We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent a three day family get-together. (Three families - three rooms) over a weekend. The lodge is part of a KOA campground complex - those in the lodge enjoyed the same amenities as those in the campground - pools, water playground, entertainment programs.

Rooms are clean, well-maintained and nicely taken care of. Staff is friendly and accomodating.

The lodge provides what has become a standard breakfast - fruit, cereals, breads, beverages. Staff are on top of keeping the breakfast area well supplied, and clean.

Location is convenient to the vacation attractions in the Black Hills, and the Lodge provides a pleasant "home" to return to after a day's sightseeing and/or hiking. Rooms are cleaned efficiently enough that a mid-afternoon return for a rest in a clean room is possible and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if possible - a little more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parkjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    55
    41
    26
    15
See reviews for
109
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here before and booked during the Rally and the price was reasonable. The rooms are very clean, staff is very pleasant. This location is in the heart of the hills and a good central spot to vacation at. ATV rides, horseback riding, a decent "cafe" all and more right on site.

Room Tip: North rooms on 3rd floor have balconies as well as the end rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snake247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olean, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

When looking for a place in the center of things in the Black Hills of South Dakota, look no further than Palmer Gulch KOA. My wife (not a camper) and myself (camper) both enjoyed the upscale camping environment without the need to drag (and pay) for a camper. We stayed in the Lodge that had everything you would want complete with in-room fridge, private balcony, morning breakfast, two swimming pools, pub, wine tasting, and morning pancake breakfast with the campers. The location is central to Mount Rushmore (5 min. away), Sturgis (30 min. away), Deadwood, and also rapid city. Custer State park is also just down the road and a great place to see nature and have a picnic. It is also an easy day's drive to Cody, WY. or Red Lodge if you are looking to visit Yellowstone Park.

We recommend the evening lighting ceremony at Mt. Rushmore and take the shuttle bus to save on the parking fees. Also make sure to have breakfast under the pancake tent to get that little feel of camping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My family and I stayed at the Lodge and made use of the kid's activities. While the kids had a blast, we did not enjoy our rooms. They were dated and musty. They really need to make use of the slow season and do some renovations! The screen door to the balcony was torn letting bugs in, the bathroom was by far the worse I had seen in a long time. There was mold and water stains all over the ceiling of the shower and the bathtub did not look like it had seen a good scrubbing for a while. There were cracks in the toilet seat and rust looking stains on the sink vanity. The pullout couch that my daughter stayed on had holes in the cushions and the mattress was worn. The room may have been cleaned, but you just didn't get that feeling walking in. On the plus side, the property has so many things to do (horseback riding, Fiddlesticks park for kids, waterslide) that I wouldn't rule out staying here again .... but only if I am camping and not staying in the Lodge. Also, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, it's just a shame about the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hill City hotels

Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We rented a 3 BR executive cabin at Palmer Gulch Resort. Pricey but our 3 adult children and their families could all stay in same cabin with us. Because of large yard, fire pit and large deck, our cabin was the place our family group gathered. One night I cooked for 44 family members all staying at the resort. The kitchen wasn't as equipped as it should have been but we made do. I also disliked not having fresh towel service because with so many extended family visitors, including other people's kids bathing in our cabin, we ran out of towels. I drove to the Lodge and complained and they gave me add'l towels on the spot. They should have for the price we paid. The activities provided for kids are great. The adults in our group loved the furnished wood for the fire pit and we had s'mores every night. The restaurant food was good. We were too busy with our family group to use much of the facility but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and being with our family group.

Room Tip: executive cabin can hold a lot of people comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindak1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
5.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.3 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
9.2 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Property: Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,163 - ₹ 43,921
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing