We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 167
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
US$ 154
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whispering Winds Cottages(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harney Peak Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Restmore Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
US$ 169
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Inn(Hill City)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
41
66
49
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
66
49
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalmer gulchexecutive cabinmini golfi can't think of a betterhost hotelblack hillspancake breakfastchuckwagon dinnergift storeall you can eatfun placethe ice cream shopmain restaurantfamily reunionspotty wifia couple timeswine shop
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The location/scenery is wonderful. If you have children, the activities are a great bonus. However, for the price ($150) per night, the rooms could use some attention. Staff was very friendly. We ate at the Ponderosa Restaurant located next door. Food was good, but overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shylahleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Arrived at Palmer Gulch with high expectations.
Had been told that our cabin was updated and very clean.
Not correct information.
Floor tiles were uprooting and very dirty.
They said it was a fully equipped kitchen with dishes, etc. It was not. Part of our vacation budget included my cooking dinners and breakfasts in the cabin. It was not possible based on the lack of cooking/eating utensils.
We made the most out of it; but, we will not go back unless it is to one of the newer cabins.
The fun was in all of the stuff they had to offer. The pool was very clean. They had a jumping pillow which was a lot of fun, mini golf- ok - splash park and playground, giant checkers/chess and horseshoes.
The Hill City Slickers performed 3 nights a week and they were a lot of fun.
The general store was very high priced; however, it was not close to any grocery store.
Mount Rushmore was about 15 minutes up the mountain from Palmer Gulch.
Overall, I'd go back if I could be assured that I have a new cabin.

Room Tip: Get a brand new cabin only.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunonaBudget2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at the lodge and were very pleased with the decor, cleanliness and amount of activities. We spent the extra money for a suite and it saved in the long run being able to fix sandwiches, etc. The breakfast was basic but good. Our only complaint is that the suite had a king bed and a pull out sofa that turned into a queen. The pullout was awful. My kids wanted to sleep on the floor instead. I would think for a suite the bed would be a bit more comfortable.

The view from the balcony was beautiful and it was a quiet place and looked much nicer than alot of the other places we drove past.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessl331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Lodge rooms have been updated with new bedding and woodsy decor. Our room was better than the picture on their web site. Lodge sits off the highway and away from the camp grounds. Lots of activities for the kids..close to Mt Rushmore..Pool closest to the lodge was closed to kids after 8 pm. There is a 6.00 "resort" fee per room per day whether you use the facilities or not. If you use them...6.00 is cheap. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We just returned from 6 days/5 nights at the Palmer Gulch Lodge. The resort/KOA campground offered many activities for our 7 and 8 year old. We loved the location of the resort which was just a short distance to many local attractions such as Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. We were unfortunately very disappointed in the row cabin that we stayed in. We booked this vacation within the last month and felt very fortunate that they had availability for the dates we needed. Well now we know why- the row cabins were disgusting!! For $189.47 a night we were so disappointed. We attempted moving to a different cabin but the resort could not accomadate us, so we just put on a happy face for our kids during our stay. When we arrived in our row cabin my daughter pointed out very quickly the hole in the bathroom floor. She was quite concerned during the stay of her foot falling thru the floor as it not only had a hole but a very large soft spot as well. As we were settling in our row cabin, our son pointed out all the cheetos left on the floor from prior guests! They definately did not vacuum!! The first morning of our stay we had absolutely NO hot water for showers. We called the front desk to make them aware of the situation and I do have to say that they responded very quickly. Within 5 minutes they had someone trying to fix the issue. We were informed that they would have to replace the hot water heater for the row cabins. We were fine with that, we had already endured ice cold showers!! When we checked in we were informed that if we wanted fresh towels we would have to take the dirty towels ( and we needed to count them) to the front desk (which was a drive from our row cabin) to be washed and then we had to pick them up later that day after 4pm.We had to do this daily if we wanted fresh towels every day. Can you believe for $189 a night we had to do this?!! We have stayed at other cabins for this price and have always had fresh towels delivered to the cabin and dirty ones picked up. ( And we have never had to count them!) On the second day of our stay we realized we had other guests staying with us in the cabin- ANTS!! When I went to make coffee I noticed ants crawling up and down the wall. Our guests stayed with us until we left! We met some very nice people during our stay and were able to get a look at Cabin #15- It was quite nice in comparison to ours but the friends we had met that were staying in this cabin felt that it was not very clean either. They noticed cobwebs and dead bugs. Some other people we met stayed in the row cabin next to us for 2 nights and then moved to the lodge. They said the lodge was much nicer than the row cabin and believe it or not even less money! The resort is very nice with many activities for the kids. The stables were nice. We went on the chuckwagon dinner whick was fun and the food was wonderful. We rented an ATV and went on trails, this was very fun, the trails could have been marked better, we got a little turned around coming back. We ate at the Ponderosa Restaurant and Armadillas snack shop at the resort and both were very good- the service at both places were great. The KOA general store was very large and offered almost anything that you may have forgotten. Our children loved the 2 large pools and jumping pillow, water slide, miniature golf, and splash park. You do get charged a daily rate "Resort Fee" to enjoy all of these activities and it is $6.00 daily not $5.00 as the web site states. Overall we were pleased with the resort/campground but were very disappointed in the cabin. We would return to Palmer Gulch but would not ever stay in a row cabin. It is really very ridiculous that they charge as much as they do for the row cabins. We stayed in a Super 8 hotel on our way home in Sioux City, Iowa and it was so clean in comparison to Palmer Gulch and we only paid $60.00 for the night (1/3 of what we paid a night at Plamer Gulch). I hope this review helps others not make the same mistake we did!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ricnic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews