We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

It's a great place with lots to do! The Lodge itself is okay. It's nothing fancy but the grounds are beautiful and there is something for all ages. The pancake breakfast is a must and also the chuckwagon dinner excursion.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Margo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

Nice place to stay, rooms were clean, and central location for visiting black hills.

Wifi was spotty.

We stayed in the lodge for seven nights. Housekeeping came daily but they never provided additional shampoo or soap throne stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 257LisaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The lodge at Palmer Gulch was better than I expected with some of the reviews I had read. Our room was clean, beds were VERY comfortable and we had no problems with services. The continental breakfast was exactly that- nothing fancy but had something that everyone in our family would eat. Staying at the KOA was a huge perk- afternoon and evening activities and a fun place to just hang out!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

More of a nice motel than a resort. In amongst a very large KOA facility. The resort desk staff were not very attentive to the guest. Just about all inquiries that I made aabout the are they referred me down the hill to the KOA Campground office. As many others has stated, the pizza & ice cream shop were the best. Enjoyed the onsite coffe & wine shop, they had a nice out door area with several nice gas fire pits to sit around in the late afternoons. I really enjoyed getting to ride the horses w/my grand daughter. Speaking of horses, the corals were right next to and upwind of the swimming pool which left some strong odors for the guest at the pool. All in all we really enjoyed our stay, it really beat the heck of staying in a city motel. By the way, if you are up that way, definitely visit the Crazy Horse Memorial!

Room Tip: We had a balcony room overlooking the adjacent KOA Campground. in my opinion, much better than overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Smokey401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

This is an old hotel in a kao campground. The internet does not work and the rooms are dirty. The ads and photos really don't represent the place. Other than location I can think of another reason to rate it higher.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
9.2 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
9.1 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
9.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.3 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
10.6 km away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: ₹ 6,760 - ₹ 21,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing