We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
14
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
5
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Needed a place to stay overnight while attending a baseball tournament. Magnuson Hotel came up when I was searching for a place. The price was perfect! Location was perfect! Friendly staff. Couldn't have asked for much more.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Very clean. Owners onsite and very accommodating. Always upgrading. Good stay for not a lot of money.
Lots of places to eat in area. Two or three diners next door. Will definitely stay again. Owners onsite and very accommodating.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Winfield C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Hotel is in the process of updating room, furniture, carpet, etc. Our room had been updated. King bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows soft and firm. Great water pressure and endless hot water. Room and carpet very clean, fresh paint although you could see obvious flaws painted over but some of the rough painted over seams in the ceiling would have been there as brand new and these do not bother us. Fridge, coffee maker and heating cooling unit worked perfect. Flat screen TV worked great with lots of channels. We did not use the WiFi or the in room microwave. Our only concern was that it appears this is also sort of a extended stay or actual home for some people. We were a little rattled when we saw several people milling around in the parking lot on the back side rooms as well as out front where our room was. One man kept a chair outside of his room across from the pool 24/7, rode in a taxi. The other concern was the people that appear to reside here have no problem driving in, or their friends driving in, honking, shouting from the balcony, etc. We did not experience any problems but it is unnerving, thus the reason for 4 stars. In fairness, I'm sure the owner needs every dollar he can get even if it means "residents". We deliberately avoid hotels such as extended stay or where long term unemployed reside because they are typically "unnerving". The room price was a bargain and the location was close to where we needed to be after a weekend layover. A bargain, clean, comfortable, fit our need but we would likely drive farther or pay more due to the concerns of the "residents".

Room tip: Rooms on the back side appear to be "residents". Also, up on the balcony both sides.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jakesmom414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Had to leave Charleston because of Hurricane Matthew. I chose Magnuson Hotel in Union because it seemed far enough away and the price was reasonable. It was a very lucky find. The proprietors were warm and welcoming. The room had everything I might need; it was well-lighted for reading, TV had HBO and TCM, there was a fridge. There was coffee in-room, but also in the office along with breakfast snacks. There is even a pool for summer visits. Union is a small town but there was good food and a very nice park with tennis courts nearby.

Room tip: I needed first floor because my old knees can't handle stairs.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank antnikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

What a gem in disguise. The rooms are upgraded and are VERY Clean. The owners are the absolute best.. They show concern for the guests. The swimming pool is very well maintained and clean. This is the place to stay in Union South Carolina. The free WiFi works great.

We stayed here Two Weeks.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kf1pbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews