We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Old, Dirty, and Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas
Ranked #152 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed one night at this "resort". The staff was ok. The view was good but the grounds and rooms need a lot of work. The convenience store is sketchy and has neon beer signs in the window facing the pool. Classy. The pool deck needs a good power wash. The painted metal surfaces are all chipped and our sliding glass door lock was rusted and couldn't be engaged. The room door did not have a security bolt either. The beds were hard, the coffee pot overflowed and the TV remote needed new batteries.

My son enjoyed the beach and the room was cheap, last minute. Those are the only good things I can think of.

I would not recommend this resort to anyone, nor will we return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel because of all the child friendly amenities ..I should have read the reviews first!!..we walked into the Townhouse and was welcomed by the overwhelming odor of cigarette smoke and wet dog and by a huge dead roach in the middle of the entryway. There was no toilet paper in the bathrooms and some light fixtures did not work..we called the front desk to complain and they sent someone over to spray and replace the bulb..the air conditioning was running fine in the living room so we had no idea that it didn't reach the bedroom and would have to sweat it out throughout the night..they sent over a technician in the morning who immediately remarked that it didn't feel like the 64 degrees to which the thermostat was set at...oh did I mention that the carpets are so filthy that my 3yr old who refuses to keep shoes feet were black! Do not expect a good nights sleep because the beds and pillows are hard as a rock and the constantly running water in the toilet are bound to keep you awake. The final straw was when I found a roach crawling across the kitchen counter.. the front desk cannot help with anything so we had to wait for the manager who only gets to the property @3pm..he issued us a refund and we cut short our stay.. needless to say I will never return or recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ramona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Horrific experience-room was dirty, we were told if we wanted towels to shower with or for pool to go buy them ourselves. No house keeping, horrible customer svc. Dirty, Smelly. Chlorine burns from hot tub. Literally burned your eye balls. We had NO toilet paper and when we called front desk, were told it would be a while. No trashed emptied, flies all over the place. Horrible "bar" Nathan (assistant manager) at the front desk was the equivalent of talking to a paper bag

Room Tip: Stay someplace else! We had an Oceanfront room in the main building, the view was great but DIRTY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewtownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I've been coming to Ocean Dunes/Sand Dunes since I was a kid. This year, I went for the first time with my own family. During it's hay-day in the 90's, Ocean Dunes, and it's adjoining property, Sand Dunes, were the ultimate family resorts in Myrtle Beach. The rooms were nice, they had a kids club, and they also had things for adults to do, such as poolside bars. In the 00's, however, the property began to go downhill. They started marketing to a lower-rent demographic, and the property went downhill.

On this visit, however, many of the issues had been addressed. The rooms had been updated with hardwood floors, new linen, curtains, etc, and the property as a whole seemed to be in much better condition.

On the downside, there were still a few issues that needed to be addressed. Foremost among them was the staff. The front desk staff was very curt and didn't seem to have much information about anything. For example, I asked them if they knew when the lounge was supposed to open (because it was already after 12 and the doors were still locked), and the woman simply said, "no", and went back to what she was doing. When the lounge finally did open an hour and a half late, the bartender was quite surly - as were the bartenders on subsequent days. It was also quite odd that the only bar at an oceanfront resort is located indoors in a dimly lit room. Ocean Dunes used to have a very nice outdoor, poolside bar, but it is no longer there. According to one of the bartenders, it was torn down because adults were getting drunk and throwing other people's kids in the pool and starting fights. It was pretty depressing going into this dark, dingy lounge to get a drink when you're at a family beach resort. It's also very inconvenient, because the lounge is 21 and up, and they won't even let you bring your kids in with you while you order a drink to take back out to the pool or the beach. Another bar/pool related issue is that the music at the pool is controlled by the jukebox in the bar, and many times, inconsiderate people played some very "R-rated" songs that were then blared from speakers around a pool filled with young children.

I know this is a very long-winded review, but I grew up going to this hotel, and I'd like them to fix these issues so that I can continue bringing my family there, but until these issues are fixed, we won't be back.

Issues for management to address:
-Friendliness/helpfulness of staff
-Re-install a poolside bar
-Take the poolside music off of jukebox control
-Have maids sweep the hardwood floors daily
-Provide clothes hangers in the rooms
-Consider re-instating the Sands Kid's Club

Room Tip: Make sure you are booking a room in the main hotel and not in one of the towers or villas, which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Our family drove down to Myrtle Beach for a week vacation. We checked in a little late (11ish pm) upon arrival to our room on the 12th floor in building 1, we were in shocked! It was sooo filthy, it smelled like mold/wet clothes. (fine we are by the beach) the beds, the carpet floor, ALL of it smelled so bad and it was just overall uncomfortable. My husband went to the front desk to complain, after back and fwd we were switched to another room in the 8th floor. It was a little better but still, the carpet was disgusting, the dishes were all dirty- as an food stuck in them dirty. We stood one night, cut our losses and found a nice condo on air bnb with Arcadian Dunes. It really sucked that we chose to drive and take our family vacation to Myrtle instead of the Caribbean or Mexico to save some money and instead we ended spending prob even more paying for two different "resorts" at myrtle beach. Of course, Ocean Dunes did not provide a refund or even a partial refund- they're response was " we are sorry it wasn't up to your standards" NO ONE should be ok staying at a place that disgusting...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chapys22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,448 reviews
0.3 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,209 reviews
0.2 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
707 reviews
0.1 km away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#153 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
924 reviews
0.6 km away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas

Address: 201 75th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4201
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,304 - ₹ 16,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Dunes Myrtle Beach Sc
Ocean Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing