We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We are staying in 179 3A - Unit is very dirty, dust has not been cleaned seems like in a very long time (it is sticky), windows are terribly dirty. Unit was sold to us as "scenic view" however blinds do not open so there is no view. We were told there is nothing they can do about that as the owners have to buy new blinds. Toaster does not work. There is no ironing board. Furniture is dirty. Shower head is probably dirty so showers feel like a very bad acupuncture treatment - it is painful! Vacuum was in the room until yesterday - it is now gone.
We called 4 times about the above issues and nothing has been done so far - we are at day 4 now and seriously thinking of leaving this place if we can get our money back. Horrible experience and we loved each of our previous trips to Pawleys Island....so so disappointing and not worth the money we paid. Not sure if this is the case with other units in the complex but this one .... stay away.

Room Tip: Read reviews and ask a LOT of questions before booking here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,00,72,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Booked online and when we got to Pawleys Plantation we were told we had to check in at Litchfield Golf and Country Club. This was not mentioned at all anywhere. After going to Litchfield Beach and waiting about 30 minutes to be given keys, we arrived at the tiny, nasty room in a building in a residential section. There were no cups for drinks, a coffee maker but no cups for that either. I can't believe Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club would even rent anything this bad or have their name associated with such a shoddy operation. We have been visiting Pawleys Island every year for 30 years and have never had such a bad experience. We had rented a condo at Pawleys Pier for the week were not able to check in until Saturday and we arrived on Friday. We'll never do that again unless we can get a nice room at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't even think about booking a room at Pawleys Plantation. Total disappointmentt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This is ok if your golfing but its too far from the beach for me to stay here on a beach vacation. The neighborhood is nice though. 24 hr gated community and very secluded. It felt like a neighborhood not the beach. The pool was great. Huge and clean. I appreciate that there is a key that you have to have to get in. Its Very quiet. We had problems with bugs in our condo. "Palmentto bugs" that the owner says are not cockroaches but i looked this up and it says palmentto bug is a nickname for American cockroaches. The owners say its a sc problem. (Implying that its not preventable) Now I only went in this 1 condo so I can only speak for that particular one but the whole grounds had major issues with misquotes. If they don't already they should do a community mosquito spray. To try and cut down misquotes. We were being attacked as soon as we walked out of the door or got out of the car and at the pool. I don't play golf but my husband said it was an ok golf course and he would play it.
All in all I think its a very quiet secluded development away from all the hustle and bustle suited for playing golf.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank hairbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Very disappointing unit that I stayed in. Not clean, floors weren't vacuumed. Dirty laundry in bathroom floor. Had to wait 30 minutes to get my keys when checking in with the management company. Was told the unit had to be inspected after being cleaned to make sure it met the standards of the management company. Not sure what that was all about!! The icemaker for the fridge did not work so had to go out and purchase ice to cold drinks. No satisfaction from the management company as I was told I would receive a phone call and have not to date.

Informed the front desk manager I would never stay at this property again. Very disappointing for the amount of money I paid for this unit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pace h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Although this was advertised as a hotel (186 rooms, etc), it really is a gated golf community with privately owned houses/units that are rented. The Standard Room we booked turned out to be a separately locked bedroom with bath belonging to 2 bedroom condo in a 4-apartment building. It was dark, not very clean (especially considering the room cleaning charge) and ill-equipped (no cups, coffee, tissues). A coffee maker was supplied, but unless you had filters, coffee and cups, this was not helpful.
Check-in was several miles away at Litchfield Golf & Country Club. Information on the actual property was lacking (is there really a restaurant and if so, what hours? Or a fitness room?). A key for the pool was not supplied, but necessary to use. And what exactly is the resort fee for? The room is not maintained (no trash removal, no new towels or made beds). Potentially we could have washed the towels ourselves, if we would have found the advertised washer and dryer. It took two days to get the trash and laundry bags removed from the front porch that greeted us when we first arrived. 2 1/2 days after arrival we finally got the TV working (after many calls to the not so friendly "front desk".
The location is nice, if you want to get away from it all. If you bring your own chairs you can watch the golfers on the course, or you can walk the community. The beach, shops and restaurants are quite far away.
Some of the units are probably a lot nicer, but service seems to be lacking all around. For the price (charge per night + daily resort fee + cleaning fee), you could and should expect a much nicer room.

Room Tip: Unless you can get pictures of the exact unit you will get, there is no way to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
8.4 km away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,905 reviews
6.7 km away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,911 reviews
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
208 reviews
13.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
18.1 km away
Ellington at Wachesaw Plantation East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club

Address: 70 Tanglewood Dr, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-7457
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range: ₹ 7,114 - ₹ 10,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pawleys Plantation features one, two, and three bedroom villas, situated along our award-winning Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course. Other amenities include three dining areas; an outdoor pool and lighted tennis courts; driving range and practice putting green; and a fitness center. Our conference center, rated one of the "Best of the South" (Meetings South magazine), can accommodate up to 300 people. Perfect for destination weddings, Pawleys Plantation "sets a high standard for Lowcountry romance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pawleys Plantation Golf And Country Club Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing