We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good Marriott property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I would have to say that this property was a little below the usual Marriott standards that we've come to expect. The wifi was difficult to connect to. The walls were little thin, making it pretty noisy at times. The staff seemed confused at times. I never got a correct bill when I checked out. Don't expect too much & you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get on the top floor to minimize the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thestanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJoan, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I apologize for the issues you encountered during your recent stay. I hope you will give us a try if you are in the area again.
GM Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We made our reservations several months ago and always request a king bed or two queens. We also checked in 5 hours before arrival on their app. Upon arrival we were told the only room available was one queen bed and much to our surprise when we got to our room it was a handicapped. When checking out we complained to the two reps at the front desk. The response was you should have specified a non handicapped room when making reservation on line. I asked how do you do that on line and the response was "I don't know"! There was no offer of any compensation. Would not stay there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank CarolH852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJoan, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear CarolH852, Without complete details of your stay, I can only say is that you must have booked a single queen as we do not change room types on any guest. If the only room available was a handicapped single then we must have been sold out that night as we have been for the past few weeks. I am sorry you were not happy with that room. We try to accommodate the requests of our guests to the best of our availability. We hope you will give us another try if you are in the area.
GM Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I stay in Marriott brands for work & all are usually very good / excellent. Not here. Little things make a big difference. Passing through on a western Nat'l Parks road trip, using Marriott points. The woman who checked us (name started with I) didn't seem to like her job. Came into the room for 2 people to find just one regular coffee pod & one decaf. I guess it's a coin toss who gets to caffeinate in the am. I called front desk & the same clerk said, "I have no idea what should be there since I don't work in housekeeping but I may have more if you want to come down to the desk." At the desk she almost threw one packet at me. Then and also checking in, a young male (teen?) sat on his computer next to her smiling sheepishly but never looking up. Also at check in she told us WiFi is automatic when the Marriott home page opens. It wasn't so called downstairs to hear 'Oh yea try typing yellow.com" -- voila. Would have been nice to know at check in. Little things make a big difference.

The room was average. Seeing hair in the shower was gross. Only two - but not ours so two too many. We won't stay here again. There are a other brands in town that looked nice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rocker_rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJoan, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I apologize for the issues you encountered during your recent stay. I have spoken with the front desk associate about her interactions with you and how she could have handled it more appropriately. I have also spoken with the housekeeping supervisor regarding the cleanliness issue you reported to insure that this is addressed with all of the housekeeping staff to insure it does not happen again.
GM Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

this was a nice hotel -- clean and comfy. staff was helpful. Even though major construction was ongoing on the street and interstate out front, . Hotel was accessible.

We appreciated the card for Luckys --great please to eat.!!
thanks

Room Tip: neighbors upstairs were a little noisy.. manageable....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Deborah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

The staff at this Fairfield is their shining glory, very friendly. They were anxious to make our stay pleasant. On the other hand, the sheets were scratchy and it definitely needs updating. Usual hotel breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMJoan, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you Elaine for your kind words regarding our staff. We are due for a renovation in the next year that will hopefully bring us back to the standards you have come to expect from Marriott. I will look into the issue with the sheets to make sure the fabric softener is working on our washing machine.
I hope you will stay with us if you are in the area again.
GM Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
329 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
156 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
13 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish

Address: 2720 1st Ave, Spearfish, SD 57783-3211
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: ₹ 5,250 - ₹ 10,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Fairfield Spearfish
Spearfish Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing