We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIRTY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Virginian Motel
Ranked #165 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“DIRTY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

To start, we just left Myrtle Beach yesterday and plan to return, but we will not be staying here again, ever. The people at the front desk never gave us an issue until we complained, about what? A cockroach, one that I found crawling across the wall in the middle of the night. When we informed them that we were checking out and going somewhere else he told us that he couldn't do anything about it, wrote down a number and told us to call their "company." On top of the cockroach we also found a burn in the carpet from an iron, mold, a hole in our comforter that looked like someone got shot, or worse, a bug chewed through it. By the way, unless your under 5ft tall expect to have to duck to wash your hair, the shower head is really low. and honestly I think the managements response to some of these comments are crap, there are negative reviews about this place on other sites, I should have done more research first or I never would have stayed here, guess I leanred my lesson.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenjie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    18
    12
    26
See reviews for
21
25
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here earlier this year. I agree the hotel is in bad shape, but if you need something really cheap it's not bad. If you're expected a top hotel for this little money, look somewhere else, but you'll pay for it in this area. Everything was very basic, but my room was clean. The stairs are a bit of a pain, but not bad.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCNick1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

you do get what you pay for, its not the ritz, but it was cozy. the rooms and bathroom were clean. room service was always in and out quick enough and tool care of everything. its right acorss the street from the beach so you might be lucky enough to get a beautiful view like we did. I went with my husband on a sort of mini honeymoon and we had a blast. we were out and about for the most part so the motel wasnt top concern but we liked it anyway. Not really a family place, more for travelers and couples, but good enough non the less!

Room Tip: smoking section will get you an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

this place should be closed it is nasty they refused to return money after giving a 4th floor room to disabled person and no elevater.then put it down as no show. room was not fit to even stay in but did not offer another on lower floor. stay away!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

My family and I planned a trip to myrtle beach thru aarp but this motel wasn't worth the money. Wish I planned the trip myself. The beach access was across the busy street, the waterpark is 15 blocks away. The description was misleading. The pool was next to the busy highway. Poor front desk service. No change over of sheets and the front desk closes at 10.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrz_scarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#122 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
3.1 km away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 km away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 km away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 km away
Hurl Rock Motel
Hurl Rock Motel
#156 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginian Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginian Motel

Property: The Virginian Motel
Address: 1810 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4634
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,855 - ₹ 12,914
Hotel Class:2 star — The Virginian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Virginian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Virginian Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing