We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ranked #121 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We had an awesome stay at this condo once again. Mr Ulrich was very easy and pleasant to deal with and we would like to thank him for his readiness and willingness to help us out with any questions or concerns we had. Love this side of the condo since we get the morning sun and shade in the afternoon. Very clean and comfortable condo, short walk to the beach,clean pool and hot tub, can't wait until we get back next year, thanks David & Sharon for the rental of your condo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Werkboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Nice clean home lots of room for a family. March break was very cold this year, poo, was not open and beach was on,y 3 mins walk but too cold. Lovely area for a walk around. Great Italian restaurant a short walk away.

Room Tip: This is Not a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

With the Ocean Forest Villas, the only thing that matters is WHO YOU ARE RENTING FROM.
These are privately owned condos. The grounds are well kept and clean. In recent years, the entire complex got an exterior facelift. New balconies, siding, roofs.
The location is excellent, the beach is far less crowded than in the high-rise areas, the location is perfect: right in the middle of north or south attractions. While the Ocean Forest area doesn't have numerical roads, if it did, this property would be situated on Ocean Blvd around N57th St.
Ocean Forest Villas comprise 5 buildings, each 3 stories tall. Each bldg has 4 oceanfront rooms on each floor. Oceanfront is somewhat literal, as Ocean Blvd is between the complex and the beach, but the view is nonetheless excellent, with no obstructions. The remaining units have an ocean view. There are 2 outdoor pools, 2 outdoor hot tubs. If you don't rent an OF unit, try to select an OV unit with pool view instead of parking lot OV. Who wants to look over cars to see the ocean?
The best place to book the units are from VRBO.com, and make sure you are renting directly from the owners themselves. They have the greatest stake in keeping their units clean and up to date if they want to keep them rented.
We've stayed at OFV many times, most good, one or twice awful, and that was the result of WHO we rented from. Look closely at all the photos. If the unit is rented by a Rental Agent, take the reviews with a grain of salt. One unit we rented last year from Booe Rentals only had one old review. After our stay, we wrote an honest review and submitted it, but it was never posted on their website. I suspect they edited less than glowing reviews. Not only that, but the Agency rental fees and extra charges pump up the costs sometimes by hundreds of dollars.
There are many beautiful, clean units at OFV, you just need to be meticulous in seeking them. Don't rent from the hotel or their website, those are the average or worse units. If you can find an updated, spotless unit here, you will likely return. Put it this way, there are enough great units here, and because of the Homeowners Association maintaining the grounds so well, I'd consider buying a unit here and living full time. They are all 2br/2ba, with full size kitchen and living room.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank MountainsToSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The main reason I chose this place was for the location. We needed to be within walking distance to a certain place. The area was beautiful, the pool and beach were right there and the place was quiet and private. The buildings were really apartments that people live in so you don't feel like your staying in a hotel at all which is both good and bad. The good part is more privacy, the bad part is that any help you need with the place is a phone call and drive away. It also is not a fancy or classy place which would have been fine for a nice family vacation, but worse than that was the smell!! I can still smell the musty mildewy odor of the place. It wasn't just my apartment. It was the entire building. After the first night of sleeping there I was going to call and ask to switch to another room, but I took a walk to all 5 buildings to see which might be a better one, and they all had the same smell. I think that besides for must and mildew the smell may have been due to the bug spray they use? I remember that smell from an old Brooklyn apartment building. Needless to say there were a few really big bugs, there was one dead one right when you walked into one of the rooms when we arrived so how did the cleaning crew not see that? I don't think they got the place ready for us much other than turning on fridge and central air, it looked dusty, the air conditioning vent in one of the rooms was closed, the fridge didn't get cold yet. After living in it a day or two (we were there four nights) and cooking, the place smelled and worked a little better, but the main shower never got fixed.
The front desk at forest dunes was a little difficult to deal with depending on who you spoke with. Sometimes they responded right away to our needs, other times they didn't.
If this place was summer camp it would have been ok. But for the price of some of the hotels we stayed at in Florida (for example of another beachfront property) it was very poor. I would have gone back to Florida if not for the zika virus. I'm glad I tried something new and had fun anyway, but will be unlikely to go back. We stayed in A110.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Devotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Labor day weekend so i didnt have much of a choice elsewhere. Stayed here some years ago so thought maybe it was still decent and maybe updated by now. Boy was i wrong. Rude receptionist, very dirty and dusty villas, kitchen filthy and the shower was dirty with mold and mildew, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Front office doesn't return any calls for any feedback or issues you have so they know its a dirty and trashy place, they're in on it. Save your money and go to Ocean Creek Resort or Kingston Plantation, those are some real villas. I decided to leave the 1st day without even staying in the room and still had to pay for 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P970VRmikec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4 km away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#111 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
310 reviews
5.9 km away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#97 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
10.3 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#145 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,359 reviews
10.1 km away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
4.7 km away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Villa Resort

Address: 5601 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2345
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 4,999 - ₹ 26,916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Forest Villa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Forest Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Villa Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Forest Hotel
Ocean Forest Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing