We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
The Mavelous Wonderettes

To anyone in the vicinity of Myrtle Beach, S.C., please, please, please, go to the Grand Theater... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2012
NickfromPhilly
,
Holland, Pennsylvania
The Marvelous Wonderettes!

This is a great place to see a show and is very family friendly. I'm sure that all of the shows are... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2012
Della R
,
New York City, New York
Read all 5 reviews
  
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I took my senior adults to see the Grand Theatre's take on the old Dean Martin TV show and it was great! We ate at their "supper club" that is inside the theater. The meal was very good - nothing fancy but good food. We then moved to our seats for the 7:00 show. The theater is very interactive with the audience. The music was really good and the stage was festive. We enjoyed all the characters that came on stage and Cindra (co-producer) is amazing with all the stars she plays. We got to see Dean Martin, Judy Garland, Loretta Lynn, Doris Day, Marilyn Monroe (their favorite character there!), Barbara Eden as Jeanie, and Granny Mae Clamplet. My senior adults thought Dean Martin sounded alot like Dean Martin but said he was too skinny and tall to be him. It was a very fun show! It is not the fancy lights and all like Alabama or Carolina Opry but definetly worth the money! We also have seen the Marvelous Wonderettes and enjoyed it.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank Pirategirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

To anyone in the vicinity of Myrtle Beach, S.C., please, please, please, go to the Grand Theater, Surfside (a Dinner Theater), and see a show called the "Marvelous Wonderettes!" It runs on Tuesdays & Thursdays.

The stage is set for a high school Senior Prom in the year 1958. The second act relates to the Springfield High Class of '58's Ten Year Reunion. This four woman show is absolutely terrific. They are an extremely talented group of ladies. Each of the four are showstoppers!

The pre-show activity, involving the "school secretary" and vice principal roaming among the patrons is great fun. I know for a fact that the school secretary is one of the performers later on stage, not sure about the vice principal. Her disguise may have fooled us, but both are absolutley delightful.

The four of us loved every moment of it, and "Mr. Lee" is still taking his fair share of razzing from us. If you adore music from the '50's and the sixties, as we do, this show is a match made in heaven for you. We'd highly recommend it to all.

Date of experience: September 2012
2  Thank NickfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is a great place to see a show and is very family friendly. I'm sure that all of the shows are worth seeing, but we went to see the Marvelous Wonderettes, and it was marvelous! Very cute 1950's and 1960's styled show performed by a very talented local cast, very well done! It'll be a nostalgic journey back in time for those who remember the great music of those days. The show even gets a little interactive which is a lot of fun to watch, and maybe even be a part of! Good clean fun- and that's really rare these days. They also serve dinner before the show if you choose, which is a nice and convenient thing. The ticket prices are more than fair and definitely worth it for the fun evening you'll have- bring some family and friends!

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank Della R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great place to see a show. Very well maintained, great staff. Very friendly. No alcohol, which I think is great. We have seen 2 different shows here, which is also nice. It's not the same running thing everyday. Fair ticket prices and good fun.

1  Thank BeachBumminagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews