We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful mini-vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful mini-vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked a one bedroom oceanfront suite on the 6th floor for 3 days in early March. Due to the fact that our plane landed at 7:30 AM we did not look forward to waiting until 3 PM to check in. I called the front desk and asked if we could check in a bit earlier. I was surprised at how friendly and accommodating they were. I had bad experiences with the staff at another hotel down the strip who had the dispositions of untipped waiters. The Compass Cove folks told us we could come to the front desk and sigh in and that they would get our room ready on a priorty basis. They said we would be free to use all of the hotel facilities until the room was ready and they would help us any way they could. They were super nice. Our room was very clean and smelled fresh. It did not have a hint of the chlorine smell that many of the ocean front hotels (even the good ones) often do. i understand that our suite was privately owned but the hotel staff kept it in superb condition. On our second day the maid left us only two towels. We called the front desk to get more and within 5 minutes they arrived at the door. Then we got a phone call to confirm that the towels arrived and later that day we recieved four more towels. Can a hotel go overboard with service? I think the hotel claims to have 22 water amenities, pools, lazy rivers, hot tubs ect. We did not count them but they did have plenty. Almost all the pools were heated, both indoor and outdoor and were very clean. They were situated througout the property (the hotel owns 2 adjacent buildings) and this kept them free from being over crowded. The hot tubs were crystal clear and were kept at a reasonable temperature as to not par boil you. We ate at two of the hotels restaurants one a casual lunch spot over looking the ocean with a great outside deck. They served burgers, sandwiches and salads at a reasonable price, around $8.95. There was also a bar at this location. In the other building they had a restaurant that served a nice breakfest buffet for I believe the same price. It was nothing spectacular but the food was good and it was very convenient not to have to leave the property. As far as the negatives I can only think of one and that was the parking situation. Although we caught one of the Spring Break weeks I do not believe the hotel was booked. I can't imagine how hard it must be to park in this place during the height of summer. The hotel has three parking garages, two connected to the main buildings and an overflow lot across the street. Just lets say the parking garages will test your driving skills and ability to park in tight spots. If you drive a large SUV with a poor turning radius good luck. If you come back to the hotel after 9 PM chances are you will not get a spot in the main garages. We had to park in the "overflow" garage one night. This garage has no elevator so you must use the stairs and when we walked down 3 flights we found it exited the rear of the building into a darkened area next to dumpsters. It was not a great situation. But this was the only problem we experienced and I would definitely go back to Compass Cove, very nice hotel, great staff and a very good value.

Room Tip: If you get an ocean front room I always would recommend the middle floors. High enough to not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thrillofitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    1,189
    528
    293
    237
See reviews for
2,264
819
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I booked this hotel for a quick weekend get-away with the family (two children aged 2 and 4). The hotel decor and amenities were average; which was expeced for the price. As it is only March, we chose this hotel because it has two indoor heated pools which did come in handy as it rained one day but we were still able to keep the kids active. The hotel also has heated outdoor pools which was great for a sunny (yet breezy) late morning swim before checking out. The ocean view was beautiful - and the quick walk to the beach very appreciated with two small children. This is a nice option if you aren't looking for high end amenities. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast buffet was much better than I expected; the food was fresh and well cooked.

Room Tip: I was on the bottom floor which was great for kids and not having to tote things but not so great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Compass Cove with an Oceanview suite in the Pinnacle tower and were very happy with size of the room, cleanliness and location. Watching the sunrise each morning while sitting on the oceanview balconey was such a wonderful start to the day. The front desk staff were excellent and very helpful. The only downside to our short stay was it was March and the temperatures never exceeded a high of 71F. However, being that it was not yet "high season" the room rate was really excellent. I am sure that at peak season this suite would cost 2x as much at least. All-in-all, we had a fun and enjoyable stay at the Coampass Cove and we are looking forward to returning to Myrtle Beach again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a great vacation! This site has lots to do, several pools and hot tubs,3 lazy rivers, all indoors and outdours, great beach access. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is lots to do in the area. The ammenities were very clean and with so many to choose from they were rarely crowded. The bartenteders were also friendly and very cool about doing non alcoholic bevvies.

One important note about this location, the rooms are owned by the hotel but the suites and jr suites (anything with a kitchen) are privately owned and rented out by the hotel, so there is no consistency to what you get. Some have DVD players some don't, some have brooms (ours didn't), and the hotel has no idea what your unit has in advance. The plus side to this is that you can get great prices on certain units, we got ous on venere.com for 200$ less than what the hotel was charging directly and they were awesome about last minute changes.

The only comment I would make is that the housekeeping is lack luster at best, you will get your clean towels and they will pull up your sheets but that is the limit, maybe I've been spoiled by the Carribbeans butI expect a bit more, we had to ask for a vaccuum so we could do it ourselves. With a couple of small kids, it was mission critical to get an occasional floor cleaning.

Still overall a great time and I would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass_M_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great stay, view was great of the ocean from the 14th floor. Suite was nice. There was an initial issue with our booked room when we arrived due to cabinets scheduling to be replaced. It was taken care of fairly quickly. The customer service was great! I will be going back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trckn4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
11.8 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
5.8 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
6.5 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
6.2 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Property: Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#39 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,380 - ₹ 21,523
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing