We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent roomy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room view1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Sitting room view1
Sitting room view2
Kitchen and breakfast area
VIew from upstairs bedroom
Ground floor bedroom and ensuite
Aerial view of Mill (centre)  and cottages (far right)
Bypass stream in the Mill's garden
Bluebells in Blickling Woods
Winter can also be a good time to visit
The river in winter light
Winter mist over the river
Stormy weather over the millpond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Itteringham, Aylsham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hugo S
1 review
“Excellent roomy cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The location of and the accommodation in the cottage were what we wanted i.e. a 2-bedroom cottage in a rural position near Aylsham and the coast. We liked the fact that all the rooms were a really good size - all too often in holiday cottages the rooms are small and pokey. Each bedroom had its own bathroom. The cottage was clean and tidy and well equipped, although we could have done with a few more plates and bowls. The cottage is close to a lovely old watermill which has a beautiful garden, so our surroundings were a joy to wake up to. The owner was friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2018
Hi Hugo
Thanks for your kind review and your suggestion regarding crockery. Hope you had a good journey home.
Best regards
Peter and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairngalb...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb short break in a lovely converted barn set in the beautiful tranquil grounds of the Mill at Itteringham”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Attending a family gathering in Weybourne we chose Swallow Cottage just 10 miles or so inland as somewhere we could relax away from the hussle and bussle of the coastal resort . We were not disappointed.
The cottage,which sits in the lovely extensive 4+acres grounds of the Mill, was spacious, spotless, comfortably furnished with a well laid out kitchen/dining area and in fact provided us with everything we needed. Having travelled for 2 days to get to Norfolk it became a home from home for the next 4 days.
A word must be said about the owners Liz and Peter who live in the Mill. A lovely couple who we instantly warmed to and who welcomed us to their idyllic environment. We spent most of our time at the cottage/gardens and in the surrounding area eating out at the local pub where the food and ambiance was excellent.

All in all a secret jewel in Norfolk and have already recommended to family and friends

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Hi Nairn
Many thanks for your kind review. We very much enjoyed chatting to you and the family and so glad you were able to relax in Itteringham after your very long journey. We look forward to hosting you again should you have another occasion to visit the area.
Best regards
Peter and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Hi Helen
Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the near future
Best regards
Peter and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
groan
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - friendly owners”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This pleasant conversion is located close to the owners' impressive mill house in a quiet rural location with extensive private grounds. There is ample parking and the mill grounds can be explored at will - very picturesque and calming: rivers, mill-ponds, bridges, a 'tame' pheasant, and even a small flock of sheep - quite idyllic!

The owners offer a warm and thoughtful welcome - we visited at Easter time and we delighted by the complimentary basket of easter eggs, as well as a few essentials - tea and coffee and milk.

The cottage itself is nice - a large living space with a couch, armchairs and TV, with an 'imitation' wood/coal burner which actually looks pretty good and provides decent heat if needed. Heating is supplemented by electric convector heaters. We were a bit nervous that all heating is run on a £1 coin meter - but the meter was 'full' when we arrived and a 4 day weekend with liberal use of the heating cost us only a further £5, so not really a concern.

The kitchen area, which has a nice breakfast bar and a further table to supplement the main dining table is the living space is light and airy - the kitchen is well equipped with all that is needed. A new set of kitchen knives might be in order though :-)

There are two good sized bedrooms - one downstairs, the other upstairs. Both have en suite shower/toilets. The upstairs bathroom is a bit tight on head-space, but not majorly so.

A short walk from the cottage is the Walpole Arms - a lovely pub which serves great beer and great food - but remember to book: it is very popular! Also within walking distance is the village shop. No ordinary village shop this - an outstanding selection of delightful things as well as a good stock of essentials.

If I have any criticism, it is that the cottage feels a bit 'dowdy' - although that may have been down to the rather 'grey' weather. A brighter carpet, and some new pictures/photos for the walls might make a big difference. It's also worth noting that the wifi signal is weak - although that was made clear before booking.

However, this is a lovely spot - comfortable and welcoming - in a beautiful part of the country close to some useful amenities. I would recommend it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - the owners
Liked least: The carpet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Hi Viv
Thanks for your review. I entirely agree with your comment about the cottage being "a bit dowdy". You'll be please to know we have already started addressing this with a new carpet and brighter decoration in the upstairs bedroom/bathroom and replacement of the baroque, gilt lighting and mirror in that room. It looks much better! We hope to continue improving things as time progresses. Best regards
Peter and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet F
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, set next to an old renovated mill. Plenty of parking, very peaceful location - great view from bedroom window. Ideal spot for seeing some of Norfolk's beautiful countryside and coast. Pub (Walpole Arms) does very good meals at the end of the drive. Blickling Hall is nearby and worth a visit. Go to the Buckinghamshire Arms to eat - they give HUGE portions! Definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice 'cottagey' feel.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Hi Janet
Thanks for your kind review - sorry for the delay in replying.
All the best
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing