We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for kids- a bit noisy though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fun for kids- a bit noisy though”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Dunes Resort. Our 4yr old had a great time in the water park as did my husband. They used the water slides multiple times, floated the lazy river quite a bit and spent a lot of time in the kiddie pool. The only negative was the older kids purposely backing up the lazy river and playing roughly in the kiddie pool. Because there are no life-guards, there was no one monitoring these types of issues. (I did find it odd that so many people had SMALL children in the hot tubs.) We only used the water facilities in the... Palm? tower- the one intended for smaller children.

Loading and unloading the car wasn't a lot of fun since the front lot was so small and partially blocked for valet.
The lunch/dinner restaurant- not bad, not cheap for the type of food but not bad overall.
We had an angled ocean view suite which provided a great view. We had a king bed in a separate room from the murphy bed/pullout couch in the other room. We had to take the glass top off of the table in the living room and put it behind the couch to pull out the murphy. Needless to say it was a VERY small room and the table only had 2 chairs which was odd for a suite that's supposed to hold 6 people. In the bedroom, I had to move the bedside table aside to open the closet. Again, small but otherwise nice. The worst part was the noise. We could only get a room on the 4th floor and then the one next to the elevator. The pounding of feet and yelling from the floor above us went on past midnight each of the nights we were there. At one point, I was in our bathroom and heard someone having a conversation in the room above us nearly as clear as if they were in our suite.
We did have problems with both of our room cards dropping their "codes" while we were there so we had to trek back to the main desk to get them reset.
The rooms seemed clean and while maybe not new, in good condition. I did find a dirty plastic cup behind a bed table and a piece of packaging under the bed, which since it was on a platform, meant that the bedspread definitely wasn't removed, or checked under between stays.

Overall, a good experience with only a few small complaints.

Room Tip: Higher floors would likely have less traffic and therefore less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jengd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,604
    1,279
    452
    206
    138
See reviews for
3,985
691
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We LOVED our stay at the Dunes Village. We had an awesome view, clean room and great service. Our children had so much fun in the water park, it was great to get out of the sun and later in the evening. We used the water park everyday. We used the pool and found ourselves on the beach everyday as well. We are going back next year. Hope our stay will be just as great!

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe double beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeauOneonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
We LOVED having you here! Thanks for writing such a nice review. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just stayed at the Dune Village Resort for 5 nights. Pleasant helpful staff. We have two children ages 4 and 10 who enjoyed the water parks, children's activities, beach, pools, hot tubs and lazy river. They also enjoyed the mini golf and bean bag toss. Double room was spacious enough for a short stay. Kitchen was ok but slightly awkward in its location just inside the door. Bathroom was ok but shower area was starting to show its age. Hotel staff and housekeeping were responsive. Plenty of towels at the water park. Parking deck was not a big deal as some reviews complain. Chlorine in the water park and pools was also not a big deal or as strong as some have suggested.
Did not eat in the restaurants so have no comment. Location of the resort was perfect, away from the central craziness and beaches not as crowded even during spring break. Work out facility was adequate. Grocery store within 1/2 mile. Beds were average.
The resort was probably not as luxurious as I had expected but we were never in our room long enough for it to really make a difference. Water pressure for shower was weak. Overall had a good experience here.

Room Tip: Ocean front is definitely worth the extra money. Palma Tower seemed to have the better water park f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Dunes Village Resort. You covered most of what we have to offer, except for the tennis courts and hildrens playground. We agree that our staff is pleasant and helpful, and we are thrilled that you noticed. We are glad your family enjoyed everything, and can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the 8th floor of the Palmetto tower.

The suite was disappointing: beds were extremely uncomfortable with sheets that did not feel fresh. The grout in the bathroom was dirty and moldy. The upholstery and carpet had an old, dirty feel, the towels were grey and ragged. The overall sense of the suite was dingy and unpleasant, even though the housekeeping staff did their best.

The location was great--far from the crowd of drunk spring breakers who stay in hotels closer to the boardwalk area. There was a pleasant family atmosphere on the beach. The waterpark served its purpose--kept the children busy when they were tired of the beach but as other reviewers said there is absolutely no supervision or enforcing of the bracelets, so anyone could walk in from the street--hence raising safety concerns.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at Dunes VIllage Resort. We appreciate all feedback, and take every issue seriously. We will be addressing the housekeeping concerns you've raised. As for the waterpark, we have increased our staff in both parks, and are cracking down even harder on the people that are not staying in the resort that think it is okay to use our facilities. Hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Even though this resort is for families with children, it is not child friendly..we just got back from there we stayed on the fifth floor in a king studio. My 2 year old grandsone fingers were burned badly from the stove, the knobs are located on the front of the stove he was able to turn them on and burnt his fingers. Also in the kitchen in the 2nd drawer down are the butcher and steak knives easily accessilbe for toddlers..
For this resort to be for children they really need to fix these issues.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your review of Dunes Village Resort. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all safety issues seriously, and appreciate your suggestions. I hope that the rest of your stay was fun and relaxing, and hope that you will find your way back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.7 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
5.0 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,690 reviews
8.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,065 reviews
2.7 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,417 reviews
1.3 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,812 - ₹ 31,244
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing