We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded getaway in beautiful setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Our historic log cabin was built by the CCCs in 1930s and moved to our property in Vanocker Canyon.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our historic log cabin was built by the CCCs in 1930s and moved to our property in Vanocker Canyon.
Spacious Living Room has open beam ceiling as well as a Queen Sofa Bed and Electric Log Fireplace. Kitchen is supplied with all cookware as well as coffeemaker, toaster, microwave & full-size fridge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Our historic log cabin was built by the CCCs in 1930s and moved to our property in Vanocker Canyon.
Spacious Living Room has open beam ceiling as well as a Queen Sofa Bed and Electric Log Fireplace.
Kitchen is supplied with all cookware as well as coffeemaker, toaster, microwave & full-size fridge.
Comfortable seating for 4-5 people in kitchen or there is also an outside picnic table and gas grill
New pillow-top Queen Bed in Bedroom, Dresser and Closet
Shower over full-size Bathtub and Well-lit Mirror
Stairway to the left leads to Loft area with 2 twin beds--children love the loft!
Arctic Cat chose our property for filming in this area in 2010
Children have plenty of room to play outside at our log cabin.
Our Log Cabin sits on 5 Private Acres with no other structures around--and not within a development.
Large Paved Driveway with private entrance, metal gate and fully fenced
Nearby Dalton Lake is stocked with Rainbow Trout every Spring and is a peaceful spot to go fishing.
Our property is bordered on two sides by Forest Service land for plenty of privacy.
Wolfgang has built many hiking trails in the Black Hills--he's at the '76 Trail in Spearfish Canyon.
A small creek meanders through the east end of the 15 acres where we live in Vanocker Canyon.
Charming One-Half Story Loft (4' high) is perfect for children--adults enjoy it as well.
Little Elk Canyon near Dalton Lake is a wonderful spot for a short hike.
Two new fishing piers at Dalton Lake nearby.  Lake is stocked with trout every spring.
Scenic, fully paved Vanocker Canyon is one of the most beautiful drives in the Black Hills.
Living room now has new flat-screen TV with many family channels on the satellite.
Spectacular Vanocker Canyon
Right before the Fall colors after the days of summer.
Wild turkeys roam frequently thru our 15-acre property.
Another view of living room in the cabin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Nemo, South Dakota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David J
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secluded getaway in beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We never met the owners, but everything easily met our expectations. We had never been to the Black Hills, and this location was quite central to most everything you would wish to see, yet very quiet and had the feel of seclusion. Very clean and rustic. We would consider the Cottage next, as it had a second bedroom versus the loft, but all worked out fine. The WIFI was suspect at best, very spotty, and there is no cellular availability there, but the lack of cellular was appealing. The only reason WIFI mattered, is we had some business to attend to, and the available WIFI made it challenging. Overall we loved the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The rustic cabin feel and secluded location.
Liked least: The wifi
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
No complaints all summer about the Wi-Fi...everyone said it worked fine for checking their e-mails and light web surfing. If you need to do office work with spreadsheets, downloading heavy data, etc., or have several family members on it at once, it will be overloaded. Otherwise, it is fine and we are lucky to have it. Cell phone coverage is up the road at the top of the hill. Due to the terrain in the Black Hills, there are many places without cell phone coverage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guido S
Nebraska
1 review
“Fantastic little cabin and great base for Black Hills adventures”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Within an hour of Black Hills sights and attractions, this centrally located historic cabin is prefect for family get aways. We saw Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood, Hill City 1800 locomotive, Bear Country, and spent a day boating on Pactola Resivoir... All quick trips. There is one bedroom that sleeps two and the loft sleeps two more... Great for older kids. The pull out sofas are great for smaller kids and the quaint kitchen has everything you need. Deer and wild turkey roamed through our yard at dawn and dusk... And we were within ten minutes of a trout stocked pond for fishing. Kathleen and Wolfgang are fantastic hosts and have the cabin meticulously set up to make things convenient. Recommend this great little cabin to anyone, especially families, looking for a memorable BlackHills vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint, private, and well maintained historic cabin.
Liked least: No campfires... Not anyone's fault... National forest rule.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J
Lowell, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Wild West Adventure”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family rented this absolutely adorable cabin for almost a week. Our daughter (14) slept in the loft and truly loved it. Very clean and sooooo cute, I didn't want to leave. You could not ask for anything better. Wolfgang and Kathleen have thought of everything (lines, towels, paper towels, garbage bags, coffee filters etc.) and little notes to help you along=). We really wished we had planned to stay longer, maybe next time. We were excited to see turkeys and their babies roaming through. The location of the cabin was centered to everywhere we wanted to go. We did check out the Wonderland Caves, they were awesome. Without a doubt we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Hope to return someday. South Dakota is one of the most beautiful places we've been. Enjoy!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P8459TUli...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little Elk Cabin - Perfect Get-Away”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Little Elk Cabin was the perfect get-away. It is nestled in the Black Hills and comes completely furnished, with a fully stocked kitchen and bath, and you only need to bring your groceries. The owners gave us good directions on how to find the cabin, and met us on arrival. It was clean and the cabin and yard were well maintained. The cabin sits next to a meadow where deer and wild turkeys were seen. No A&T cell service was available and no internet. I would definitely recommend this cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nita W
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect little cabin in the woods”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

So glad we picked this cabin. Kathleen and Wolfgang came over to meet us, then gave us total privacy for our whole stay. They truly thought of everything in this cabin. The property
This so beautiful, and it smells so amazing! clean air and fresh pine) the bed was very comfortable, the cabin came equipped with everything we needed. The location was right between everywhere we wanted to go both North and South. If we go back to the hills again some day we will want to rent this beautiful cabin again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property and the log cabin
Liked least: nothing, thought it was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing