We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel was nice. The room keys we got were a pain to work. I don't think the magnetic strip was very good. We had a hard time opening the door to the hotel and to our room.
Room was clean and they accept pets for a fee. The hotel also had a laundry room WHICH you will need to get a special card to use.
There was a complimentary breakfast in the morning, which was busy, but had many options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pink46girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for staying at Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City. I am sorry to hear about the key card troubles that you were having. I have asked the maintenance department to look in to this and our general manager to follow up with them.

Thank you for taking the time review our hotel, offering your feedback and especially for your kind words.

We truly hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 356 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great location, staff was very nice and the room was very quiet. Great location central to everything we wanted to see. Breakfast was great, lots of variety. Reasonable rates. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for the great review. I know you gave us all "A's", but we never stop trying. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay in Rapid City a better one, please don't hesitate to ask. We are here to serve.

We hope to see you again.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Americas Best Value Inn in Rapid City offers all the amenities the traveller needs. The rooms are well equiped with TV and Wifi and are spacious. The hotel has laundry facilities and offers a simple breakfast. The staff at the reception desk was very helpful in planning my staying in Rapid City. A certain disadvantage is the location. You have to use your car to go to downtown. If you don't like to use your car at night there are two restaurants with bars in walking distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for staying at Americas Best Value Inn and for your kind words. I apologize that our front desk staff didn't let you know about the local bus route that stops a half a block away from the hotel that could have taken you downtown in just a few minutes. The cab companies are also fairly inexpensive, and we even have a deal worked out with our security company to offer local transportation in the evenings for just $5.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you will consider us again when you travel to the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I love this hotel. It's clean, the beds are very comfortable and the staff is really friendly.Plus it's very reasonably priced. They have smoking rooms and as a smoker I really appreciate that. They do it right and all the smoking rooms are segregated by fire doors that are kept closed alll the time so the smoke does not bother non-smokers.I stay there all the time on business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Joe and the Staff at Americas Best Value Inn were excellent. This is the second visit to the hotel! We have a big family and they went out of their way to make us all comfortable and be sure that we had everything that we needed! The Breakfast was great... saved a lot of money to eat there instead of eating out. Our first trip to Wall we originally were going to stay somehwere else, they made it clear that we had too many people (6 of us) and were not very friendly... They acually recommended us to try American's best Value... I am so thankful they did! We recommend it anytime someone is heading to the Hills!!! They are in the process of remodeling and it looks outstanding!!! Looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Tell them that Melissa recommended you stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
95 reviews
6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
615 reviews
1.8 km away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
1.7 km away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#29 of 48 in Rapid City
320 reviews
5.6 km away
My Place Hotel-Rapid City
My Place Hotel-Rapid City
#20 of 48 in Rapid City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0482
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: ₹ 3,717 - ₹ 9,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing