We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Outdated, Smelly, Nice Water Area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landmark Resort
Ranked #70 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Bit Outdated, Smelly, Nice Water Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Boasting 17 pools plus free mini-golf for a reasonable price, and directly on the beach should have clued us in a bit, but it is slightly off-season so we were hoping it was just a good deal.

The hotel itself is aging and had that feel. Our room was basically clean, but the residue of old cigarette smoke was not a good start. We paid for a room that looks out over the ocean, and it definitely did - very nice view. The shower had good pressure and temperature. The kitchenette was quite outdated but workable with refrigerated, cupboards and scant dinnerware, and a stove.

The mattress was nothing special (very firm). The televisions were mixed - bedroom had a very old television (date on back was 2003), but TV in living room area was newer, flat-screen. Having a small bed that folds out from wall in living room was bonus for our daughter.

Now about the 17 pools. They had several inside (including a small lazy river) and several outside (including a small lazy river as well). Most of what was included in the number is a bit deceiving since some areas were closed, some pools were barely large enough to be called a hot tube. The waterpark across the street featured a small lap pool (too warm to do laps in), a hot tub, and a small kids play water area.

Food choices were minimal, and there was nothing really within easy walking distance - the main drag of Myrtle Beach was a good mile down the road. This is also nowhere near the boardwalk.

We will not likely return to this property, but it does serve its purpose for lower budget vacations where frills are not important, and you don't mind the smell of stale cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    769
    471
    374
    539
See reviews for
1,566
578
40
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belpre, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

my wife and i have stayed at the Landmark several times last year and once so far this year. we've always had a great stay. I'm not sure about all of the rooms, but where we've stayed has been very clean and up to date. Our room even had a brand new flat screen TV!

I can understand some complaints about the layout, once you stay there and wander around a bit you'll get the hang of it. Also a lot of the nearby hotels / motels are not open all year long, i wonder if them being closed for the winter is why others thought of it as a ghetto area? Finally, complaints about updating rooms? OK I get that it can be a drag, but who stays in the room all day?

I do know each unit is privately owned, some of the poor room complaints may be due to the owners not taking care of their place. But the Landmark should take those rooms off the rental list then.

Overall we always have a great time. The beach is excellent, the pools are great. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side, you'll get great sunrise views and at night you can see firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacatraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

I have been staying at the Landmark since 2004, and love it. Didn't stay there last year and wished we had, so we'll def be there this year. The pools and parking garage are great along with the breakfast offered at the Gazebo!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin88a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at The Landmark as an extended weekend solo getaway, and it was simply perfect! The location is great, and my room was everything I wanted. I reserved a room that included a full kitchen and it was very well stocked with cookware and dinnerware. My view was fantastic, and the other resort areas (lobby, pool, etc) were very well maintained. The staff was quite friendly as well.

Room Tip: Get the full kitchen, it's totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginic616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in an area that is very sketchy and appears to be dangerous. Very ghetto. Hotel staff is not very courteous and lazy. The rooms are gross, when we used the bathroom sink, the kitchen sink would fill up with sewage and release the most terrible smell I have ever smelt. The place really needs a full renovation, the photos are obviously of when the hotel first opened! Beware and hopefully you have a concealed weapons permit so that you can walk to your car after dark. I will never stay again, in fact I left early.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkResort, Guest Relations Manager at Landmark Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience during your stay with us. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable time during their visit, so it is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
I am also sorry if you were not pleased with the area. We are located on the south end of Myrtle Beach near many family attractions. We have many loyal guests who visit the area often and always choose us as their vacation destination.
We appreciate your feedback and I hope that you and your family can accept our apologies for the disappointment you encountered. If you decide to visit Myrtle Beach again we hope that you will have a pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Melissa Busch
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.1 km away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.3 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
1.0 km away
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
#32 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,094 reviews
10.4 km away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Property: Landmark Resort
Address: 1501 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,564 - ₹ 18,458
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landmark Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Myrtle Beach
Landmark Hotel Myrtle Beach
Landmark Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Landmark Hotel In Myrtle Beach
Landmark Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing