We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
The Ard Holiday Cottage, Bernera, Isle of Lewis Bright, comfortable living room, 32' Samsung LCD T.V. with Sky,  aga multi-fuel stove, payphone.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Northern lights as seen from the decking of The Ard
The Ard Holiday Cottage, Bernera, Isle of Lewis
Bright, comfortable living room, 32' Samsung LCD T.V. with Sky,  aga multi-fuel stove, payphone.
Open plan Kitchen and living room with spectacular view to sea
En suite double room with King size bed, fitted wardrobes, bedside tables and lamps, tv, radio alarm
Twin room with  2 single beds with Kaymed Spinal Support mattresses*, fitted wardrobe
Bathroom with Whirlpool bath (8 base jets, 5 side jets, 6 back jets, 2  foot jets and 7 colours).
Tiled En suite  with enclosed shower cubicle, wash hand basin, toilet and heated towel rail.
Patio doors leading out to decked area where you enjoy the spectacular view out to Loch Beag
View from The Ard Holiday Cottage Kitchen & Living room
Northern Lights as seen from The Ard
Bernera Bridge built in 1953, the bridge was the first pre-stressed concrete bridge in Europe.
Standing Stones above Bernera Bridge
Little Bernera lies between the sea lochs of West & East Loch Roag
Bosta Beach is made from sparkling white shell sand. This  beach is approx 3 miles from The Ard
The Old Hill, Bosta Beach Bernera
Iron Age house at Bosta Beach
Callanish Standing Stones - rows of large pieces of Lewisian Gneiss arranged in a cross shape.
Lews Castle & Wicker woman under the stars
Garenin black house village
Dun Broch
Butt of Lewis
Town of Stornoway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
EmmaNigel
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Myself, my husband and 3 yr old son stayed here at the beginning of July 2013.

The Ard is a modern, clean and well equipped 2 bedroom holiday rental, including wi-fi. All the rooms are a good size and the bedrooms have built in wardrobes. We were welcomed on arrival by the owner, Norma and her daughter. There was also a very tasty welcome pack along with a toy for our son.

The view from the balcony is stunning and the short walk to the reconstructed Norman Watermill is well worth it, as we heard, but didn't see, otters in the atmospheric mist.

I would heartily recommend this house to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow.
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ellie M
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A stunning home from home!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks and wished it could have been for longer! A beautiful holiday cottage with a stunning view and surroundings. Although we have been to the Isle of Lewis before Great Bernera was a brilliant base and we loved exploring its many beautiful beaches, sites and walks etc.
The Ard was incredibly comfortable and although we had good weather I can well imagine the cottage being very cosy in colder weather. The Ard was very well equipped, clean and tidy. We recieved a very warm welcome and the welcome basket of goodies was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location
Liked least: found the pillows too thin.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 119
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing