We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Ranked #11 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Not sure who is writing these reviews, but the Coral Beach Resort is one of the most over rated properties on the water...period. We paid $300 per night, planned a 4 day stay, which we cut short after just one night. We requested a non-smoking room (baby), and were given a 1970s looking, SMOKING ROOM (who knew they still allowed this??), including ashtrays in the bathroom. The AC was broken, the lazy river is more like a lazy creek, the snack shack has pump cheese nachos, half of the 10 pools are out -of-order hot tubs, and they do not provide towels for the pool.... Besides the fact that every person on the pool deck was smoking, the bar played 80s music all day, and good luck finding parking if you have a roof pod. The room and halls (outdoor halls/ motel style) had rust, slime, and lots of unidentified stains. For $300 per night you can find tons of other options that are a better value. We travel 6-7 times per year and would not recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agibbons31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,093 - 2,097 of 3,171 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here 4 times now and love it. The pool and bar area is the best on the beach. Which actually sounds great but guests from nearby resorts use the pool as well as residents that LIVE in Myrtle Beach!!

We talked with alot of people throughout the week and half of the people there accessed the pool through the beach access. I don't think its fair that we pay for the amenities and can't enjoy them because of everyone else using them. I think they should periodically check for room keys or issue wristbands for use to these areas!

But for the layout of resort and room size we will continue to come back over the 4th of July. We do love the resort.

As for other complaints about housekeeping that I have read from other reviews, I can't complain. My family is slow moving in the morning so housekeeping could never get in. But they where very accomodating to cone back or make sure we had what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troy6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

I have been vacationing in Myrtle Beach for 30 years, have stayed at many hotels but I can honestly say Coral Beach is the best: value, location, beach area, cleanliness, amenities. There is an oceanfront pool poolbar, and an outside grill that offers great "picnic" lunches at reasonable prices. The General Store on location is small but it is stocked with all the "essentials", not only things that you may have forgotten but food items also. There is a convenient store across the street also; great if you want to fly in to the beach, cab it to the hotel and not leave. The best part of this great place is the staff- I don't know where to begin. The front desk personnel are friendly, helpful and courteous- just what you want to find after you journey- sometimes a long one- they are a great start to your vacation. Housekeeping personnel: you are wonderful. My room was always clean and stocked with towels and everyone spoke to you. Maintenance was always walking around-I watched a gentleman re-arranging the outside mulch around flowers- then to find out he was head of maintenance. There is a breakfast buffet on the ground floor: fresh, a large assortment of breakfast foods both hot and cold: something for everyone. The best part of this and one of the greatest people you have working for you is Michelle Rosen. I have been vacationing at this resort for 5 years often making several trips a year. I have breakfast at the buffet everyday, each time of my stay-hey, why leave the beach. Michelle is such a sweet and friendly person but the one thing that I am aware of is that she is such an incredible worker. She is always on the move around the restaurant- not only does she seat you but she serves drinks, cleans tables and greets everyone. She NEVER stops. She helps out other personnel and I have noticed many other workers come to her to answer their questions. Michelle-you are super. She even remembers people who return to vacation at the hotel: how does she do this?
So many thanks to you Michelle, we love seeing you each time we are there.
I must also thank Matt Lucas in golf sales for making each vacation so great. He is such a great person and so helpful.
Thanks Coral Beach for another great vacation !!!!
P.S. if you do happen to encounter a problem while on your stay- it it addressed immediately: always to your satisfaction.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snappygrl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

WOW!!!
What a great place to relax & enjoy the sun and sand in Myrtle Beach! We have stayed at Coral Beach a few times before. Last year we decided to try a condo unit in North Myrtle since our children are now teens, but missed the great amentities and service that Coral Beach provides, so we came back & are glad we did! The Hotel is far enough down the beach to be somewhat tranquil, but close enough to walk to the activity of the amusement park & boardwalk activities.

We also vacation in Hilton Head & Destin on occasion, but Myrtle Beach still has the value for a quick and inexpensive vacation. Coral Beach may be one of the more pricey on the beach, but it is certainly the best and worth every, plus more. It has everything you need for a great vacation spot with tons of choice! The Condo we rented LY was more expensive, smaller in size and had few of the extras that we enjoyed at Coral Beach and we had to drive to anything worth going to since most condos dont have the restaurants, beachfront bar/grill or daily entertainment.

We appreciated that while there is a lot for the kids to enjoy, there was alot of great relaxation for us as well as adult activities like the comedy club and poolside entertainment most of the day & evening. Best part- we could sit on our balcony in the evening, listen to the ocean and enjoy the music, but when you closed the sliding glass door, no sound from the beach bar or pools could be heard!

So much has been updated since our last stay... a new fun beachfront bar which was wonderful, a great poolside grill perfect for a quick lunch while listening to the DJ, and a great coffee shop serving my starbucks favorite! The Atlantis Restaurant was beautiful and the food was way over the top & delicious! We stayed on the 7th floor end unit with a kitchenette and the view was amazing! The kids enjoyed bowling and being able to grab a hot dog & pop from the bowling alley snackshop. All the prices were good- especially compared to what other resaurants in the area charge!

The rooms were very clean and despite what I've read from another post, our room was not dated or uncomfortable at all. I spend 25 weeks a year traveling for business and will not stay in an establishment that is compromised in ANY way - this is definately a nice, very clean and well maintained Hotel.
The pools were spotless and grounds perfect. The maids were very pleasant, very thourough & left us ample supplies everyday for our family of four... more towels than we needed and shampoo/soaps and lotion for everyone even though they could see we had brought our own toiletries. The desk clerks were so friendly- we found that 3 of them were actually Interns from Norway - who went out of their way to smile and ask if they could help us everytime we passed the desk on our way in or out of the Hotel. I can't think of one employee who did not exemplify a high level of service and courtesy duing our entire week there. We had a wonderful time with no concerns or worries about our accomodations. I definately recommend this Hotel for those who want to enjoy the extras that most hotels in Myrtle don't offer - vacation is a time to be spoiled!

Thank You Coral Beach - We will be back for our next stay in Myrtle Beach!

Room Tip: Take the Oceanfront end units above the 6th floor- beautiful, spacious and what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OceanDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a nice family resort when traveling with children. The pools and amenities are nice as well as the pool side bar and grill. They can be a little pricey but nothing too over the top. The room was nice we had a king suite with the wall bed in the living room. Very clean room and I must say the view from the 9th floor oceanfront balcony was amazing. Coffee shop was good and fair priced 2.00 for a small coffee. The only down side was for the price and look of the hotel we expected bigger tv's. They were not even flat screens. Other than that a good stay and me and my family will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Choose higher up rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keelyrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.6 km away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,068 reviews
4.2 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,947 reviews
10.2 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.9 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,278 reviews
1.2 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort & Suites

Address: 1105 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,296 - ₹ 23,899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Resort & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With more on site amenities and entertainment than any other Myrtle Beach resort, it's no surprise that the Travel Channel named Coral Beach "Best Family Accommodations". Some of the ingredients that make us a destination and not just a resort include an on-site 8 AMF lane bowling alley, recreation center with video arcade game room, pool tables, foosball and air hockey, 10 pool attractions including outdoor and indoor pools, water park, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, kiddie pools, lazy river, children's activity center, his/her saunas, live entertainment daily on the pool deck (in-season) and karaoke nightly (in-season), family magic show (in-season), glow bowling, fitness center, General Store & Gift Shop and spacious meeting/banquet facilities. It's no wonder that families for over 20 years have found Coral Beach Resort & Suites the most fun place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Beach Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Coral Beach
Coral Reef Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Resort Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Coral Beach Myrtle Beach Sc
Coral Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing