We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty filthy place-rip off!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Plaza Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Motel
Ranked #168 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nasty filthy place-rip off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

They gave us a room with an old fashioned room key that we had to pay $5.40 for because as the front desk clerk said "people steal the keys all the time". No concern for your safety except for the fact that they also gave you a dead bolt key that only locked from the inside. Elevators were damp and smelled. Our room door appeared to have been kicked in at one point because the door jamb was broken and the door did not close..hence the need for a deadbolt key. Of course when you left the room you had to leave the door open I guess because it wouldnt close. The room smelled immediately like urine, there was garbage in the cans from the last visitor, the bureau which was wall mounted was hanging off the wall as was the bathroom vanity. The tub was filthy, room chair visibly dirty and greasy. We immediately left and told the front desk clerk who offered to have maintenance fix the door...ok.. I told her this wasnt a maintenance while we wait issue because the door jamb was broken and needed to be replaced. She offered us a choice of 3 other rooms...not beach front of course, which is what we paid for. This hotel is a bait and switch scam. They get you to book beachfront and then because they know it is a nasty unfit room, that you'll switch so you dont lose your money. She even said that the only thing they could do was offer us another room so we couldnt try to get our money back because she had fulfilled her part of the reservation. There was no way we were going to stay in this hotel. If you dont clean one room and dont know where the keys to the rooms have gone then how can we feel safe. I plan to report this hotel as far as I can go. This is what they consider a $120 oceanfront room!!! We drove home that night and skipped our night on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are not clean and at best this is a run down tenament
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    42
    46
    30
    110
See reviews for
76
61
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

great place to stay i love have everything was walking distance and it was a very great view of the beach and view of the pool

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcasas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Nice location Great Views!!! Priced right. Very helpfull lady working front! Cant say same for lady working night shift at motel next door. ( had to go there after hrs. ) I would reccomend using a service with a price gaurentee if making reservation. I overheard a conversation at their sister location clerk was explaining why a lady paid more for her room than her neighbor and the clerk didnt seem so anxious to refund her the differance.... Clean although NOT fancy. I would stay again. My son in wheelchair. although not accessable room. it was managable.don't know about wifi I was too busy. DID I MENTION THE VIEW FOR THE MONEY ....WOW!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago and thought we would stay again. The hotel was nasty, parking garage was filthy, and the maid service was bad. The indoor pool only has 1 light at each end of it, one of which did not work. My 8 year old granddaughter fell and BROKE her leg. Maintenance was at the pool when the ambulance arrived, this was on Wednesday night, and on Saturday night (the night before we left) the light still had not been fixed. The balcony rail on the 4th floor between room 401 and 402 was broken completely through along the bottom. We reported it the day we found it, Tuesday, and on Sunday when we left, it was still broken. My air conditioning unit had the cover broken off on one corner, a trip hazard or a cut hazard, and was not fixed. The elevator is very slow, which we could live with. We couldn't find a luggage cart, there were 4 when we check in. When we left, we searched every floor, NONE. The hot water would scald you. Grown ups can adjust it, but would be a hazard for kids. Housekeeping didn't take out the trash when they cleaned the room, we did. Although the price was very reasonable, there's no excuse for the staff not to keep the rooms in good shape. Don't know if it matters to anyone, but it is NOT AMERICAN OWNED.

Room Tip: Typical efficiency. Everything worked, but not very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spillars61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Prattville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The day before our trip we read a lot of bad reviews and was very nervous about going to this hotel where we booked 5 rooms for 4 nights, but went anyways. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and allowed my family to check in early despite the 4:00 check-in. The hotel is older, but it was clean. If you are expecting new you will be disappointed but they do not charge fancy and new prices. We had a good experience. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xXFunMemoriesXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#124 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.4 km away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 km away
Wave Rider Resort
Wave Rider Resort
#151 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Property: Ocean Plaza Motel
Address: 1005 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,791 - ₹ 12,549
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing