We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you aren't happy here...STOP TRAVELLING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you aren't happy here...STOP TRAVELLING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stop reading now and just go make your reservation! We stayed in the 2 BR Villas in the Starfish tower and had an outstanding time. We own at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club in Hawaii and came here using points in the off season. We were pleasantly surprised with the amazing weather in early March.

We had a handicap accessible unit in an oceanfront building. They even have some units that have wheelchair shower access and this is an added bonus. As my mother ages it has been challenging to find properties that are truly handicap accessible but this was generally not an issue at this resort. There are some locations that could be improved with automatic door openers near the Marketplace. Be sure to put your request in a few weeks in advance if you need an accessible room - especially wheelchair shower access as they are limited.

This is a first class Marriott property from top to bottom. It is away from the congestion in the heart of Myrtle Beach. There is no overcrowding on the beach in front of the property. The units are spacious, extremely comfortable and are well stocked for cooking. The view was excellent! The front desk staff was very professional upon check-in. The room was not ready until 4pm even though we called and asked for an earlier check-in (2pm) as we were travelling from another Marriott property at Hilton Head Island.

There are a ton of activities offered for people of all ages. It is close to Walmart and other shopping options for food. Restaurants abound in the area. You could stay on the property the entire time and enjoy yourself or go out and about to explore.

We are heading back for 18 days in February 2013 and looking forward to our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    195
    43
    17
    24
See reviews for
587
208
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent last week at the OceanWatch Villas. We exchanged from our home resort and spent spring school vacation week in Myrtle Beach. My family and I love this resort! It is right on the beach and we were lucky to have ocean side villa which provided a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. Property is very well maintained-some of furniture, in particular the pull out is a little tired looking but these were very minor issues in my mind. Twice we needed supplies (paper towels and toilet paper) and both times someone delivered within 10 minutes-best service at any marriott timeshare we stayed at (that included Ko Olina, Hilton Head resorts, Williamsburg and Absecon).

Room Tip: Ask when you check in for the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huskyfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballston lake, new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our 4th trip to the Oceanwatch. We liked it so much the first 3 times, that we became owners. This time we had 4 adults and 4 children and the condo was still ok for all 8 of us. We stayed in the maple building ( one of the back buildings ) on the sixth floor and had a very good view. They are putting in a new pool at the maple building and it looks like it's going to be nice. It was almost done before we left.( we were at the ocean watch Easter week).

The first 2 times we stayed , we stayed in the starfish building (the main front building) which was really nice. We stayed in the maple building last year and my children liked it so much we asked to stay in the maple again. They love the pool in the back

Just go and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have always stayed at the Marriott Ocean Watch at Grande Dunes next door to the Villas, and love the property. This weekend, since we had 4 kids with us, we decided to stay at the Villas. Really nice 2 bedroom, nice kitchen, appointed well. I do have to say the living room was kind of cramped with the dining table being wedged in between it and the kitchen, but that's ok. We requested a high floor-if you are staying in any of the 3 buildings behind the main one, you NEED to request this. The ocean views from here are so beautiful. The gym is big, and wasn't lacking anything! The pool is awesome-it was zero entry with a kiddie area and it also had a separate waterslide and pool..and lifeguards. The hot tub outside is great-huge and CLEAN. This is time shares, so they everything-from bocce and basketball to the world's coolest tree house playground for the kids when they tire (as if!) of the beach and pools. And the pools were HEATED-WOOHOO!! In the spring here the weather is so random. Woody's Grille is a snack shack next to the pool and they serve up so great cocktails and eats. The main building is on the beach with its own lovely beachfront pool and bar. The activity center there is great for the kids-ours played WII when the rain came. My only complaint, and some people like this, is that the beds were hard, but get this-the pull out sofa had like a tempurpedic bed and rocked!

Room Tip: Just get a room on a high level-at least at 12th floor if not better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessehly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wasnt sure I wanted to return here for a fourth time but the trade we wanted didnt happen. Once we arrived, I remembered why I loved this place the other three visits.
The views from the Pine building are beautiful. You can see up and down the ocean front. It is so nice that the resort is in the middle of such a pretty residential area so your view isnt obstructed by other tall hotel buildings. The grounds have been kept up and improved every time we have visited. I love the peacefulness of the whole campus. We spend our whole week doing nothing but sitting by the pools, playing bocci or basketball, working out and relaxing.
I never thought I would l want to travel to Myrtle Beach with all of its honky tonk atmosphere but you can ignore all that from this resort. We did venture out one night to the new Market Commons area near the airport. We really liked the quaintness of the area and the upscale stores and restaurants. Its still hard to find a good non-chain restaurant in Myrtle Beach but Luigi's is one very good Italian and Kaminsky's deli is great for their pork roll, egg and cheese sandwiches.
If you are like me and are worried about not liking the area, don't. You can stay on the campus and just enjoy the whole Grand Dunes area. Anchor Cafe over at the Marina Inn is another fun place to get a drink and some bar food. Nothing fancy but its not a chain and the atmosphere right on the water is fantastic.
Im sure our fifth visit will happen sometime in the next few years!

Room Tip: Out of all the buildings, we like the high floors of the Pine Building. Room 3 on each floor is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvtheVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
12.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.7 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
7.7 km away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.3 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes

Property: Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Address: 8500 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,863 - ₹ 52,810
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Oceanwatch Villas At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Myrtle Beach
Marriotts Oceanwatch Hotel
Marriott Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing