We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
4
9
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
9
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older propertyhard boiled eggswafflesnice roommicrowavetvtowels
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We chose the Econolodge because we just needed a place to sleep and the price was good.
Check-in was quick and friendly. Although it is an older property, it is obvious that they have completed updates. The carpet in our room looked new. The tile in the bathroom is an updated style. The caulk around the tub was sparkling.
The bed was very comfortable with great pillows. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room.
Be aware that there is no pool or hot tub.
Also included was a nice continental breakfast.
I was concerned when I saw the train go by our window in the afternoon but it was the only one during our stay. If there were trains in the night, it could be a problem.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIVESD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This hotel offers a nice, no frills facility for the short stay traveller as a springboard to The Badlands & Mount Rushmore. Our room for a single night was very pleasing being very clean & well presented. Two generous sized beds, fridge, microwave & free WiFi. A free continental breakfast was included which was pretty disappointing, with no meats or fruit. There are trains passing by early morning. Overall I'd say this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charvelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We were surprised to discover a train with a VERY loud whistle runs right behind the hotel. The bathroom was clean and decent looking but the carpeting was stained, the drapes did not close properly as several hook holders were broken, the internet is really poor and the router had to be rebooted twice in the evening. There are adequate outlets but only if you are willing to plug in everything at the desk. The room included a small circular table which wobbled and the top spun as it was not properly attached. It was nice, however, to have 2 extra chairs for the table. The microwave and refrigerator were in working order. There appears to be only 1 luggage cart for the entire building and we had to track it down. There are some strange odors both in the room and in the hallway. We will chose elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JTeamTravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This hotel exceeded my expectations, which admittedly were low. I didn't want to spend the money for a hotel near Mt. Rushmore (we were on our way there but it is 3 hrs from here) so we got a great deal on this place from an online booking site. The outside of the hotel and the lobby are definitely shady looking. But the room itself was fine - clean and comfortable. There was even a frig and microwave. Breakfast was minimal at best but we expected that. So, overall, this wasn't a bad place to stay. For a good price, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ahagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Spent probably 6-7 hours sleeping here. Really great price especially last minute. I liked the breakfast however the room was freezing when we got in it and we found the AC blasting inside. I found it odd that our door had enough space around it to spill a considerable amount of fluorescent hallway light into our room. We had to shove a blanket over the door to get some sleep.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bailey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews