We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 146
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 252
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 320
US$ 294
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
US$ 128
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 203
US$ 138
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 222
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Shores Ocean Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
US$ 138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Reef Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 161
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
49
41
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
41
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsmaster bedroomtable tennisfull kitchenfront deskocean frontacross the streetenjoy myrtle beachwithin walking distancesmall poolrooms are largeexercise roomshort walkbit datedthe location is perfectnice sizesleeper sofa
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and i stayed for 5 nights in mid-April and were very pleased. The one bedroom suite, though not luxurious, was clean, large and comfortable. The managment group takes very good care of the property and rooms. The rooms are nicer than many others I've seen in the local beachfront hotels & timeshare rentals for similar prices. All of the one-bedrooms are located on the side with side balconies only, offering only a small slice view of the beach with a small balcony. If you get a one-bedroom on the north side above the 9th floor you probably can see over the adjacent building and get a bigger 1/2 beach view. We were on the 7th floor and not as interested in balcony or view. If you want view - go for the 2 bedroom units. The one bedroom had a king bed and did have a small alcove with a bunk bed for small kids - it would be good for a family of 4 with kids under age 10. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfmBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel in late April. Overall, it was a great experience. Had a 2 BR, 2 Bath unit with full kitchen. The hotel is literally 10 steps away from a very nice beach. It could use a little updating, but nothing is subpar from a quality standpoint. Lots of room, the racquetball court and gameroom/exercise room on the 15th floor were a nice amenity to have. Couldn't think of a better place to stay other than the outdated decor. Great views of the ocean through the floor to ceiling Master Bedroom windows too!

Room Tip: If you can manage it, the 2 BR units are worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chadbfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in the beachfront, 2 bedroom and had a wonderful experience. The beds are comfortable, although the twin beds didn't have a blanket, only the bedspread. The best part was how quiet the rooms are. The kitchen with full sized appliances was great, especially the dishwasher and they provided dishwasher detergent. I would bring a nonstick skillet as I had a tough time with their stainless steel one. The floor to ceiling windows in the master bedroom was nice. Would be nicer if they could open just a bit to hear the ocean. No lazy river- not a problem for us. The whirlpool was actually hot and the jets powerful enough to relax tired muscles. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Got a great price thanks to orbitz
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khu870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at the Schooner II from 4/4-4/7/12. We were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in room 703, which is a one-bedroom suite, with an angled ocean view. All of the one bedrooms have the angled ocean view and all of the two bedrooms are oceanfront. The common areas (lobby, 2nd floor lounge, elevators) are pretty dated, but don’t let that discourage you. The suites/condos are spacious and have everything we needed. When you walk in there is a small open room with bunk beds. In the back is the master bedroom (nice size), then the bathroom and extra outside sink (a little dated but clean and nothing anyone should complain about) and in the front is an eat-in kitchen with full size appliances (stove/microwave, fridge and dishwasher) and living room. There is a sectional sleeper sofa in the living room, so there is plenty of seating. Both the living room and bedroom have good size flat screen TVs and there is a DVD player in the living room. You can check out videos from the front desk, but we never did this so I can’t advise what kind of selection they have. The pool is a little small, compared to some of the others we saw, but it wasn’t always crowded and the beach is right there. The hotel is in a very good location. It’s at top of where the shops/restaurants begin, so it’s convenient to everything without being in the middle of the commotion. Although we rented a scooter for a few days, we were in walking distance from anything we needed. The front desk staff (Nikki) was great! We were able to store our bags before our room was ready and after we checked out before our flight home. Would definitely return and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattaltieri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at the Schooner II over Match Break and had a predominantly positive experience at the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and although the decor is slightly dated the rooms were clean and the appliances were obviously new.

the hotel was fully booked yet was still quiet as it tends to appeal more to adults and couples rather then families with young children as there is little for them to do at the hotel.

There isn't a restaurant at the hotel but there is a Starbucks on the corner and other bars/restaurants in close proximity so it isn't a problem.

Overall the hotel was fine however a couple of things negative things do stick with me. The smell in the communal areas and the cleanliness of the bedding. We were on the 13th floor and every time we went out into the hallway there was a less then pleasant smell. The bedding was another issue. The smell was not great (to the point where my wife went out to Walmart to get a Fabreeze spray) and they looked old and were not exactly the whitest sheets.

In fairness we asked for the bedding to be changed and they did change the bedding but the smell was exactly the same. Im assuming its something to do with the washers they use or the products but it was not a pleasant smell.

Room Tip: try not to get a room ending in 3.... All of them are the rooms closest to the elevator shaft and you can here every time to elevator moves.... and i mean EVERY TIME!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews