We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family rock climbing”

Sylvan Rocks Climbing School
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 95.40*
and up
Discover Rock Climbing Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Don't let you Black Hills vacation be boring. Go rock climbing with us! Adventures for ages 5+(with a participating adult). No experience needed. All rock climbing gear is supplied. Join us at Custer State Park, South Dakota. Call for a reservation and we will meet you at Sylvan Lake for your guided rock climbing tour. Locations at Mount Rushmore and Devils Tower, WY for more experienced climbers. Please reserve as far in advance as possible so that we can best plan to serve you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“great family rock climbing”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A great family rock climbing trip last week with my wife and two tween kids. Chris was an awesome and safe guide and chose just the right challenge so that everyone could reach the summit. Highly recommended

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToddR546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona City, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

These guys know their stuff when it comes to technical rock climbing! Our instructor Chase did a great job with instructing while at the same time maximized safety. It had been several years since I had done any technical climbing and I was very impressed with the instructors ability to communicate the important techniques and procedures to insure a safe climb. My nephew was a little apprehensive at the beginning, but the instructor helped him personally, and within minutes he was scaling a 60ft face. All equipment is in excellent condition and the training rock we were on was perfect yet challenging. Great job Sylvan, we will both be back soon for a much higher rock face. You guys rock!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hermf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
“Great Beginner Rock Climbing Class”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My friend and I took this class last Saturday in the Black Hills and really enjoyed re-learning some things we had forgotten and learning some new things as well. It really invigorated us to start sport climbing again and very well may take the more advanced class again. Chase, our instructor, was a great guide to Rock Climbing and was very attentive while keeping it relaxing the whole time. Thanks Again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sdwsdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“one of the greatest experiences ever!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked a 6 hour private climbing lesson for myself, husband and 13 year old son. we had no climbing experience, but Chris our guide was EXCELLENT. he made us feel safe and comfortable. we spent the morning doing some fun climbs getting used to the rock, the equipment and learning to belay. by the afternoon, we were ready to tackle 'Old Peoples Dome'. Absolutely amazing!

Tips:

- BOOK the 6 hour private session if you want to get a great climbing experience. it was worth every penny.
- this was a strenuous activity. you are going to need to be in half decent shape to attempt this. you are working your whole body.
- go to the bathroom before you head out - once you've hiked out, ain't no place to go ;)
- bring lots of food and water - you can wear a little pack out.
- leave the SLR camera in the car - you can't climb with it. bring a point and shoot, that you can take up.
- no need to purchase gear, they supply everything right down to the climbing shoes.
- tip you're guide, they are worth every penny.

it was one of the most amazing things I have ever done. Signing the summit registry @ the top of the rock was a highlight for my son.

I highly recommend this!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jlvb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sylvan Rocks really do ROCK”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our family (myself, wife, 7 yr. old boy) just returned from our first visit to the Black Hills. The list of possible activities there is huge but a climbing class with Sylvan Rocks better be at the top of the list. We had no climbing experience and these guys taught us all the basics in a very fun and exciting way. By the end of the class we had learned and been accordingly challenged. We especially appreciated Chris spending time with our son.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidF2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sylvan Rocks Climbing School also viewed

 

Been to Sylvan Rocks Climbing School? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing