We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Water Slide, Clean, Good Rates” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Big Sky, MT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Water Slide, Clean, Good Rates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed with our family and dog in the Fall. We got a good rate compared to other hotels in the area, and our 9 year-old was very excited about the water slide. The staff was courteous and the room was basic but clean. Beds were not bad, but not the upper end pillow tops with down comforters that are becoming ubiquitous in mid scale hotels. TV was LCD flat screen.

A couple of minor maintenance issues came up. AC didn't work, though with the outside temperature the fan kept things sufficiently cool (we like to sleep cold). The exterior door's security lock had been removed with the wires hanging out. Hot tub was filled with soap like foam both nights. The timer on the water slide was not functioning.

The indoor pool and water slide were a hit with the kids. The place was pretty overrun, but that's what it's there for, right? The pool was much cooler the second night; I'm guessing that it got hit pretty hard all day Saturday and just couldn't keep up. The chemicals (bromine) were pretty heavy, but with such heavy usage, I don't know what the alternative would be.

The parking lot and hallways were pretty lively after midnight. We could clearly hear several groups of people coming back from the bars around 2:00. I'm not particularly squeamish about that sort of thing (that was me in the parking lot 20 years ago), but I found myself looking out the window a few times to make sure the car was still ok. My wife was approached twice by people looking for cash handouts while walking the dog late. It never felt threatening, just a little boisterous.

Breakfast, like the pool, was pretty overrun. Staff worked very hard to keep up but sometimes just fell behind in keeping things stocked. Items were the typical cold continental augmented by a waffle maker and biscuits and gravy that you see nowadays in hotels like this.

All in all, the hotel suited our needs. We felt we got what we paid for and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Away from the pool, away from an entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docbigsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate hearing your comments.
I do want to apologize for some of the issues that you encountered during your stay. Our staff does a great job taking care of things. As you stated, when some areas are really busy, it is hard to manage, but from the sounds of you review, we still got it done for you.
Thank you again for your kind words and shared comments. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Rapid City

Thank you,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    119
    70
    61
    72
See reviews for
264
148
26
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights our travelling companions were in the next room. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, computer access was fine and there was plenty of stuff for breakfast. My wife and I had been to Rapid City 3 years ago and stayed in the Hampton Inn next door, we decided to take a chance on AmericInn because it was considerably cheaper and we were not disappointed it was eveery bit as good as the Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for coming to TripAdvisor and writing a review. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff loves to hear comments like yours.
I must say that the hotel next door that you mentioned is very nice. Ours is just as nice, if not better and you get the room for about 1/3 of the price. It is a true compiment for you to say we are every bit as good as them.
We look forward to seeing you the next time that your travels bring you to Rapid City.

Thank you,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were so helpful and took such good care of us and our room. We couldn't have been treated any better. The breakfast was excellent, the selection was very good. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and others. We would definitely stay at the Americinn the next time we travel, if there is one in the location where we are visiting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal Valley, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have made this our home away from home for over 4 years now. We are usually there at least 3 times ayear , while visiting our son and grandsons. The staff has always been fantastic, tho we are SO saddened that mgr ( Sheila) has been transfered. She is the most hands on/ visitor connected mgr we have ever encountered in our over 40 years of travels. The front desk people have never been anything but friendly, helpful and most accomondating! Then there is the other staff------Mary, Virgil and Patty-----so wish I could remember more names ! Have never had such family feelings and welcome like we get from them all ( houskeeping, breakfast center and maintance people) We truly mean it when we walk in the door and say "We're home" thank you to all !! , Your Illinois family -- Jim and Jorja

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAHA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We enjoy visiting the Black Hills every Spring and Fall, and always stay at this motel because of the very reasonalbe off-season prices, and it is always clean and quiet. We venture out in all directions, and it is always a good feeling to return after a full day of driving and sight seeing. The Continental breakfast is better than most, and I especially like the sausage gravy on toast. We are planning another visit soon and have already made reservations to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Windy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericInnGenMgr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate hearing your comments.
Again, yet another rave review about our breakfast. Our breakfast delection is amzing and Pat make sure all guests are taken care of.
One thing our hotel does different than most other hotels is our business model of supply and demand. If we have several rooms to sell during the off peak season, our rates are a great amount less than during peak season. Most hotels keep the same price year round. If you are coming to the Black Hills when some of the attractions are closed- why should you pay the same as when everything is open.
Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Rapid City.

Thanks,
Randy E. Dee
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.2 km away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
4.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Address: 1632 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,550 - ₹ 14,542
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. While staying at the AmericInn Rapid City hotel, make time to explore the area, including a visit to the incredible Mount Rushmore, the equally inspiring Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State park, South Dakota casinos and the stunning Black Hills National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Rapid City
Americinn Lodge & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing