We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the KOA portion of the property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This place is a zoo. Seems like there are 500+ sites and they are all packed pretty close together. Your best bet is to try to get a place in the “woods” (west?) area as opposed to the flat parking lot areas where most of the big RV rigs are located. The woods can accommodate smaller RVs, tent trailers, tents, and have a fair number of Kamper Kabins. There is also a secluded area on the far (east?) side of the small creek that provides more remote sites, but which is still accessible to all the perks. We had the small Kamper Kabin, which is really too small for a family of four and their gear. There are larger two-room Kamper Kabins that would have been better for 4+ people, but we changed from a tent to a Kabin at the last minute when we saw the forecast called for thunderstorms. There was a major storm event while we were there (marble sized hail, 4 inches of rain) and the Kabin held up but many people’s tents did not.

This is a very popular place for families and family reunions. Many “free” things for the kids to do (pools, jumping pillow, miniature golf, splash pad, small water slide, giant chess/checkers board, horseshoes). The Ponderosa restaurant is on site, and has excellent food at reasonable prices, and it wasn’t that heavily used since I think most people eat in their RVs. The All you can eat pancakes tent for $2.50 is a good deal. Very nice staff.

If you are an RVer and a social person, go here. If you are a tenter, or prefer peace and quiet, I think you would have a much nicer time at one of the Forest Service or Custer State Park campgrounds. Sites are bigger and much more private at those locations, and about a third of the cost.

Room Tip: Best sites are along the small stream
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auroraclubjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Lodge at Palmer Gulch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

The location/scenery is wonderful. If you have children, the activities are a great bonus. However, for the price ($150) per night, the rooms could use some attention. Staff was very friendly. We ate at the Ponderosa Restaurant located next door. Food was good, but overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shylahleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Arrived at Palmer Gulch with high expectations.
Had been told that our cabin was updated and very clean.
Not correct information.
Floor tiles were uprooting and very dirty.
They said it was a fully equipped kitchen with dishes, etc. It was not. Part of our vacation budget included my cooking dinners and breakfasts in the cabin. It was not possible based on the lack of cooking/eating utensils.
We made the most out of it; but, we will not go back unless it is to one of the newer cabins.
The fun was in all of the stuff they had to offer. The pool was very clean. They had a jumping pillow which was a lot of fun, mini golf- ok - splash park and playground, giant checkers/chess and horseshoes.
The Hill City Slickers performed 3 nights a week and they were a lot of fun.
The general store was very high priced; however, it was not close to any grocery store.
Mount Rushmore was about 15 minutes up the mountain from Palmer Gulch.
Overall, I'd go back if I could be assured that I have a new cabin.

Room Tip: Get a brand new cabin only.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunonaBudget2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at the lodge and were very pleased with the decor, cleanliness and amount of activities. We spent the extra money for a suite and it saved in the long run being able to fix sandwiches, etc. The breakfast was basic but good. Our only complaint is that the suite had a king bed and a pull out sofa that turned into a queen. The pullout was awful. My kids wanted to sleep on the floor instead. I would think for a suite the bed would be a bit more comfortable.

The view from the balcony was beautiful and it was a quiet place and looked much nicer than alot of the other places we drove past.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessl331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Lodge rooms have been updated with new bedding and woodsy decor. Our room was better than the picture on their web site. Lodge sits off the highway and away from the camp grounds. Lots of activities for the kids..close to Mt Rushmore..Pool closest to the lodge was closed to kids after 8 pm. There is a 6.00 "resort" fee per room per day whether you use the facilities or not. If you use them...6.00 is cheap. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
4.3 km away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
5.4 km away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
10.6 km away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#10 of 12 in Hill City
129 reviews
9.2 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Palmer Gulch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Palmer Gulch

Address: 12620 Highway 244, Hill City, SD 57745-8902
Region: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Price Range: ₹ 7,136 - ₹ 23,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge at Palmer Gulch 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the spectacular views of Mount Rushmore National Park, hiking through Custer State Park, climbing Harney Peak, or enjoying the day at Sylvan Lake, the Lodge at Palmer Gulch mixes the adventure and relaxation of the outdoors with the convenience of resort style accommodations:∙ 62 lodge rooms∙ 20 full-service private cabins∙ 10 row cabin duplex rooms∙ 6 executive lodges∙ 3 meeting facilities. We also offer fine dining, shopping, and family friendly itineraries! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lodge at Palmer Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Palmer Gulch Hotel Hill City
Hotel At Palmer Gulch
At Palmer Gulch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing