We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in astounding setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

mrssh0
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in astounding setting”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Probably the nicest self catering cottage we have stayed in, superbly laid out and fully equipped, very restful decor & some of the most comfortable furnishings ever experienced by us. The view and the peaceful surroundings are second to none, a wonderful find.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipingShr...
Westborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Land of my heart!”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have stayed in a lot of self-catering cottages over the last 28 years of visiting Scotland (four times on Lewis!) and I have to say that Loch View is one of the finest we have ever encountered! Sally and Richard have provided absolutely everything needed for the ultimate stay in their beautifully decorated house on Great Bernera. It was a pleasure to arrive from the states and have an organized, comprehensive guide to the workings of all the UK appliances, locks, etc. The house was immaculate, quiet, and spacious with an extrordinary view out on to the rocky hills. The walk to nearby Bosta Beach was energizing and the weather so warm and sunny we could swim in the gorgeous turquoise water. Sally was incredibly helpful and always available via email for any questions. We made daily visits to all parts of Lewis and Harris including the the extensive beach at Uig, standing stones, brochs, the Heb Celt festival, Lews Castle, shopping in Stornaway, hiking the land, and of course sampling the new distillery at Tarbert, Harris. The only thing I would do differently is book more than one week! Fabulous!

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat W
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loch View...stunning in every way!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A stunning house- an idyllic location close to beautiful Bosta Beach. We have 3 children and the house had more than enough room. The bedrooms were great- really comfy beds and very well furnished. There was a bathroom downstairs which was really useful when coming in from the beach.

The living are is what makes this place really special. We found ourselves gazing out to the loch all the time...the colours of the sky and the water changed all the time. The house has been very tastefully decorated. It's spotless- really clean and modern but still retains character. It felt like a really special place to stay. There is everything you need- we did wash clothes in the utility room and the house is so well stocked with essentials that staying there was a dream. There was outdoor furniture and even fishing nets for the kids. There is a stunning fire but we never used it because of the high quality central heating system.

The owners stayed in contact with us but were never intrusive and were really helpful offering advice about things to do. There is a good welcome pack that was also sent through electronically beforehand- really useful so we knew what to take etc.

It's a good base for seeing the famous Callanish Stones, the famous Broch and Blackhouses. There's so much to see and do and a bit of reading before you arrive is useful. The weather was great. There was some rain...and by rain I mean the stuff that really soaks you through! But there was also lots of sunshine and we all actually got sunburnt!

There is so much we learned whilst we were there... it's such an amazing adventure. The kids loved the ferry rides, we all loved the amazing beaches...Bosta was so lovely and perfect for us. There's an interesting tide bell and an Iron Age house to look at there too- if you get bored of the turquoise water and clean white sand! If you're prepared to explore like we were there are stunning beaches at places such as Uig and a bit further on Harris the beaches rival the best in the world. Luskentyre, Scarista and many others make you wonder why people ever use a passport!! Oh...and you'll probably be the only people on these beaches too!!! It's difficult to believe the pictures but it's true- those beaches take your breath away.

The Chessmen at Uig and plenty of other great museums offer things to do if the weather isn't perfect. Stornaway is lovely and bigger than we anticipated. 2 big supermarkets and plenty of shops. The Arts Centre is great- lots to do and good cake! The Hebridean Hotel in Tarbut offers amazing home cooked food. The kids meals were £6 each...a drink, a starter, a main course and a pudding- all home made and fantastic quality. They also do brilliant pizzas.

If you're looking for an amazing adventure, staying in an idyllic location in a stunning cottage this is for you! Huge mountains, fascinating history, warm and friendly locals who are really helpful, world class beaches that are never busy, views that take your breath away and peace and quiet.

After a week we all felt really relaxed and happier as a family- you couldn't ask for anything more really.

We can't recommend this cottage enough.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JubilyJoe...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded location”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely new built property fitted out to a high standard. Location is beautiful with Bosta beach less than a mile away and stunning views from the cottage itself. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokiaabq
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Peaceful, quiet, stunning scenery and that is just the location!!!
The house was very comfortable, had EVERYTHING you could possibly need, beautiful, well light, clean and well designed for a family staying together. We ended up cooking every night because we loved the kitchen so much! And as the description says, pop dinner in oven and walk down to beach!
Sally was super helpful and made sure all our needs were met and instructions for appliances helpful if you are from another country.
Rain or shine this house is the perfect escape!
Do go to the Iron Age house at Bosta when it is open and dont miss lunch and the sweet museum at Community Centre.
And if the weather is nice WALK!!!!
Cannot wait to visit again!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.