We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Spearfish
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Hartington, Nebraska
1 review
“Great place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a snowmobile trip with family and friends. The pool and hot tub were great after snowmobiling all day, the kids had a fun time. A little of everything was on the breakfast "1"!!!
Staff was accomodating in meeting all our needs. Front desk had some different places to eat and ideas of things to do and places to go. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Talk to front desk to make sure about the rooms you get. They suggested suites for our families and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted your family enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We have a variety of suites including family suites with 3 queen beds to accomodate families when they travel. We hope to see you again in your visit to the Black Hills (maybe snowmobiling again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    114
    62
    27
    19
See reviews for
151
115
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I personally would not stay at this Motel again. I chose it having read various reviews but not carefully enough it seems On the positive side the room was clean, the pool and hot tub looked lovely though i did not use them. The breakfast was the usual fare of cereal, bagles, waffles etc .. adequate .Beds are pretty comfortable.

On the negative side, for me, no elevator, I am not the best on stairs and found it difficult to negotiate these. i was on the third floor, this must the cheap seats where i ended up having used my AAA card to book. The ice machine and pop, candy etc machine are on the first floor by the pool.

Lot of noise from the kids in the pool, even drifted to the third floor, and kids running around the walkways sounded like baby elephants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingkiwi_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that your stay was not as you expected. Our motel does have 3 floors and we are sorry you had difficulty negotiating the stairs. Did you ask the front desk for a room on the first or second floor? Staff also will gladly help you carry your luggage. We are a "Pride of Super 8" and our guests experiences are important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We recently booked 2 rooms here for a total of 5 nights for a "relaxing snowmobiling trip" and the hotel accommodations and staff made this everything but relaxing! First of all we requested that we have joining rooms or 2 rooms close together. When we checked in the manager Roxanne told us that we are as close as we can be. The rooms were at opposite ends of the hotel! We thought well maybe they are booked and these were all that was available, for the first 3 nights there was AT MOST 6 rooms rented out! Our rooms both had a fridge and microwave in them BUT there was no table or chairs in the room to eat at! This might not have been a big deal being that there were tables and chairs outside our room by the pool. But as soon as we tried to have a beverage and food out there we were yelled at, and told that food and drink are not allowed in the fenced in area! Amazingly enough as soon as the weekend guests showed up on Friday all these rules flew out the window and they were partying and eating food everywhere! Also very young kids in the hot tube when there were signs everywhere stating no one under the age of 12! It’s kind of hard to relax when there are kids jumping and splashing in your face. Not to mention these kids were running around till all hours of the night and it was impossible to sleep and no one from the staff said or did anything!
The rooms were very musty! Our room was very dirty looking, and one of the doors was broke in one of the rooms. When we checked in, our room was freezing cold because they had our heat turned completely off. The following day when we returned from snowmobiling, our heat was turned off again and it was freezing in our room again!
We had to check out a day early (needed to check out Saturday morning VS Sunday morning) because we had a sick kid at home that we had to tend to. We asked Roxanne already Friday morning, if this was ok to do and she said no problems at all. When we actually went to check out Saturday morning she then made a snotty comment about how it makes no difference to her because we already paid for the room and there will be no refund! She didn't feel bad at all for not telling us this previously when we talked to her about checking out early.
I could keep going on and on but I need to stop to control my blood pressure!
I would NEVER stay here again and would say they are missing out on 2 room rentals yearly for at least 5 days! They have the worst customer service I have ever seen!!!

Room Tip: Get 3rd floor so you don't hear every thing going on, but beware there is no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I would like to say I am very sorry your stay wasn't as you had hoped. The two rooms you reserved are as close as we could have assigned them. We only have two of those room types in the motel. We also, strive to fix any issues that demand our attention and take care of them immediatley. No guest is given special treatment in the pool area. However, the weekend of your stay, we were booked full with soccer teams and the desk clerk just didn't see guests with food and drink in the pool area. This issue has been brought up to the Front Desk to watch for this in the future. Your room reservations were made in conjunction with an offer of a prepaid noncancellable policy. Therefore, when you leave early, as the rules state, there will be no refund.
Your feedback is important to us and once again please do accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My family and a freind stayed here for a week great people, pool and room. This was the best super 8 I have ever stayed in. Three floor open hallway to pool view. Clean rooms very freindly staff, quiet, and well maintained. We could not have been more happy on our vacation. It sits a little out of spearfish, but is easy to get around to all of things the area has to offer. The off season rates were also great. The breakfast was not the greatest, but it was off season. I did not get to see, but I was told the pool roof can open in the summer. I look forward to going back next year to see that. It was a fun place to go in my price range. Have fun without spending alot.

Room Tip: I did not stay in one so I do not know the rates, but the jucuzzi suites are huge and cool as hell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our Spearfish Super 8 and we strive to make each and every guests stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have stayed at this Super 8 many times over the years. It is always clean and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and accomadating. Good breakfast. Well worth the stop.

Room Tip: We really enjoy the hot tub room. Very spacious with large sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our Spearfish Super 8 and we strive to make each and every guests stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
4.0 km away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
134 reviews
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Property: Super 8 Spearfish
Address: 440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,109 - ₹ 8,874
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super Eight
Spearfish Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing