We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor problems really add up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Storm Lake, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Minor problems really add up”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I always hate when a review has only positive or negative comments so I am going to try to include both in this review.

Positives:
-Breakfast. This was probably the best complimentary breakfast that I have had at a hotel. We enjoyed it two mornings and along with the make your own waffles, oatmeal, and cereal there was also eggs and sausage one morning and French toast and bacon the next. I do have to say that I was a little disappointed with the staff that worked the kitchen since I thought one of them was very rude to an 8 year old that told her the basket you put your dirty dishes in was full. She responded "Well do you want to see my kitchen that is full too." I didn't feel that this amount of sarcasm was necessary to a little boy who was only trying to be helpful.

-I did like the location. It was close to downtown and right next to the river and walking trails. I will say though that the view of the river was lackluster and not worth paying extra for.

-The woman who checked us in was very nice, but she was the only one of the front desk staff that would say that about.

-Our room was clean and the maids left quite a few bottles of shampoo and conditioner which was nice instead of trying to make one tiny bottle last all weekend.

Negatives:
-The conference room - The River Front Room- we rented for the weekend (to have a room for all of our group to gather) was very small. We had 49 people in there one night and barely fit, and if some of them hadn't have been standing there wouldn't have been enough places for all of us to sit. I think that they exaggerated the size of this room when we reserved it since they told us it was used for wedding receptions. If it is, it is a very small wedding with no dancing. Like I said 50 people could not comfortably fit in this room.
Because we had so many people there was also quite a bit of trash since we had pizza one night. We did try to keep everything picked up by stacking up the pizza boxes and clearing off the tables and putting plates and cans into the trash, but in the morning we were told that they would appreciate us cleaning up after ourselves. Um, no, that's why we are paying you to use this room. I don't know if they expected us to vacuum it or what else they wanted us to do, but then what am I paying you for? A too small room, with a bad view and a ceiling that drips.
Because on the second night of use in this room we also had water leaking from the ceiling, not sure where it came from, but it was dripping.

-The water in the shower would not stay a constant temperature. It started off very cold, even though I had the hot turned all the way on, so I braced myself for a quick cold shower. After a few minutes it did warm up, but then a minute or so later became cold again. This happened throughout my shower from cold to warm (I would say it never came close to hot).

-The toilet clogged easily. I understand that this happens but a person should be able to use the bathroom in their hotel room without worrying about it clogging up and having to call the front desk after every time for them to come fix it. And after talking to some friends who were there with us they had this same problem and finally had them leave a plunger in the room. I know plungers are ugly, but if you are going to have small toilets, just put the plunger in there, it will save the staff time and the customer embarrassment.

-I was also disappointed in the customer service. At times it was great, like when we checked in, but then everyone else seemed rude and that our requests were taking them away from more important matters. And I feel that if a lot of these little things could be addressed (the toilet, the water temp...ect.) that there would not have been so many requests and the staff would not have felt so overextended/overworked.

-The pool. Where to start? The room was falling apart. Paint peeling, tile missing and falling off the walls and no ventilation. I was in there watching my daughter swim and could barely breathe. When I got back up to my room an hour later, my eyes were so red from the chlorine that I looked like I had been swimming. The only way I could stand being in there was to sit next to an open window so I would get some fresh air. I know that any indoor pool is going to be hot and smell like chlorine, but this was overpowering. The state of the paint and tile just shows how badly ventilated the room really is.

Overall I wasn't impressed with our stay and we won't be going there again. I understand that there were a lot of people (since our group alone had 50) staying in the hotel this weekend, but the staff knows ahead how full it will be. Maybe extra staff should have been brought in if this is more than they are used to (the kitchen didn't seem to be prepared if the worker was complaining to an 8 year old), or a lot of these trivial things could be addressed so there isn't a need to contact the front desk as much.

I also just want to give a warning to anyone planning on blocking rooms for a large group like we did. They seemed more than happy to have us stay there, but then made us feel very unwelcome. They assumed that we were 'the leader' of the group and then told us that we would be held responsible for anything that happened instead of holding each room accountable like normal. There were 15 rooms blocked for our group, I don't understand how they can make one room responsible for 15 when everyone reserved their own room. They even slid a copy of their code of conduct under each person’s door who had a room under our reserved/blocked rooms.

So if you are an individual person or family this might not be a bad place to stay, but as a group especially with children, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby K, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your detailed review regarding our property. With a new General Manager in place we are certain that the sort of problems you experienced won't happen again. We have gone over your comments in detail and are certain we have addressed all issues. Regarding the pool room, the dehumidifying system had gone out, our new system along with a complete renovation will be complete by the end of May. The guest rooms have all been completely redone as well. We hope that should you come back to Sioux Falls you will give us the opportunity to correct our wrongs and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    146
    44
    19
    10
See reviews for
159
109
24
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rockies
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

As a Club Carlson member who frequently travels throughout the midwest and to Sioux Falls 6-7 times a year, I thought I had found a great place to stay while in Sioux Falls and a nice alternative to the pricier Holiday Inn nearby. I was sadly mistaken.

On a recent stay, my family and I were exhausted and needing some sleep before embarking on a 14 hour drive the next day. Unfortunately, there was a youth basketball team staying in the hotel and their parents/coaches/chaperones let them run wild in the hotel until all hours of the night for two nights in a row. I understand that kids like to have fun, but they also need to be considerate of others especially late at night. The "adults" with them were drinking and didn't care, laughing off the complaints of several people. Numerous guests, including us, complained to the front desk. One guest switched rooms (downgraded from the suite he reserved) but still got no relief from the noise. Another guest left altogether. Police were called at least three times but the antics resumed as soon as they left.

We were told by the gal at the front desk that there was nothing she could do because "they are paying guests, too". She should have asked them to leave and the hotel should give their staff the authority to do so in situations like this. We have been in contact with the corporate office seeking a refund and were told they "would take care of this right away". We were promised a call back that afternoon, but it has been 6 days.

Don't stay here if you need sleep or if you want good customer service. There are plenty of other hotel chains that offer the same amenities in the same price range.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travlercrew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby K, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I deeply apologize for the experience you had at the hotel. It is always challenging when there are groups with children in the hotel as we try hard to make sure the group members are happy as well as the rest of the guests. It does not sound as if this balance was reached during your stay. We have a new general manger at the hotel now, our customer service scores are very high and am sure that what you experienced won't happen again. Please come and give us another try. We have taken your comments to heart and have improved our service based on them. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I enjoyed this hotel and really enjoy the ever improving downtown area of Sioux Falls. Great breakfast, adequate exercise room and the beds were comfortable. Even though I didn't take one they even give out free passes to the local YMCA if you want one which is a nice amenity.
I would definitely go back to this property again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavfan1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby K, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking your time to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed at this Country Inn and Suites and the front desk girl who checked me in was very sweet and accommodating. I am typically not a very need guest, but on this trip, I had forgotten everything. To top it off I had my wallet stolen. The bar/grill attached to the hotel allowed me to charge to my room. It made the night a bit better. Behind the hotel and restaurant is a nice patio overlooking water! I would definitely stay here again. Love the down comforters.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby K, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Glad we were able to help you have a good experience especially after having your wallet stolen. Also happy to hear it was good for you to be able to charge your meal to the room. We appreciate you letting us know. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Highly recommmend this hotel. Great location right on the river; only 2 blocks north of a vibrant downtown scene, and 4 blocks south of a wonderful park surrounding the famous 'Falls'. Everything about this hotel was a pleasant surprise. We had a 'suite' room with a livingroom and separate bedroom. Very nice for a 4 day stay. Internet worked well in the room (good enough to surf and stream a radio station at the same time). The Grill bar/cafe was surprisingly good. We had soup, salad, and sandwiches which were all well prepared. The biggest surprise was the breakfast. Though the hotel website said 'continental' breakfast, it was actually a full buffet. There was the ubiquitous waffel maker, very popular just the same, but they also had scrambled eggs, bacon, and potatoes. The cereal and bread bar had good bulk yogurt, fresh fruit, and granola as well as the usual cereals, and breads for the toaster. THe coffee was plenty good enough, not watery or acidic.
Staying here was quite a good value, all around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvTravelGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
2.0 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
4.7 km away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
4.3 km away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#13 of 53 in Sioux Falls
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Address: 200 E 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57103-7041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,111 - ₹ 12,681
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD conveniently located in the heart of downtown, near Falls Park and the business district. Your stay in Sioux Falls will be stress-free thanks to our helpful services, including a heated indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary high-speed Internet access, airport shuttle service via local taxi and an on-site restaurant. Situated in downtown Sioux Falls, our hotel's location makes it easy for guests to visit the Old Courthouse Museum, the Sioux Falls Arena and Convention Center, the Washington Pavilion of Arts & Science and the Great Plains Zoo. Reserve your room online today and discover all the great benefits of the Country Inn & Suites in Sioux Falls, SD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Country Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing