We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Train Scared the Crap Out of Me !”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Reviewed 12 January 2017

My Wife says it is the fastest I've ever moved ? When the 3.21 a.m. thundered past , horn a blaring, I thought that Armageddon had arrived ? Really unsettling from an otherwise great nights sleep. Really friendly & helpful check-in & later staff, a real credit to the Lodge ! A budget stay ($70) and good tips for dinner & the breakfast was fine (Grits Again, I'm Lovin' It !). A good find in Pierre (pronounced PEAR ) but fair dinkum' the Train line was 20 feet from our room and it was unbelievable but memorable as well, didn't spoil a good stay !

Room Tip: Quiet bar the 3.21 a.m. !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016

We chose the Econolodge because we just needed a place to sleep and the price was good.
Check-in was quick and friendly. Although it is an older property, it is obvious that they have completed updates. The carpet in our room looked new. The tile in the bathroom is an updated style. The caulk around the tub was sparkling.
The bed was very comfortable with great pillows. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room.
Be aware that there is no pool or hot tub.
Also included was a nice continental breakfast.
I was concerned when I saw the train go by our window in the afternoon but it was the only one during our stay. If there were trains in the night, it could be a problem.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This hotel offers a nice, no frills facility for the short stay traveller as a springboard to The Badlands & Mount Rushmore. Our room for a single night was very pleasing being very clean & well presented. Two generous sized beds, fridge, microwave & free WiFi. A free continental breakfast was included which was pretty disappointing, with no meats or fruit. There are trains passing by early morning. Overall I'd say this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charvelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We were surprised to discover a train with a VERY loud whistle runs right behind the hotel. The bathroom was clean and decent looking but the carpeting was stained, the drapes did not close properly as several hook holders were broken, the internet is really poor and the router had to be rebooted twice in the evening. There are adequate outlets but only if you are willing to plug in everything at the desk. The room included a small circular table which wobbled and the top spun as it was not properly attached. It was nice, however, to have 2 extra chairs for the table. The microwave and refrigerator were in working order. There appears to be only 1 luggage cart for the entire building and we had to track it down. There are some strange odors both in the room and in the hallway. We will chose elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JTeamTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This hotel exceeded my expectations, which admittedly were low. I didn't want to spend the money for a hotel near Mt. Rushmore (we were on our way there but it is 3 hrs from here) so we got a great deal on this place from an online booking site. The outside of the hotel and the lobby are definitely shady looking. But the room itself was fine - clean and comfortable. There was even a frig and microwave. Breakfast was minimal at best but we expected that. So, overall, this wasn't a bad place to stay. For a good price, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ahagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre
0.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pierre
0.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Pierre
106 reviews
1.9 km away
My Place Hotel - Fort Pierre, SD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Days Inn Pierre
Days Inn Pierre
#1 of 10 in Pierre
436 reviews
1.2 km away
Ramkota Hotel
Ramkota Hotel
#4 of 10 in Pierre
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 110 E Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501-3196 (Formerly Kings Inn Hotel & Conference Center)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pierre
Price Range: ₹ 2,722 - ₹ 4,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED IN 2012! All new furniture, lamps, bedding, bathtubs, bath fixtures and flat screen TV's. Three story, interior room hotel with 2 elevators and 9,000 sq. ft. of meeting/banquet space. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons/ironing boards and free high speed Internet access. Complimentary Deluxe continental breakfast offers daily hot items. Located 3 blocks from the Missouri River and 1.5 blocks from the state Capitol. Clean, comfortable and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Inn Hotel Pierre
Kings Inn Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing