We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Scenery”
other travellers have booked this property
Valasay is seen here on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Valasay showing the tidal sea loch
The house at 25 Valasay
The well equipped kitchen has everything you would expect and perhaps some things you wouldn't
This photo looks up the Kyles of Valasay from the main part of our croft.
There's an amazing sense of calmness at Bosta that I can't quite describe.
On the Bosta walk from Valasay
This aerial shot shows the view
The master bedroom has a king size bed made from solid oak.
The twin room has views of the back garden and croft land
The view from the master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Angela M
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful scenery, beautiful house with everything we could of needed, travelled with my husband and 18 month old son and once we had toddler-proofed the property we had an excellent stay, my son enjoyed being out in the lovely garden and playing with the owners dog who is just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view - just stunning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday cottage in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to relax and get away from people, traffic & noise, and if you're into walks along the coast, quiet beaches, boating and archaeological sites, then you'll love it here. We've just returned from a one week stay at Valasay Cottage (wish we'd booked for two weeks) and we're so glad we made the effort to get there. The cottage is at the end of a road on the island of Great Bernera and seems very far away from the rest of the world, which we loved. In fact, the major supermarkets are only a 45 minute drive away in Stornoway and there is a local shop selling basic items a mile away from the cottage. Although the weather wasn't great for the week we stayed, we did get a couple of days of sunshine, and even in the rain, we enjoyed the 11km walk directly from the cottage to the beach at Bosta. The Callanish Stones and visitor centre are about a 20 minute drive away and the fabulous beach Traigh Na Beirigh at Cnip, is about a 30 minute drive. There are lots of historical and archaeological sites up and down the west coast of Lewis, and the drive down to Harris takes just over an hour (or a couple of hours to the southern most tip). As for the cottage itself, it is very well equipped and comfortable. It's extremely spacious, bright, clean and well thought out with comfortable sofas, lots of books and games, a huge TV and free wifi. The beds are comfortable, and the views from the cottage are wonderful. The owner, Anne, who lives next door, is very helpful with information about things to do in the area, but other than that, she leaves you alone to get on with your holiday unless needed. Altogether an excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia...
gosport
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday stay with added bonus of an adopted pet.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very warm welcome from Anne and lovely cake on arrival. Comfortable cottage with every facility we could need. Superb views from bedroom windows-so much so we did not draw the curtains at all so we could see the view as soon as we woke up. Enjoyed cooking the ultra fresh mussels and scallops we bought at Miavaig and chatting to Anne about island life Playing with the dog was an added bonus..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovagYess...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely House in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Valasay Crofthouse provided us with a perfect base from which to explore both Lewis and Harris. We received a very warm welcome on arrival from the owner Anne who gave us many suggestions for places of interest that we could visit. The house itself is a real home from home, it is comfortable and warm, furnished and decorated to a very high standard and the kitchen cupboards even contained some helpful store-cupboard essentials. The house itself is situated in a tranquil but stunning location.
All in all, we both found it a great relaxing place to return to after our long days out exploring the island and could easily have stayed there for a lot longer than a week. A lovely house in a beautiful part of the island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William I
Well, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great location with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a week at the Valasay crofthouse in June. It is a beautifully quiet spot with many interesting things to see on the Isles of Lewis and Harris. We had a very warm welcome from the owner Anne with flowers and homemade cake on our arrival. The croft is very comfortably equipped and felt like a home from home. There is lots to see on the island from the iron age house, blackhouse village and standing stones to the beautiful large golden sandy beaches on the west coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing