We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh, they could do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Came here for only one night on our way to badlands, which was a good thing because right from the start, down spiral. When we checked into our room with two beds, one bed had a banana and crumbs under the blanket. I had to call to housekeeping, they tried to reuse the same sheet so we had to ask for a new one.

The breakfast wasn't that better. No meat, just bread, cereal, waffles, etc. And place was so busy that transh can was full, table never got wiped, etc. We stayed over half dozen hotels on our Midwest travel, and I think this was probably near the bottom of all the hotels we stayed.

Room Tip: Check your sheet to make sure it's clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank inigmakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you had a good time in the Black Hills. Thank you for choosing Hojo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

The staff is what made this stay very enjoyable. Friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king bed suite w/ a Jacuzzi tub. The room was spacious and clean. Nice size pool and two hot tubs. Clean area again. Cleanliness is very important for me. My only negative would be to clean up the washer/dryer units and the area. I know may be hard to keep up w/ due to what people may wash, but I think needs more attention on a daily basis. Breakfast always good and we enjoyed the social time each evening! Awesome staff you have here HJ - (stay of June 12-17) A few name tags we did catch were: Jen/Dani/Proctor?-we did not get the names of all, too busy enjoying their service/conversations!
-The Roberts

Room Tip: Do not overlook this brand of hotel for it's price and amenities, a fantastic value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrearE2829ZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your week long stay with us. I have shared your review with our staff as they love to hear from happy travelers. I will take your comment about the laundry room under advisement. Thank you for choosing Hojo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice customer service upon check in. The room was clean and had plenty of room for four of us. The bathroom was nice and clean. I suggest going somewhere else for breakfast because it's not good here. This would be my only complaint. Great sleep though.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mbjcmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Hojo. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider us for future trips to Rapid City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank RandaS34
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 136margaretv
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BHillsGeneralManager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Rapid City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
6.3 km away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 49 in Rapid City
103 reviews
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Rapid City

Address: 950 North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: ₹ 2,979 - ₹ 96,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing