We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay for a Black Hills area visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for a Black Hills area visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Four years ago we were in Hill City for three nights and we stayed at the Comfort Inn. It was very nice but we like to try different hotels. This time we decided to stay at the HIE because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor. It was great. It is easy to find and convenient to anywhere you want to go in the Black Hills area. The front-desk staff was friendly. Our room was clean and good-sized. Overall the hotel was quiet. The pool and whirlpool area were clean. The breakfast selection was good and the dining area was clean. We very much enjoyed our three night stay here and we would highly recommend this hotel to others. One quick tip: The road next to the hotel will take you on a very scenic drive to Keystone. The road crosses back and forth over the railroad tracks used by the 1880's train. You can see most of the same scenery without the high cost of a train ticket!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Madison_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
It is so nice to see so many positive things that you enjoyed about the Black Hills and the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinion. The Old Hill City Road is a very nice and scenic route to Keystone, very helpful information for future travelers. I look forward to your continued business with Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    132
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
156
123
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel was very clean and well-kept and as others have said it is adjacent to the 1880 Train that runs between Keystone and Hill City. The hotel is also an easy walk from downtown Hill City and is reasonably close to all the action of the central and southern Black Hills.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinkDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed for two nights at this hotel, and were very pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful with great recommendations about where we could eat and what to see while there. We had a two-room suite, which was great, very large. Breakfast, the usual for a HIExpress, included precooked omelets, and sausage gravy and biscuits....not allowed for me, but then I'm on a strict diet. Nice place to stay, I would choose it again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dori36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your review. I will let the staff know how happy you were during your stay. Customer service is of great importance and I am happy that you were pleased with your Suite and your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great place to stay with family with close proximity to Mount Rushmore, Custer State Bank, Crazy Horse and all Black Hills attractions. Walk to shopping and dining and even the train to Keystone. Room was clean and comfortable and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 738Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We do strive to serve all of our guests and make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are in the Heart of the Hills and are very close to all major attractions, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your continued business. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is clean and comfortable, and typical of what to expect when staying at a Holiday Inn Express. There are no bells and whistles, but it provides a great home base from which to explore the beautiful Black Hills. The location is centrally located in the Hills and easy to get to Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, Mt. Rushmore, etc.

Breakfast consists of the traditional Holiday Inn Express cinnamon rolls, in addition to a spread of hard-boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, toast, English muffins, pastries, coffee, tea, and a variety of fruit juices. By the way, the complimentary shampoo also had a scent of cinnamon. I don’t know if this is a psychological trick to keep you thinking about the cinnamon rolls for breakfast or what, but my husband loved it.

Other reviewers have noted complaints about noise, but we did not have that problem. When staying at a hotel that encourages families with children, especially in a tourist town, it is always wise to adjust expectations accordingly.

I would stay here again, although we have found better rates at the Comfort Inn down the street.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiehillcity, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you know what to expect when staying at a Holiday Inn Express. We aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.7 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
4.4 km away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.7 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Address: 12444 Old Hill City Rd, PO Box 555, Hill City, SD 57745-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hill City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,490 - ₹ 15,098
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Hill City, SD is centrally located in the heart of the Black Hills, just minutes from Mt. Rushmore and the region's finest family-approved attractions and the Mickelson Trail. The hotel is adjacent to the historic 1880 Train depot and within walking distance of the central business district of historic Hill City with its' quaint shops, outstanding art galleries, great dining and entertainment, and the Black Hills Institute. Hotel features include complimentary breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, and breads/pastries. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon rolls. Visit Hill City, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Hill City
Holiday Inn Express Hill City
Holiday Inn Hill City
Hill City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing