee National Forest is very quiet and why folks choose to stay here. Cell reception does depend on your carrier and age of phone. Thats why we provide a land line inside the cabin. The internet works most all the time, but sometimes can go in and out depending on weather conditions. We received emails from lots of guests (including this one) during their stays and communicated back and forth. Sending emails is easy but trying to send a lot of documents and run a business can be challenging. It is a small place at a very reasonable price, perfect for any couple looking for a romantic get away. We have larger more expensive cabins in this area as well but if you're on a budget then this place works for most. Watauga lake is the 3rd cleanest lake in the country and offers great fisihing from the shore line and even better from a boat. If you really want to get serious about fishing then bring or rent a boat at the local marina The hot tub was clean but because it sits right on the shore line it gets a little sandy. Like the beach but even cleaner. We welcome all guests looking for a mountain get away who are ready for little vacation, little fishing and a lot of rest and relaxation.
watauga lake & river vacation cabins
alakecabin4u
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 128
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing