We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Cabin at Palmer Gulch was nicer than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Minneapolis MN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Executive Cabin at Palmer Gulch was nicer than I expected”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We rented a 3 BR executive cabin at Palmer Gulch Resort. Pricey but our 3 adult children and their families could all stay in same cabin with us. Because of large yard, fire pit and large deck, our cabin was the place our family group gathered. One night I cooked for 44 family members all staying at the resort. The kitchen wasn't as equipped as it should have been but we made do. I also disliked not having fresh towel service because with so many extended family visitors, including other people's kids bathing in our cabin, we ran out of towels. I drove to the Lodge and complained and they gave me add'l towels on the spot. They should have for the price we paid. The activities provided for kids are great. The adults in our group loved the furnished wood for the fire pit and we had s'mores every night. The restaurant food was good. We were too busy with our family group to use much of the facility but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and being with our family group.

Room Tip: executive cabin can hold a lot of people comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindak1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    59
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
115
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Lodge at Palmer Gulch is part of the Palmer Gulch KOA, which includes RV sites, camping sites, and cabins. Our family reunion was held here. My husband and I stayed at the lodge, which was OK. We had a room with a small balcony, which was pleasant. There is a continental breakfast, made up of bagels, juice and cereal that is complimentary for those staying at the Lodge. Overall, the Lodge experience is adequate---nothing fancy---at $165 a night. The Ponderosa Restaurant breakfast was somewhat greasy (deep-fried hash browns), and we didn't try it for any other meals. Other members of the family stayed in the cabins. If you are there in the summer, make sure you get a cabin with air conditioning. It is my understanding that some of them don't have A/C, and that would be horrible. There is a lot to do if you are a family. There is a swimming pool, a place for tubing, rentals for golf carts ($40 a day) and ATVs ($400 a day), horse-back riding, etc. There is a great view of Harney Peak from the campground and it is relatively close to Mount Rushmore. This place can get pretty jammed, and you definitely will not feel like you are out in the wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We are getting ready to check out today and we are going to miss this place and the area. The lodge is clean, friendly, and has plenty for the kids to do. No, this is not the Ritz, or the Four Seasons, but for a no frills great place this is it! We had the two double premier room which gave us plenty of space for my family. Two adults and two kids. We were hardly here so it didnt matter to us how large the room was, but it is still big enough to relax and unwind in. The lodge sits above the camping area and camping cabins. We drove through the camping area and people were having a great time! Campfires, kids on bikes, ATV's, corn hole being played, just an all around great time being had by all. This KOA also has a restaurant, pub, and little shops for pizza, wings, espressos, fudge, etc. We ate at the Ponderosa one night and I ordered it to go....it was quite good and while I was waiting I sat outside on the patio and enjoyed Fat Tire bottled beer for $2.75!!!! It was Fat Tire Friday.....unbelievable price for that type of beer. I believe they have a daily happy hour as well. They have two pools, water park, horse back riding....they have it all.

The location couldn't be better. 10 min. to Rushmore and 15 to Keystone. 5 min to Hill City (go to Alpine Inn for $8.95 filet mignon) and close to Custer State Park to the south and Rapid City to the north.

We loved it here and hope to return in the future! Thank you Palmer Gulch!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The Lodge is part of a large campground complex, but it is hardly roughing it. The rooms are nice and quite clean although not luxurious. The staff are very friendly and helpful, really the best part of the experience. There are number of things to do at the campground including pools, a small waterslide and hot tubs, which are nice, but not always perfectly clean. Actually the outside hot tub had a distinct green tint to it. The restaurant is a bit pricey and the service is better than the food which is just average. Try the pancake tent for breakfast which is fun and good. The location is excellent, mere minutes from Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Hill City, Keystone and Custer State Park. One note, some of our family had to spend one night in the row cabins and they were less than impressive. Stick with the Lodge.

Room Tip: Avoid the row cabins, stay in the Lodge. The larger rooms with balconies are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colobrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This place is a zoo. Seems like there are 500+ sites and they are all packed pretty close together. Your best bet is to try to get a place in the “woods” (west?) area as opposed to the flat parking lot areas where most of the big RV rigs are located. The woods can accommodate smaller RVs, tent trailers, tents, and have a fair number of Kamper Kabins. There is also a secluded area on the far (east?) side of the small creek that provides more remote sites, but which is still accessible to all the perks. We had the small Kamper Kabin, which is really too small for a family of four and their gear. There are larger two-room Kamper Kabins that would have been better for 4+ people, but we changed from a tent to a Kabin at the last minute when we saw the forecast called for thunderstorms. There was a major storm event while we were there (marble sized hail, 4 inches of rain) and the Kabin held up but many people’s tents did not.

This is a very popular place for families and family reunions. Many “free” things for the kids to do (pools, jumping pillow, miniature golf, splash pad, small water slide, giant chess/checkers board, horseshoes). The Ponderosa restaurant is on site, and has excellent food at reasonable prices, and it wasn’t that heavily used since I think most people eat in their RVs. The All you can eat pancakes tent for $2.50 is a good deal. Very nice staff.

If you are an RVer and a social person, go here. If you are a tenter, or prefer peace and quiet, I think you would have a much nicer time at one of the Forest Service or Custer State Park campgrounds. Sites are bigger and much more private at those locations, and about a third of the cost.

Room Tip: Best sites are along the small stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auroraclubjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
5.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
4.3 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
4.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
93 reviews
9.2 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Property: Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,460 - ₹ 45,205
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing