We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a surprise on the beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Ranked #5 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rosemount
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow, what a surprise on the beach!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Other reviews way underestimate this hotel in my opinion. We were so surprised at the luxury, the amazing oceanfront view, and amenities. The beach is beautifully cared for here, the many pools are wonderful. Very family friendly hotel. Excellent hot breakfast and incredible southern hospitality. And a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room up as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brisk_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,944
    631
    175
    59
    25
See reviews for
1,274
910
60
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Arrived at hotel on Memorial Day, perfect timing as Bike Week had just wrapped up. This hotel is just south of the main cruising strip on Myrtle Beach so we didn't have to battle the crowds in traffic or on the beach. We had 2 BR/2 Bath suite with kitchette, family of 4 (2 kids, 8 & 5).

Can't beat the great linens, fresh comforter covers of Hampton Inn. Breakfast was covered every morning with no problems there. There's a spa on-site, but we didn't try it. No restaurant, but plenty within short driving distance. Many parking garage spots were covered.

We stayed in the North tower, which I heard someone on the front desk staff say was actually the newer of the two towers. Also heard that the South tower has the newer decor as it was shut down and updated after the North tower opened. North tower has 3 elevators, South tower has 2. Decor in North tower seemed okay to me, though. Bit of a nautical theme. Only complaint about the rooms was that the main suite got warm during the day. Had to turn the A/C down to cool that room, but made it a bit on the chilly side in the rest of the suite. No big deal. We just kept the blinds closed in the main suite during the day to keep it cooler. Ceiling fans throughout. Washer and dryer on our floor was convenient.

Hit the grocery store on the first day and we had lunches and snacks for the week. Kitchenette was pretty decently equipped. I'd rather have a toaster oven than an electric can opener, though. :-)

Pools were great for the kids (and adults). There are several pools and a hot tub actually under the hotel that you can't really see in pictures of the property. When we were there, the only place you could usually get pool/beach towels was from the front desk; rarely had a cart out by the pool that seemed to be first grab, first get. Gets primarily shady in the afternoon so if you want afternoon sun you need to hop across the bridge from the pool area to the beach. Convenient showers to rinse off when coming back from the beach; wish the foot washes were a bit easier to use and maybe a little more water conserving. (were regular garden spigots with turn handles). Usually had fresh cookies out in the lobby in the afternoon so that was our PM snack. Ah, only major problem with the pool area was that there weren't any bathrooms on the level of the pool. Seemed like the kids required the facilities daily and we had to hop on an elevator and wander wet and barefoot to the bathrooms near the exercise room on the 2nd floor. Maybe they didn't want non-hotel patrons having access to facilities. We're lucky we didn't have little ones needing diaper changes anymore as I never cared to do that poolside (gross) and it was a bit of a hike to find a bathroom.

A separate company rents umbrellas and chairs on the beach. Is worth it if you don't want to lug stuff around. If you rent multiple days you get a discount. If you don't mind lugging stuff, you can set your umbrella up right in between the umbrellas that the life guard sets up. Not supposed to put umbrellas closer to surf than the guard stand... Not really a great place to store your beach stuff back in the suite. A bit of a vinyl floor entryway, otherwise you have to tiptoe over to your balcony and set everything out there.

I'm personally not a huge fan of Atlantic Coast beaches, used to a bit of the humid funky smell that permeates places that are on the beach, but this property lacked funk as far as I can tell. Was my preferred place to stay as opposed to a funky condo b/c we had daily housekeeping and linen changes. I actually had a pretty good time! (strong words coming from me)

Room Tip: 2 BR/2 BA was great, most all rooms oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cincinnati_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

What a beautiful place to stay and because I was alone, I felt so safe. It was peaceful and they have remodeled since my last visit. I was amazed and it was breathtaking. Hilton has cornered the market on class and style without having to pay outrageous prices. The breakfast was good, fresh fruit and fresh made waffles top my list. My room was fantastic overlooking the pools and right on the beach. The bed was so soft I didn't realize I was asleep until i woke up. It was so peaceful you could only hear the ocean waves. Can't wait to go back this weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UniqueIzMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I don't know of a thing I could say that hasn't been said by ALL the positive comments but I WILL echo other comments. This is just the nicest hotel with so many ammenities. The public areas were so well thought out to provide such a pleasant stay from the wicker rockers on the outside balconies overlooking the pools and ocean to the indoor balconies with same beautiful, relaxing view and rocking chairs as well. These areas were plentiful along with many comfortable sitting areas in lobby....games, books, cookies, I could go on and on but you get the idea. Hampton got it right on this one and all the comments did too. Anything negative I can't imagine. This particular Hampton provided us with exceptional lodging which just enhanced our stay in Myrtle Beach. All the staff were so warm and welcoming. I had the unfortunate experience of discovering I had left a few items in one of the drawers in room when packing. These were shipped to me free of charge. Now that is service above and beyond. Thank you Hampton for doing a wonderful job. Just a very lovely, well run place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Hampton Inn. The staff are friendly, efficient and accommodating. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. It is located right on the beach, and all the attractions in Myrtle Beach are close by. The continental breakfast includes a vast variety of foods including eggs and meat. The indoor pools and whirlpools were a nice way to relax at the end of the day. The parking is a little confusing at first but that was the only drawback. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa40570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
10.9 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
13.1 km away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
9.5 km away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,317 reviews
4.9 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Address: 1801 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,239 - ₹ 25,362
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront hotel, located directly on the beach. Our Myrtle Beach hotel is located just two miles from Myrtle Beach Jetport and minutes from local attractions like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grande Mall, and Myrtle Beach's new 'Sky Wheel'. Our two-story lobby with pine floors offers beautiful Atlantic Ocean views. Start your day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) and enjoy views of the ocean. If you're on the go, be sure to grab one of our Hampton's On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday. Enjoy a gourmet blend of coffee available every day, all day. Sunbathe and swim in one of our two lazy rivers, three outdoor and four indoor pools at our Myrtle Beach oceanfront hotel. Our beachfront playground is great for the little ones in your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach / Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing